We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, uncomfortable and tiny rooms with unfriendly staff.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Art Hostel Rio

Save Saved
You added Art Hostel Rio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Art Hostel Rio
Rua Silveira Martins 135 Catete, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22221000, Brazil (Botafogo)   |  
Hotel amenities
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Overpriced, uncomfortable and tiny rooms with unfriendly staff.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I stayed in a 6 bed dorm for 4 nights over carnival. The room was tiny with just 2 bunk beds each having 3 beds stacked on top... as i was last in I got the top.. the bed would have been quite comfortable, but as they were old everytime someone would move in the bed the whole bunk would shake, so I never had a good nights sleep. There was also no place to put my bag so had to get stacked with everyone elses. Worse then that was the temperature in the room, the air-con didn't work and the fan on the wall only reached 2 of the beds... every night I would find it so hard to sleep as it was too hot and no fresh air. I think the worst thing about this hostel was the staff, they were so unfriendly and rude, I dont think they ever smiled and they didnt seem to care about any of there clients. The location was great though, a few mintues walk to nearest metro staion and supermarket. I would not recomend this hostel, the rooms are tiny and cramped and the staff very unfriendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    24
    25
    20
    26
See reviews for
6
35
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed here over the carnival for nearly 2 weeks. As every hostel in Rio during carnival it was outragously expensive and consequently not good value. The place itself is ok, hot and stuffy inside but it is reasonably equipped with kitchen, computer room with several computers, big TV and common area. There is free wifi and it isn't that reliable but the computers are pricey, though you do get 15 free minutes a day. They do a pretty good breakfast with a fair selection of bread, fruit and cereals. The location is pretty good with a metro stop 2 minutes away and a beach 10 minutes away, there are plenty of shops nearby with a couple of small supermarkets and a 24 hour cafe just up the street, the area seems pretty safe as well. If you stay in a double then get the aircon room as the rest of the rooms are swealteringly hot, it does cost a little more but you would regret not doing so, even though the rooms all have big but somewhat ineffctive fans. The rooms are cleaned on a daily basis and the linen changed every 2-3 days. The staff aren't the best and can even be a tad grumpy. Don't use the hostels shuttle service as it is expensive and the street has plenty of taxi's passing by. It portrays itself as an 'arty' place but the decor isn't so good. All in all it's a reasonable but dissapointing average place like many in Rio and could do with some serious upgrading and staff training. If we ever return to Rio we wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: If in a double get an aircon room otherwise you'll melt
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vitória, Espirito Santo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Good place, good location, but rooms.. are not ventilated.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We arrived in Rio, the first stop on our around world trip. Both of us were nervous first time travellers at the time and arriving in Rio was a really a big leap from what we were use to. The Art Hostel was the perfect place for us to start off. The staff were more than helpful and very friendly. The atmosphere of the hostel was both fun and relaxed. There is a little kitchen space to make your own food and a basic but tasty breakfast is provided in the morning. This place will always remain special in our hearts for the obvious reason but even if this is the 20th place you stay, you will remember it! Really suggest getting tickets for the sambadrome through the hostel too as we got them cheaper than we could find online before leaving England.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

The nice entrance convinced us to book a night at this place. Unfortunately, the room we paid for was not the room they gave us. Instead of a double room we had to sleep in a dorm room that was made private for us. The ceiling in this room was very low and the equippment was very basic. Since we were backpacking, this was usually not a problem, but it annoyed us that nobody informed us about the room change or voluntarily offered a refund on check-in. We only got money when we complained. We found the whole hostel disappointing and also could not find much art in it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

We got a small room, which was very humid and dark and it had a peculiar smell. The bathroom door was broken and didn't close and there were hairs on the bathroom floor. It was strange, because the hostel's lobby looks really nice and the location is good, so it could be a nice spot for young people going to Rio if it were looked after by the owners.

Room Tip: Try the double rooms; they're better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

Found this place to be a typical hostel with the worn-in feel and musty smell to it.

The rooms are really old and I didn't consider them to be that clean. We got a room with a bathroom on the first floor and found the room to have a damp feel to it. The bathroom is an all-in-one, with nothing separating the shower from the toilet and sink. Windows have no screen so it is difficult to get any fresh air without worrying about mosquitoes. Room comes equipped with a giant fan to help with air circulation.

Aside from the room, there is free Internet for 15 minutes a day. The front desk staff is very helpful with recommending activities and providing directions if you want to take the bus or train. Just beware that staff at night speak limited English so if you have any questions, try to get them answered during the day.

Free breakfast in the morning which consists of tea/coffee, pastries, and some fruits. Also the kitchen is available for public use if you want to cook your own meal.

Conveniently located by the Catete trainstop. Area is also good for buses (most aren't more than 2 blocks away), finding local eats, and a supermarket.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Art Hostel Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hostel Rio

Address: Rua Silveira Martins 135 Catete, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22221000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo , Catete
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 391 Specialty lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel boasts a large, sunny roof terrace with guest kitchen and delicious buffet breakfast including home-made cakes and jams, fresh fruits, cheeses and cold cuts. With 24 hour reception and English-speaking receptionists, we are happy to help you any way we can with information, tours and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Art Hostel Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hostel Rio Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Art Hostel Rio Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Hostel Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.