We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unforgetable place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Rosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Quinta Rosa to your Saves list
Quinta Rosa
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Rua Santa Cristina 104 | Santa Terasa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro CEP 20241-250, Brazil (Santa Teresa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #60 of 250 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“unforgetable place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

My second time in Rio and this time i decided to stay in Santa Teressa. What a different place to stay. You are in Rio close to beaches and subway. The area is the old part of the city.The restaurants and bed and breakfast quitarosa is just lovey.You are in a very peacefully environment and nice people.Santa Terrace is a place to stay and so is quintarosa.

Room Tip: clean,comfortable and lovely host
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
17
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

We were booking a last minute weekend in Rio and knew we wanted to stay in Santa Teresa. We used the map view on Tripadvisor to locate options, and almost missed Quinta Rosa as it does not appear on the map view at all.

We were slightly suspicious as so many reviews of Quinta Rosa were from first time posters, but decided to go ahead and book, as there were few options with availability. Then we got nervous as our attempts to contact Quinta Rosa to make sure it would be OK to drop off our bags when we arrived in the morning failed. It turned out that the phone line was down, and the contact us form on the website wasn't working. Once we established contact, everything changed. We had a very fast email welcome note from Elena and relaxed.

When we arrived we were allowed into our room immediately, as it was empty (and we were allowed to check out late at the end, too). Out electrical adaptor was the wrong kind, and my laptop was playing up and couldn't see the wireless network. Elena produced an adaptor in seconds, and even brought her son in case I needed help with my laptop. Wireless was very good here, it was just my laptop that was the issue.

We had one of the two rooms that appear to have been built on top of the original building. Although they have no private balcony, they have floor to ceiling glass windows, with a great view of sugar loaf mountain. The balcony, which is shared with the other room, is accessed from the back of the room and also has great views. Our generous breakfast was served here each day.

The queen size bed was very comfortable, there was a kettle and fridge in the room, and the bathroom fittings were high quality.

The garden with a deck and lap pool is very green and triopical, although we spent our time exploring rather than lounging so didn't really make use of it.

Colleagues in Sao Paulo were concerned when I said we were staying in Santa Teresa as there are favelas very close by, but we felt very safe. The grounds are well protected, with locked gates. There was a night watchman outside, and it was only a (steep upwards) 3 or 4 minute walk to the centre of Santa Teresa, which has a reall buzz. We took sensible security precautions, but never felt uncomfortable in the area. I would definitely choose to stay both in this area and at Quinta Rosa again.

The transport in the area is good - you can walk up to the tram or bus, or down to the underground or bus in a few minutes, and there are plenty of taxis passing by if you have walked enough. Elena offered to organise a taxi to take us to the airport at only a little more than taking one from the street would have cost, and we took this option as we were leaving on Sunday evening when taxis are not as plentiful.

A great find for either a short or long stay. The apartments below our room looked to be well equipped for long-term living, and also has their own balconies rather than shared one.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

IT is excellent place to stay, We had lovely time in there for 6 days, althought it is no TV, but there are a lot of books to read in the room. very nice bar. great area. Large bed and room. large window , plenty light and sunshine into the room. very relaxing. I would love to go back there again. next time we will stay even longer. thanks to the owner built this luxury and affordable hotel.
excellent service and helpful information how to around the city.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

had such a lovely time at quinta rosa, unbelievable find and good value for money. loved to pool and the view! just magnificent.
look out for the charming and friendly owners they'll always have time for a chat.
You gotta bring you're patner along for this one. It's too romantic to go alone.

Room Tip: book early, you can contact via email
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

We stayed 4 nights at the lovely Quinta Rosa Residences in February this year and enjoyed every minute of it! Quinta Rosa is set in a quaint and serene neighbourhood in Santa Teresa. The apartment that we stayed in is beautifully appointed - like a modern 'boutique' style hotel but with complete apartment facilties. The views from our apartment balcony is amazing, and we really appreciate all the personalised attention/service given to us by the staff during our stay there. Just great!

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

I stayed at the Quinta Rosa Residencias for 5 nights. It is the perfect place to stay in Rio. The apartments are beautifully designed and absolutely immaculate. The studio is just right for one person. The garden and pool are great for relaxing after the hustle and bustle of Rio. The location is convenient and the owners really helpful. All in all, a great choice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We stayed at Quinta Rosa for a couple of days. The area, Santa Teresa, is a charming little neighborhood. The metro station, Gloria, was easily accessible (when walking downhill), making it easy to get to Ipanema and Copacabana beaches.

Elena and her husband and staff could not be more charming and helpful!! The breakfast brought to our rooms every morning was a definite treat.

The room was clean and very quiet. The only thing missing was a safe and TV. But we felt completely safe and did not need the distraction of watching TV.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Rosa

Address: Rua Santa Cristina 104 | Santa Terasa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro CEP 20241-250, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quinta Rosa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a pool overlooking the Sugar Loaf Mountain and featuring free Wi-Fi connection, Quinta Rosa Boutique is a 10-minute drive from the Santos Dumont Airport. Copacabana Beach and Ipanema Beach are 20 minutes away by car. A apartment for up to 4 people, located next to Lago dos Guimaraes( Center Santa Teresa) . 2 Bedrooms (one are en suite), with double bed in both of bedrooms (with possibility to make a twin beds), kitchen with stove, refrigerator and kitchen cabinets, living room with sofa and desk and TV LCD, air conditioning, wifi Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Quinta Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Rosa Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.