We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay in Quinta Rosa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Rosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Quinta Rosa to your Saves list
Quinta Rosa
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Rua Santa Cristina 104 | Santa Terasa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro CEP 20241-250, Brazil (Santa Teresa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #59 of 250 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay in Quinta Rosa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

It was hard for us to find a good place to stay in Rio, we have checked a great amount of hotels in Copacobana, Ipanema and so on.. but when we saw Quinta Rosa on Trip Advisor, we have decided that we want to book a room there. After our trip we can honestly say that Quinta Rosa is a marvellous place to stay! The area of this residence is very beautiful, there is a nice garden with a terrace and swimming pool, the territory is closed via keys and there is a guard. But actually Santa Teresa is very calm and safe area in Rio (it was also one of the main points for us in order to stay there). Every day we saw a fantastic sunrise right from our window with a view of Sugar Loaf. In a room there was everything necessary: a big comfortable bed, a wardrobe, towels, fridge, free wi-fi internet, condition, hair dryer, two tables, tableware and so on. It was cleaned every day. The breakfast was also nice, there were different fresh juices and fruits, eggs, various kinds of bread, cheese, ham, yogurts, ect. Elena, her son and assistants are very attentive, always helped us in many questions. They speak good english unlike others we have met in Rio, so there were no misunderstandings. Before our arrival Elena has suggested us to book a transfer and she has found for us a guide who speaks Russian which was very kind of her! Also if you need to change money, there is no problem. Quinta Rosa has a pleasant and domestic atmosphere and we had a great pleasure to stay there! When we decide to go to Rio again we will choose Quinta Rosa for sure! Thank you very much! Lina&Natalia

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
17
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We have just got back from staying at Quinto Rosa (and then their sister property Quinta Azul) in Santa Theresa, rio

Where to start- the place itself is a lovely boutique pousada- QR had amazing views over rio, QA had monkeys so both were good.

The staff (Elena and especially Elen) were so good to us- sorted out all our trips, and even let us stay for a few hours longer on our last morning after a late night in Lapa (recommended!)

Santa Theresa is kind of the bohemian area of Rio- full of artists and we loved it.

id recommend to all- great place and thanks so much for making our stay in Rio perfect

in QR there was some noise due to the neighbours, but hey it's rio and people like to party!

Room Tip: QR has the better views and bigger room, but QA is closer for breakfast and has monkeys!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operation M, Manager at Quinta Rosa, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Dear Guests,

We are really proud that your overall impression about the two hotels: Quinta Rosa and Quinta Rosa Azul Boutique were excellent.
It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our service, facilities and concierge suggestions.
We will be informing all our staff of your positive observations to motivate them even further.
We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Rio. If you require any special assistance during your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us

Aline Vieira.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

My husband and I spent the first three days of our four-week trip through Brasil in Rio de Janeiro and booked Quinta Rosa through Venere.com. Shortly after our booking we received an email from the owner, Elena, confirming the reservation and offering to book airport transfer with a reliable driver. Recommended if it´s your first time in Rio and don´t fancy braving the meter taxis - since we arrived in the evening we were glad to take her up on the offer.

Since the local shops were already closed, Elena also brought us a bucket full of cold beers and coke - just what we needed after a long flight from London and all we wanted before going to bed.

Breakfast is served in your room or on your balcony/terrace at a time requested by you, depending on the weather. Weather on the first morning was on the cold side, but on all other mornings we were able to enjoy the great view over the tropical gardens with the sea and the Sugar Loaf visible in the distance.

Elena speaks excellent English and was exceedingly helpful with arranging taxi transfers and researching tricky connections for later in our trip.

The B&B is a leisurely 10min. walk from Gloria metro station, the metro takes you straight into Ipanema. A short walk up the hill takes you into the heart of Santa Teresa with small cobbled lanes and several bars and restaurants with a more bohemian vibe.

Would definitely recommend Quinta Rosa if you´re looking for something away from the concrete beach promenades of Ipanema and Copacabana.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We were rather concerned because we were arriving on an early flight into Rio and only staying a couple of days, so we needed to leave our cases and get out and about quickly. We managed to speak to Elena, the manager, who was there to meet us and sort our room quickly and take care of our luggage.

The room was nice and modern with an awesome view from huge windows across the mountains and out to sea. No TV, but we weren't interested in that anyway. Breakfast was brought up to our room every morning which we ate out on the terrace next to our room. Absolute bliss.

