We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay & ideally located.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arena Copacabana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Arena Copacabana Hotel to your Saves list
Arena Copacabana Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Atlantica 2064, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22040-010, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 212 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay & ideally located.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our 6 days here very much and found the hotel very clean and the service attentive. The food/breakfast service was excellent and the selection had something for everybody. Free wifi in lobby and top deck was a nice plus. The staff was responsive to all of our needs and helpful in many ways. The pool/top deck offers a great vantage point to take in all the views of the beach with a bar right there to reax worry free. Highly recommended for those seeking great accommodations on Copacobana Beach at semi-reasonable prices.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aroldo S, Gerente de recepção at Arena Copacabana Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear guest we really appreciated your comments at Trip Advisor.
Our associates will be proud of your words concerning the service.
The guest experiences are very important to reinforce our commitment
with the service delivered.
Thank you again and hopping see you back soon we remain.
Sincerely
Aroldo Salles.
FO Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    314
    84
    27
    16
See reviews for
118
417
53
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The staff was very helpful and the hotel is very beautifully decorated. We booked a regular room and they upgraded us to an ocean view front on a high floor since the occupancy was not full. They made the experience in Rio and on the Copacabana beach excellent. The view from their pool deck on the roof is beautiful!! Sugarloaf and Christ the Redeemer statue visible from each direction!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I wanna just one thing , u can have a excellent memory of Rio with stay in this hotel.
Don't forget try the natural orange just in the pool-bar .
I've been there for 5 days in march 2010.
rooms view with Copacabana beach , make your trip extremely soothing,

Room Tip: Don't go the room near pool-bar. it's noisy .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great view of the beach, Great area. Breakfast has a wide variety of food. I did a lot of research of the hotels in the Area and this hotel appeared to have the best reviews for the best value for money, and we were happy with everything in the hotel. The staff spoke English.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was the first time I have stayed at the Arena having found another hotel that I tend to use for convenience. I have to say I was very impressed and will definitely stay in the future. Breakfast was much better than most of the Copacobana hotels I have stayed in previously. Room was clean and spacious and had everything you would expect in it. There was a small pool on the rooftop next to the bar and the views over the beach, across to the Corcovada and the Sugar Loaf are stunning. Staff were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Generally a conveniently located hotel on the Copacabana beach which is generally very pleasant spotlessly clean and well run. Rooms are spacious and convenient, room minibar is well equipped. Breakfast (typically included) is good, wifi available throughout the hotel (though for a reasonable fee unless included in the package) and is fast and easily accessible, rooftop bar offers a great view of the strip and the Atlantic, and fitness center on that floor is small but well equipped. The only nuisance is the security inspired key based access in the elevator to go to up to one's room which does not work very well (requires several reinsertions of the key). Hotel staff friendly and usually speaks good English.Would have been nice though has the management provided, as is common elsewhere, with complimentary bottle of water.

Room Tip: try negotiate for breakfast and WIFI to be included in room rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and i stayed here for 3 nights. Friendly staff with helpful suggestions, clean and spacious rooms, very good breakfast spread. We managed to get a room on the top floor near the pool, it faces the side of the hotel with partial views of Copacabana beach and Christ the redeemer. Very good location, directly on Copacabana, 5 mins walk down from the copacabana palace, relatively safe. Lots of touristy cafes and restaurants along the beach front and smaller souvenir shops, havaianas & supermarket 10-15 mins walking distance. The metro is also approx 10-15 mins walk away. Free wifi at the lobby and the pool terrace on the top floor. no complains except its expensive but that applies to all hotels in Rio.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arena Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Copacabana Hotel

Address: Av. Atlantica 2064, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22040-010, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#16 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arena Copacabana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2009, the Arena is the newest hotel in Copacabana Beach. Contemporary design with WiFi, King Size Beds, Accoustic Windows, Central Air Cond, among other features place this property as a top choice in Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Arena Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arena Copacabana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.