We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated hotel in a safe area, expensive, but cheap for Barra” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Entremares Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Entremares Hotel to your Saves list
Entremares Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Erico Verissimo, 846 | Barra da Tijuca, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (Barra da Tijuca)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Dated hotel in a safe area, expensive, but cheap for Barra”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Hotel is in a safe area of Rio, with a supermarket next door and a number of restaurants on the same street, with shops and cafes on a parallel street. Disagree with a previous review saying the beach is too far away, it's less than 10 minutes walk away and well worth it once there. Friendly staff, not great at English, but willing to try and better than they think they are as everything worked in the end. Rooms have an old feeling and need some attention. I stayed in two different rooms as my work trip had a stay in Sao Paulo in the middle of it. Luckily both rooms were at the back of the hotel, so noise from the front was limited. Despite that, the walls are quite thin, so noise is never far away, and the air conditioning is probably even noisier than the bar across the road. Breakfast was a nice buffet, plenty of options including some nice fresh fruit. Can also order scrambled and fried eggs (in English seemed to work). Wifi worked fine and was free.

As others have said, this is not the cheapest hotel in the word, and particularly in relation to the quality of the rooms. Yes, you can even stay in a modern Ibis in central Sao Paulo for 100Reals less per night (as I did), but the cost of staying in Barra is generally very high compared to most places that I've visited.

Room Tip: At the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    26
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
13
3
1
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We chose this hotel to make a stopover in Rio and visit the family of my wife.
It is located in Barra da Tijuca which is comparing the other areas of Rio quite safe. But if You plan to visit the beach, then it is too far away from it (appr. 800 m).
But a supermarket and many good restaurants are quite close.
We got a family room (for 4 persons) for a reasonable (for Rio) price. The personnel was very friendly and helped us with some special requests (e.g. heating up milk for my 3 years old daughters). The room was quite ok. Not very modern but enough space for us 4. Breakfast was quite good. They also fullfiled special request (e.g. fried eggs) without charging it and gave us some tips cocnerning good resaurants). There is also a garage available (we had a rented car) which is not usual for Rio (parking in Rio is quite difficult and costly)
The hotel does not have a pool or any special recreation area. Therefore activities for children were not available. But for us it was not an issue because we were there mailny to visit the family of my wife.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you are a frequent traveler use to a good to fair international hotes , forget this one
The entremares is almost a hostel in the accommodation.
the bed is pretty narrow , and the furniture in the rooms are very bad
the good side is the breakfast is good and the hotel is clean

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The reception staff were very helpful and did try to communicate although they were not confident speaking English. (They should be more confident - we managed to communicate well together).
The hotel interior is tired.
The air-con in my room had one setting - full force jet engine!
My experience was that the room had poor blackout so you will wake at sunrise. This isn't a problem as the noise from the street will wake you before sunrise anyway. You will also have the opportunity to stay up late as you hear the party taking place in the bar across the street until after one in the morning.
Overall, it is a unique opportunity to experience the noise and atmosphere of Rio from the safety of your bed. It really feels like your bed is in the middle of the street so if you want a good night's sleep bring ear-plugs and a blindfold. A bit of a shame as otherwise it could have been an OK hotel.
Now to be fair to the hotel, my room was at the front, facing onto the street and perhaps they do have quieter rooms. They were also very good at looking after my suitcase on the last day when I went for a tour of the city. My case had some very expensive equipment in it and they kept it secure for me.

Room Tip: Do not take a room facing onto the steet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Entremares Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Entremares Hotel

Address: Av. Erico Verissimo, 846 | Barra da Tijuca, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Barra da Tijuca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Entremares Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Entremares Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Entremares Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Entremares Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.