The swimming pool in the lovely garden is very different - like a very long bathtub - but very pleasant and we were the only people using it.

The hotel is halfway up a steep hill (where in Rio isn't!) with the tram and lovely bars, restaurants and shops of Santa Teresa a five minute walk upwards and the metro a five minute walk at the bottom of the hill, which gives quick and easy access to the beaches.

Elena was incredibly helpful and arranged taxis for us in the evenings. We had to leave very early for the airport on our departure day. It was too early for her staff to serve breakfast so she invited us into her home and cooked breakfast for us before we left. The absolute ultimate in fabulous hospitality. A truly great trip and Santa Teresa is lovely!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor obviously have the better views and have a little terrace to eat breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

My second time in Rio and this time i decided to stay in Santa Teressa. What a different place to stay. You are in Rio close to beaches and subway. The area is the old part of the city.The restaurants and bed and breakfast quitarosa is just lovey.You are in a very peacefully environment and nice people.Santa Terrace is a place to stay and so is quintarosa.

Room Tip: clean,comfortable and lovely host
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

We were booking a last minute weekend in Rio and knew we wanted to stay in Santa Teresa. We used the map view on Tripadvisor to locate options, and almost missed Quinta Rosa as it does not appear on the map view at all.

We were slightly suspicious as so many reviews of Quinta Rosa were from first time posters, but decided to go ahead and book, as there were few options with availability. Then we got nervous as our attempts to contact Quinta Rosa to make sure it would be OK to drop off our bags when we arrived in the morning failed. It turned out that the phone line was down, and the contact us form on the website wasn't working. Once we established contact, everything changed. We had a very fast email welcome note from Elena and relaxed.

When we arrived we were allowed into our room immediately, as it was empty (and we were allowed to check out late at the end, too). Out electrical adaptor was the wrong kind, and my laptop was playing up and couldn't see the wireless network. Elena produced an adaptor in seconds, and even brought her son in case I needed help with my laptop. Wireless was very good here, it was just my laptop that was the issue.

We had one of the two rooms that appear to have been built on top of the original building. Although they have no private balcony, they have floor to ceiling glass windows, with a great view of sugar loaf mountain. The balcony, which is shared with the other room, is accessed from the back of the room and also has great views. Our generous breakfast was served here each day.

The queen size bed was very comfortable, there was a kettle and fridge in the room, and the bathroom fittings were high quality.

The garden with a deck and lap pool is very green and triopical, although we spent our time exploring rather than lounging so didn't really make use of it.

Colleagues in Sao Paulo were concerned when I said we were staying in Santa Teresa as there are favelas very close by, but we felt very safe. The grounds are well protected, with locked gates. There was a night watchman outside, and it was only a (steep upwards) 3 or 4 minute walk to the centre of Santa Teresa, which has a reall buzz. We took sensible security precautions, but never felt uncomfortable in the area. I would definitely choose to stay both in this area and at Quinta Rosa again.

The transport in the area is good - you can walk up to the tram or bus, or down to the underground or bus in a few minutes, and there are plenty of taxis passing by if you have walked enough. Elena offered to organise a taxi to take us to the airport at only a little more than taking one from the street would have cost, and we took this option as we were leaving on Sunday evening when taxis are not as plentiful.

A great find for either a short or long stay. The apartments below our room looked to be well equipped for long-term living, and also has their own balconies rather than shared one.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

IT is excellent place to stay, We had lovely time in there for 6 days, althought it is no TV, but there are a lot of books to read in the room. very nice bar. great area. Large bed and room. large window , plenty light and sunshine into the room. very relaxing. I would love to go back there again. next time we will stay even longer. thanks to the owner built this luxury and affordable hotel.
excellent service and helpful information how to around the city.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Rosa

Address: Rua Santa Cristina 104 | Santa Terasa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro CEP 20241-250, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quinta Rosa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a pool overlooking the Sugar Loaf Mountain and featuring free Wi-Fi connection, Quinta Rosa Boutique is a 10-minute drive from the Santos Dumont Airport. Copacabana Beach and Ipanema Beach are 20 minutes away by car. A apartment for up to 4 people, located next to Lago dos Guimaraes( Center Santa Teresa) . 2 Bedrooms (one are en suite), with double bed in both of bedrooms (with possibility to make a twin beds), kitchen with stove, refrigerator and kitchen cabinets, living room with sofa and desk and TV LCD, air conditioning, wifi Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Quinta Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Rosa Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.