We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resto Ipanema

Resto Ipanema
Rua Joana Angelica, 184 | Corner of Rua Nascimento Silva, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-030, Brazil (Lagoa)
21 2287 0052
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #301 of 9,038 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French, Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Lagoa
Cypruis
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Somewhere special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Our first night in Rio and not sure what to expect and then there was Resto. Good atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff but mainly fantastic food. Tasty, imaginative and unusual. If you like mushrooms - you will be in heavan! Beyond that a good mixture of starters, salads, light snacks as well as a full menu of main courses. The wines were also excellent. One issue to consider is that there is a lot of salt in the recipes. Obirigado Resto.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    95
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Definitely worth having an experience at Resto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

My family and I went there for a late supper and couldn't have made a better choice. Apart from the great service, friendly informal atmosphere, and first rate contemporary food, the restaurant offers a very distinct option in its menu: the comidinhas (small portions of food). They are aimed at foodies like me, who like to try a wide range of courses but are not really very hungry. In our case, we tried the pasteis as a very Brazilian treat for starter, and then had one course of comidinha each. In that way we could also try the profiteroles as dessert and indulge ourselves with drinks and wine throughout our meal. And guess what? The bill was not at all expensive. Great value for our money. I will definitely go back thete!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buzios, RJ
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great value in Ipanema”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Small but "aconchegante" (cosy) restaurant very close to Nossa Senora da Paz square.
Efficient service and well priced menu with good portions.
Great for a late lunch after seeing all the sights.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We both took different dishes and we were both amazed by the composition and taste of our dishes. One of the best dishes ever! The staff was nice and the place is really cozy! Visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A wonderfully tasty evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This restaurant was a small delight to find over in the Ipanema Beach area. The service was outstanding. The selection was reasonable and the portions were generous. The food was fresh, presented in a lovely way, and it was seasoned to perfection. We had 2 different types of fish, steak, and our 8 year-old had a hamburger that was on the child's menu, but really an adult size. Their drink menu had some unique house mixed drinks which were delightful. We weren't the only ones there with children, they did open a little earlier than the restaurant we originally set out to try, and that was important for the kids.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Resto Ipanema also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Resto Ipanema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resto Ipanema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.