We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home in Rio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa da Guedes Bed and Breakfast

Casa da Guedes Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rio de Janeiro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa da Guedes Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Casa da Guedes Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Rua Sebastiao Affonso Ferreira #162, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22620031, Brazil (Barra da Tijuca)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 250 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home in Rio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

This was the first time traveling to Brazil, so I was a little skeptical about staying somewhere other than the big name hotels. All of my doubts were put aside as soon as we were greeted by Christiane as the front door. She really made us feel welcomed in her home, even showing us around the neighborhood within an hour of being there and getting settled in. It is this level of personal service that makes me glad that I didn't book a tacky hotel for my stay in Rio. Hotel employees generally don't invest the time and effort in making sure their guests are content simply because they don't need to. Because Christiane owns, lives in, and operates this bed and breakfast, she take personal interest in making sure that all her guests are happy. She even brought us around Rio to tourist and non-tourist venues and restaurants. Every morning we were served a delicious traditional Brazilian breakfast of fresh fruits, bread, jam, cheese and juices. Our rooms were kept clean on a daily basis and WiFi is provided free of charge. The area is very safe with 24 hr security booths at each end of the block and one right in front of the house. Restaurants and shops are all within walking distance, not to mention the beach is only a block away! It was sad to leave and return to winter in New York, but the memories and experiences had on this trip will always be cherished.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chriscasadaguedes, Owner at Casa da Guedes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear Jeff,
It is always a pleasure to receive such a sweet and positive feedback.Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to see you in the future....
Come back.

Big Hug

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

The B&B is in an ideal location, everything is within walking distance. The house is beautiful the beach is two blocks away and the restaurants are a block away and plenty of public transportation. We rented a car but we had plenty of alternatives if needed. The rooms are very clean and spacious the breakfast was fantastic. Christiane is an exceptional host she provided us with great direction and made our stay in Brazil even more memorable. I would recommend casa da Guedes to all my friends and to anyone that asks me. We went there to train Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu and the accommodations were much more comfortable than the other places in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chriscasadaguedes, Owner at Casa da Guedes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
You are more than welcome and we would love to have you back. It was a pleasure to meet you.

Come back anytime,

Big Hug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamar, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days during new years. The place is beautiful, much nicer then even the pictures shows. The area is also nice, easy to get to downtown rio, but also a grat bech and nice placec in the neighbourhood.
The best were the host though. Christiana is helpfull with everything you need, and is realy nice to talk to. An example was new years eve when one of us were a bit hungry and everything was closed down, or just for private parties. But she called around and got us great food real cheep, she haggeled the price, got us extra meet and we had a fiest at here house where she made a nice dinner table. We also got great bacalao from here mom!
After we left, we went to ihla grande and paraty, but the day we were going home and had to go from ihla grande to the airport in rio, she offered us to stop at here's place at our way to leave the luggage while we were hanggliding. after we were done we had a swim in the pool and we got to have a shower and some coffee before we went to the airport. She was always helpfull to call cabs, find resturants, and fix things. She spoke good english as well.
I have been to 150 towns around the world and just as many hotels/hostels/b&b but never met such a good host. She were our Brazilian Mom :) Would love to come back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chriscasadaguedes, Owner at Casa da Guedes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
What can I say after that? Thank you guys....you know that you are always welcome.
I'm glad that you had a good time.
Hugs from Rio....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

This B&B is located away from the touristy areas in a charming house in wealthy neighborhood (Barra de Tjuica) which is a short bus ride down town. The B&B is very clean, well appointed and comes with a delicious breakfast. However, what makes this place special is the friendly and extremely knowledgeable host Christiane. Every morning she gave us a list of things to do if the weather was bad and places to eat. Highly recommended unless you are allergic to cats/dogs.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chriscasadaguedes, Owner at Casa da Guedes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
It was a pleasure to have your family with us, Lene. You were delightful people,
Come back anytime...
Send my warm regards to everybody.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed at Christiane's beautiful home earlier this year (2011). Now Rio is a beautiful and exciting city set in a stunning strip of coast but it has crazy traffic and get a bit warm. What do you need after a hard day sight seeing and soaking up the excitement of Rio? Casa da Guedes. An oasis of calm, hidden from the street with a beautiful little garden and a pool to cool off. If you really want to cool off the beach is just 7 minutes walk where the beautiful azure green waves will help you forget the hustle and bustle and in no time you'll think you are on a desert island.
Back at Casa Da Guedes your stunning host, Christiane, will ply you with refreshments and bright smiles.
Believe me you won't want a hotel after you've experienced Casa da Guedes.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chriscasadaguedes, Owner at Casa da Guedes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words, Allen. It was a pleasure to have you here! We hope to see you again in the near future.
Once more thank you for the compliments and a big hug!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I stayed at Casa da Guedes during my recent and first visit to Rio. The B&B is in an excellent location in a safe and quiet location, two blocks from Barra Beach and there are a lot of really good restaurants and bars around! The house is full of character and charm and the owners are full of Brazilian hospitality; they made me feel so welcome and at home!!

My room was comfortable and clean and I had access to the wireless internet. They own cats and dogs which are cute and loveable......

Would I recommend Casa da Guedes?................... I see the owners as my friends so wholeheartedly!!! When I return to Rio I will definitely stay there again.....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chriscasadaguedes, Owner at Casa da Guedes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Benjamin,

thank you for your sweet words.You became a dear friend and we will be waiting for your next time in Rio.
I think we don't need to say that t you are more than welcome, do we?
Come back anytime, Ben.

Big kiss and hug

Chris and Eliane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011 via mobile

It's a great house with a few rooms for rent. There's a free parking, you got to keep the keys and the street is quite safe.

The house owners are very attencious and providers, and can help with all your needs while in Rio.

It's very close to the beach and has a good range of restaurants, bars, clubs and services that you can go on by foot. It's also very close to bus lines.

Great value!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa da Guedes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa da Guedes Bed and Breakfast

Address: Rua Sebastiao Affonso Ferreira #162, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22620031, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Barra da Tijuca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Interior : Living room, Library, Cable TV / Satellite TV, ADSL Internet, Refrigerator. Exterior : Private swimming pool, Outdoor furniture. TV, ceiling fan. Classic and clean decoration. Comfortable couple size bed, TV, air conditioning. We offer a very flexible check-in and check-out times to our clients. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Da Guedes Bed And Breakfast Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa da Guedes Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.