We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arena Copacabana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Arena Copacabana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arena Copacabana Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Atlantica 2064, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22040-010, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 210 hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

excellent location, great breakfast, great staff. No free internet in the room, no pressing iron either. no bath tub, shower only. (Standard room). It was our first time in Rio, next time I will choose to stay on Ipanema beach instead of Copacabana beach. Much cleaner...

Room Tip: rooms are small, I guess if you stay on the 14th floor would be nice (top floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    382
    302
    82
    27
    15
See reviews for
109
401
53
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We chose this hotel for an extra 2 days in Rio after a cruise. The location was great as it was right across from the beach. There was plenty of selection for eateries within close walking distance. Shopping was a block away and quite walkable in either direction.
Our room was quite adequate with a view of the beach. Both room and bathroom were a comfortable size and relatively clean. However, the handle of the hairdryer had not been cleaned for sometime and fortunately we did not need it. The downside of the hotel is that the walls are less than soundproof.
The breakfasts were generous with a good variety.
We found the front desk staff to be helpful. They spoke English as our Portuguese was less than limited. It was great to see a cold weather Christmas theme in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room a few floors up facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewlett, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

we were looking for something right on the beach that wouldn't break the bank....especially before new years as most places in rio have 4 night minimums and triple price increases. perfect location, attentive staff (surprised at how many spoke some english). breakfast buffet every morning was way above expectations. rooftop pool was small but great view and enough chairs and tables to go around (heat wave made the beach a better option but the shade up on the roof was nice too) also nice location (few blocks from subway to ipanema) rooms nothing special but clean and well kept. only side note is the elevator/key system was frustrating at times as magnetic strips worked sporadically. free wifi in lobby and roof top was nice bonus too!

Room Tip: beach front view worthwhile!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Excellently located hotel, clean and tidy with a great rooftop pool and bar. Food is poor, service is slow. Price is based on location, not actual quality of hotel fixtures and fittings. But as you are right next to Copacabana and if you are staying in this hotel it is unlikely you want to spend much time inside, it is a good choice and balance between location and price.

Room Tip: We stayed on floor 14 (same as pool) for no extra cost, this was greta for access to pool and bar ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Location was good ,staff seems to think they doing you a favour by just being at work...
There were no greetings from anyone apart from when we checked in (reception)and we stayed 5 nights?!
Most of the time I felt invisible and ignored in this place and I would not return to this hotel , there's a Marriott Hotel within 100yds and if I was going back I would definetely stay there instead.

Room Tip: Ocean view on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights at this hotel just to be in the middle of the Rio beachfront New Year's celebration. First two nights rate was $405 w/o tax and next 3 over New Years (from Dec 30 - Jan 1st) was $780 w/o tax. One of the primary and only amenities of the hotel is the small roof top pool and bar which is open to the hotel guests all day through midnight for drinks, food, and amazing views of Copacabana. The roof pool/bar is really special and makes up for the small rooms, hard bed, so/so buffet breakfast relative to the price of the hotel rooms. We loved our days leading up to New Years as we had evening cocktails on the roof bar and wondered how cool the Copacabana fireworks would be from this venue only available to hotel guests.

New Year's Eve this morning we take a early morning tour to Christ Redeemer, return to our hotel room at 10AM and have a letter on our bed saying that the roof top pool bar was to be closed to hotel guests at 1PM to get ready for the hotel's "New Years Eve Cocktail Party" which we were only welcome to attend if we paid 1,200 BR Reals + 10% service tax per person (approximately total over $1,200 for me any my wife).

Unbelievable. No one at booking or at check-in at the hotel told us that we had to pay over $800 with tax to stay at a hotel on New Years night plus pay another $1,200 for us to enjoy the rooftop pool/bar for one of the world's best firework show.

Really disappointed in the non-disclosure at Hotels.com when we booked and when we checked in at the hotel by hotel staff. To inform hotel guests by a memo left on their bed when paying the full rate of every other night is entirely unprofessional. Amazingly no hotel employee even tried to entice guests to the event or offer a discounted rate. Most guests at the roof/top pool seemed annoyed to be run off at 1 PM today so that the hotel could essentially double book the hotel amenities to make more money for the hotel at the detriment of the hotel guests

Hotel Arena - you owe your guests an apology if nothing less.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Very nice hotel, good breakfast, clean, but what my wife and i enjoyed the most was the magnificent view of the Copacabana beach just in front of our widnow.
The large window ended on the floor and when we wake up the first thing we were seen from our bed was the beach!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arena Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Copacabana Hotel

Address: Av. Atlantica 2064, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22040-010, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#19 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arena Copacabana Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2009, the Arena is the newest hotel in Copacabana Beach. Contemporary design with WiFi, King Size Beds, Accoustic Windows, Central Air Cond, among other features place this property as a top choice in Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Arena Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arena Copacabana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.