We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TourGuide Neyla - Day Tours

TourGuide Neyla - Day Tours
Avenida Nossa Senhora de Copacabana, 40, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (Leme)
+55 21 98187-0773
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 414 Activities in Rio de Janeiro
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

So many reviewers wrote that Neyla was amazing from start to end of the day and its so very true!! I booked a cheaper hotel so i could spend the day with her and it was totally worth it. We whizzed around main sites of rio and she customised the tour to take in the monastery, the art gallery, the churches, carmen mirandas house, the cathedral, St Teresa and the views and corcovado.... And we had a lot of fun,,,,, i recommend booking her for your first day to get used to the city and i am sure whatever you pick to do to suit you will be interesting and excellently guided.
Thank you so much Neyla for helping me learn about Rio at such a perfect pace for me.
Cathy

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    8
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vratsa, Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Neyla is by far the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I visited Brazil in the beginig of May 2013 with may son and husband and we stayed 3 days in Rio. Rio is amazing city, so colourful and lively, but it is very important to find the best guide to show you around. I found Neyla in tripadviser and luckily she was free for the 2 of May. We spent 8 or 9 womderful hours with her, she relly loves this city and wanted to show us all important sighseeings in the right time for the best pictures , but also some secret jewels like farmer marker, favelas, and AMAZINING traditional restaurant in Santa Teresa. In the end of our tour she had a little present for us- CD with bossa nova songs and pictures of all amazing places we were that day. Thank you Neyla!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Patricia (Neyla's friend and colleague) was awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had an awesome time with Patricia. She picked us up on time, was very well informed about everything in Rio, spoke several languages really well, and was extremely friendly. She helped organize our day so we could see all tourist attractions that we wanted to see in one day, eat really good food, as well as try some of the specialties. In addition, she gave us tips for how to spend the rest of our time in Rio. We got a lot more out of our trip by having Patricia guide us. Interestingly, everyone everywhere knew her! So everything was a lot easier.

Finally, she took pictures for us in all locations. She suggested cute poses, and was very excited to take our pictures.

We would definitely recommend Patricia to anyone who visits.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cygnet, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We spashed out the three hundred dollars to cover Rio in a day with Nelya and it was good value. An ex- air stewardess Nelya knows her city and will taylor the trip to your interests. Loved the lunch ia a workers restaurant and the coffeeshop as well as of course the Rio sights.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's more fun in Rio - only with Neyla!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My wife and I decided that among the four cities we were touring in Brazil (the others being Foz de Iguacu, Brasilia and Sao Paulo), we weren't going to scrimp on the city tour for Rio de Janeiro - and with Neyla Bontempo as our guide, it turned out to be the best decision!

My wife, my 60-plus aged folks, and I expected to be sluggish when Neyla picked us up from our hotel at 7 a.m. - but she immediately injected us with good vibes and energy with her very engaging and accommodating personality--and her wonderful "mixtape"!

Neyla's advice to start the tour early turned out to be spot-on when we reached the Christ the Redeemer monument (via the scenic car route) and we had around 20 unimpeded minutes taking panoramic photos, before the crowds started swelling. She also took us to a nearby vantage point where we posed with Cristo Redentor on our palms.

At Sugar Loaf, Neyla surprised us by treating us each to a cup of acai shake - my second favorite Brazilian drink next to Guarana :)

For lunch, she brought us to a popular food joint near Escadaria Selaron (Ponto de Encontro Ximeninho) - while there, try out the farofa (flour mixture) which goes well with any of their meat staples!

In the afternoon, we did a city tour starting at Cinelandia Square and ending at the Mayan-inspired Catedral Metropolitana de São Sebastião - and Neyla "managed" us quite efficiently, from taking occasional rest breaks to discreetly advising us how not to attract the attention of possible troublemakers.

We ended the tour, with an extra 1.5 hours gratis, passing by the favelas and the (at the time still in-construction) Maracana. Even before parting for the day, Neyla gave us very useful tips (such as shopping at the Copacabana flea market) which truly enhanced our Rio trip.

For our fellow Filipinos as well as everyone else visiting Rio, the "Neyla tour" is itself an experience we would definitely recommend... Muito obrigado Neyla! (",)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TourGuide Neyla - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to TourGuide Neyla - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TourGuide Neyla - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.