We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont

Save Saved
You added Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Rua Marechal Camara 300 | Centro, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20020080, Brazil (Centro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% OFF!*
Ranked #13 of 212 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Santo André, Brasil
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The hotel has a good location (right close to Santos Dumont Airport) and near to the city center. Very comfortable and clean. In my opinion is a little expensive, but all hotels in RIo de Janeiro are expensive too.

Room Tip: Rooms up the 3rd floor are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    439
    64
    10
    4
See reviews for
210
125
92
289
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is a good hotel for those looking to stay close to Santos Dumont airport. Not recommended for those looking to enjoy nightlife or beach in Rio. The hotel is nothing luxurious, but rather basic though hits all the important marks for a decent stay.
Room is clean, no carpet but rather laminate floors which I prefer. Small but functional bathroom with a real nice rain shower. Good air conditioner unit it works well and it is not too loud. The bed is not the best nor are the pillows or linens but the mattress is firm and sheets are clean and fresh. Other than that, small room, nothing to write home about, OK breakfast included in rate, internet works well without being super fast. All around OK 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Travelling on business during the World Cup will probably never be "cost effective". I struggled to find a good option and the Novotel seemed like a reliable option, even though it was more expensive than what I had expected.

The hotel was fine - good sized rooms with everything you would expect (except an iron, which is also not available from room service). Breakfast was great, but I would not recommend the hotel bar which is low on ambience with a limited menu. If you're in Rio on business then the downtown location will probably be ideal.

Next time, I will probably stay choose to stay in Ipanema and just spend more time travelling to the office.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Booked this hotel during the world cup. The location in the financial district so there aren't any restaurants or bars in close vicinity. The room rate was highly overpriced even tough the world cup was going on. The personal were very friendly and helpful. We went to the hotel restaurant the first night and the food was really poor quality so we did not go back during our stay. Room was very small. If we go back to Rio will try some other hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronaldo G, Gerente at Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking about your experience at the Novotel RJ Santos Dumont. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great buffet breakfast...yum. very typical novotel so you know what to expect and there are no suprises. I would recommend this place for sure. next time i will be bringing the whole family for a much longer holiday

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronaldo G, Gerente at Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel RJ Santos Dumont.
Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Nice place, nice rooms, not all the people inside the hotel speak english, I think this is a minus talking about this place, the food is pretty good and the places you have near the hotel are good too, you can find some restaurants walking 5 or 6 blocks from there and they are cheaper than the hotel food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronaldo G, Gerente at Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Carlos Mauricio:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel RJ Santos Dumont. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Nice hotel, new and comfortable. Located a walking distance from Santos Dumont Airport and very close to many downtown Rio business places.

The one problem we found is that for dinnig out of the hotel you must take a taxi as the nice restaurants close to the hotel all close at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronaldo G, Gerente at Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Celia

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel RJ Santos Dumont. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont

Address: Avenida Rua Marechal Camara 300 | Centro, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20020080, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Centro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#7 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#16 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#19 Best Value Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, ACCOR, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.