We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Leblon at an affordable rate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast Leblon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bed and Breakfast Leblon to your Saves list
Bed and Breakfast Leblon
Rua General Urquisa - Leblon | 1 Block Away From the Beach, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22431040, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
R$288 (BRL)
Ranked #33 of 250 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Leblon at an affordable rate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Overall, this is a great place to stay if you want to be in Rio’s best neighbourhood without paying the overpriced rates that hotels in the area charge. As others have pointed out, you are basically staying in someone’s home, but the hosts are very accommodating and go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. For example, I asked the owner Stella for directions to the closest Internet cafe and she immediately passed me her laptop (which she was actually using at the time). The next day, I found a desktop computer with Internet access all set up in my bedroom (the owners actually took it out of their own room and left it in mine for the rest of the stay). They also have wi-fi, however, for those who bring their own computers. I also asked about the nearest laundromat and was told not to worry and just to leave my laundry and it would be taken care of. These things went above and beyond what I would expect...it was clear that they really cared about making sure their guests were comfortable and happy. Stella was also very helpful with advice about what to see and how to get there, restaurants, etc.

The bedroom is clean, towels are changed daily and bed linens are changed a couple of times a week. The breakfast is great with freshly squeezed fruit juice, fruit, coffee, ham, cheese, breads and cakes every day.

As others have said, the location is excellent. The apartment is a two minute walk from the beach. You can walk anywhere in Leblon and Ipanema and there are also buses just outside the building that will take you farther afield. The area is also one of the few in Rio that is safe to walk around in at night, which is important since we didn’t want to be stuck indoors as soon as it got dark. Hotels in Leblon/Ipanema cost about twice as much, so this place is excellent value for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    30
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
34
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

The location is very convenient, close to everything. The bed room is simple yet clean and comfortable. The owners were very nice and helpful. They live in the same apartment, so the living room is shared - but we don't really use the living room much so it doesn't bother us. The breakfast was very well prepared. We had a great time there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Our 3rd visit to Bed and Breakfast Leblon - clean place to stay, lovely breakfast, calm but central locale giving a quiet pleasant night's sleep.
Yes it is a bedroom in someone's home but that is why it is so pleasant - staying with real people (Stella and Walney) who work locally and have great advice and information to offer on things to do and what life is really like in Leblon, Rio and Brasil.
Both hosts speak good English so do not worry about communication.
As for convenience of location, it is one minute walk from all the local buses (including metro connections to central Rio), only 3 minutes walk from Leblon beach; minutes walk to a variety of restaurants and no more than 10 minutes walk from Shopping Leblon (with great Brasilian designer and other shops and a great view from the food floor (4th floor) towards Lagoa and Corcovado).
And a much more reasonable price than the many impersonal hotels in Leblon and Ipanema! We will be back again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed here with another couple. Stella was very kind and welcoming to us during our stay of four nights. We knew that Leblon is a nice and safe neighborhood close to the beach. Stella's place was a comfortable place to come back to after a day at the beach and evening out. I remember the beds were always made up everyday with fresh towels and the fruit was amazing at breakfast. Since Leblon and Ipanema are expensive areas, this B&B is a wonderful value. If you are looking for luxury, look elsewhere. If you are looking for a clean and comfortable place after exploring Rio, this is for you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

I stayed here for ten days.... initially five then extended my trip another 5 days. The location is fantastic.. 1 block from the beach and centrally located to many restaurants, cafes and shops. Its a shared bathroom and the owners live there and are lovely and extremely helpful. Felt like a home away from home. Breakfast was delicious, rooms cleaned daily, air conditioning, free wifi... I was so comfortable I didnt want to leave. Would definately recommend!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guarulhos, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Being an exchange program agent I would classify this house as a homestay. It's basically it. The hosts are really nice and helpful, the amenities are spotless and you feel at home. The location is amazing and safe, it's nice to take a walk in the morning and there is a lot to do nearby as far as nightlife, restaurants, shopping malls and beaches, so pretty much everything. The breakfast is also great and the hosts were incredibly nice as we had a flight really early in the morning and they booked us a cab and arranged something for us to eat before we left. I would recommend it for people who are looking for an incredible location at a great price and don't mind being a guest in someone else's house.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

We were looking for a reasonable priced place to stay as a last minute booking in Leblon and spotted Stella and Vani's B&B on the internet. Well what others have said is completely true - a genuine couple who care that people are happy and comfortable. We were delayed with our flight and did not arrive in Leblon until 02.00 in the morning but this was no problem to Vani who greeted us! The bedroom was clean and quiet with a comfortable bed. Bathroom also clean with a good hot shower. The breakfast is special with a wonderful different squeezed juice each morning, plenty of other things to eat - and a great toaster for those who like toast!! The location is good - near a lot of eating places, plenty of local buses and just a few minutes from the beach. But what was best for us (much better than a hotel) were the hosts Stella and Vani - good English and such an interesting couple to talk with about Rio and life in general. It was just like staying with good friends for a few days. We will be back soon - highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed and Breakfast Leblon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Leblon

Address: Rua General Urquisa - Leblon | 1 Block Away From the Beach, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22431040, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
.: Excellent location, one block way from the beach.: Comfort, quality recognized .: Safe and nurturing environment .: Fair price.: Tips and information on all Rio de Janeiro, besides the tourism optionsWant to stay in Leblon? Save up to 50% on your stay!Our prices are 40-50% cheaper than the average daily hotel in Leblon. See yourself!WARNING: Beware of imitations and false advertising using our brand!We have no branches and we do not work with ANY automatic web reservations. The one way to make a reservations with us is sending an e-mail directely to us, the owners. If there is availability on the requested date or not, all incoming emails are answered within 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Leblon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Leblon Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast Leblon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.