We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jucati - Rio - August 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jucati Season Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Jucati Season Apartments to your Saves list
Jucati Season Apartments
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Rua Tenente Marones de Gusmao 85, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041-060, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
“Jucati - Rio - August 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at Jucati apartments.
Everything was good, actually. It was clean, with cleaning and fresh towels every day.
The apartment was quite big and the neighbourhood felt safe. The metro station is just one or two blocks away and the beach about 10 mins. walking distance.The staff is very friendly and helpful.
Great value for money in a place (Copacabana) where it is not easy to find reasonably priced hotels or apartments.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    177
    43
    6
    3
See reviews for
102
63
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Great option for a family as Rio Hotels are so expensive. Only 10 minutes walk to the beach and a large square just outside with playground and market on Wednesdays to stock up on fruit. Easy walk to shops and felt pretty safe.

Apartments are good size but open plan so don't expect privacy if sharing with friends. Small but functional kitchen with cooker (we had to use a lighter to light gas each time we stayed) and water filter (separate tap), good hot shower. Particularly liked the large safe.

Was advertised as WiFi in rooms which didn't work, you had to take your lap top to central seating area. Talked to reception and they said that the WiFi in rooms is no longer advertised but they are putting in a new system, hopefully this will cure the dropped connection issues as well as painful trying to upload photos for blog posts (may be common Brazil internet problem as not been great countrywide even in large hotels).

Staff have passable English on reception which is useful.

We went back for another night when we returned to Rio. Recommend.

Room Tip: Check out if the WiFi works in the room first if this is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Relatively good value for your money. A supermarket and ATM are pretty close, not too far away from the Copacabana beach. Nice park in front of the apartment building. Friendly personnel. However, the interior of rooms is a bit outdated and not very cosy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I recently stayed for 6 days at Edificio Jucati and it was very enjoyable. All the staff there were very friendly and helpful, especially as I'd made a group booking for numerous people and had to change the dates a few times before we arrived. For me, not being a Portuguese speaker, it was very useful that they spoke great English.
My room was comfortable. As I was there in the Brazilian wintertime, it was not very hot, and the ceiling fan was all I needed to keep cool.
I know that some of the people I was with had a little trouble connecting to the internet while we were there, but I never had any problem, and Jucati even lent me a (electrical plug) converter when mine broke.
I really liked the location of Jucati. Right in front of it is Edmundo Bittencourt Square, where (amongst other things) people walk dogs and play chess, and school kids practice soccer or capoeira. On Wednesdays there is a great farmers' market in the square, and on Sundays (I think!) there is a smaller organic one. Plus, it is only a short walk to Copacabana Beach. Also in the area there are numerous restaurants, a shopping galleria (which has a money exchange place) and the subway.
I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at edificio Jucati in July with our 2 kids. Pretty good place to stay. Room are simple but very clean and lots of room. Location is good few minutes walk to metro and supermarket, 15 min to the beach of Copacabana. Around 12 Reais taxi to Ipanema. little park in front of the hotel is good for the kids (and have little monkeys!!) What made Jucati the mopre enjoyable is the friendliness of reception staff, always nice and helpful. We definitely recommend Jucati

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The apartment was a good price compared to others in Rio.
The staff were helpful and friendly and recommended good places to go out.
But the downside was really bad internet, cold showers, wet paint on doors and a stale smell of the bed covers & bathroom!
Still overall for the price it was ok if a few of the basics were sorted out, would be a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Room said it fit 2 people but there were 4 beds and a pullout. Could definitly get a group in for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Didn't help that the program, run by Tulane University, misrepresented the conditions and size of the housing provided by the school....but, even given that disappointment, this is not really an ideal place to stay. Constant construction, painting, renovation. Internet goes down for over 24 hours at a time, has a weak signal, and is only intermittently functional when available. Maybe this will be an ok place in the future, but definitely not at the moment. They were sawing marble or something the other day, as late as 7pm, and it was super loud. the center of the apartments echoes, the bunk beds are super squeaky and rickety, I only weigh 120 lbs but it still scares me to climb up there each night. Have to light the stove with a match. They insisted on spraying for bugs today while I was in the room despite my protests. There was a homicide around the corner two days ago, but I haven't really felt unsafe. Always a police car on the corner, and a residential neighborhood...but still, I would not stay here if I hadn't already paid.

Room Tip: Find your own housing if you are with a group. If you are considering going to Tulane's Brazil c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Jucati Season Apartments, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
We would like to apologize for the noisy , we are renewing the corridors and internal area because it has been more than 10 years since we made the last modification. It will finish in the first week of July , but now we dont have dust and noisy anymore.We will have one week more of work in the end of August when we will change the internal windows and then we finish . The new acoustic windows will reduce 80% the internal noisy . About the murder that happened one block from our buildind ,i am typing here a link from the major newspaper of Rio telling all the facts, there anyone can see that were two drunk soccer fans that had a discussion and a fight , the neighboor said that in 12 years never saw something like that , unfortunatly it can happen anywhere.( link below)
http://oglobo.globo.com/rio/briga-de-bar-acaba-em-morte-em-copacabana-5234604
but i think its not the kind of bar any of our guests would be at. Its impossible to make improvements without any noisy , i hope the guest forgive us and understand we are doing it for them. We probably wont have this kind of complain anymore, because we have done everything we need that could produce high level of noisy and the new windows will reduce the level of sound a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jucati Season Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jucati Season Apartments

Address: Rua Tenente Marones de Gusmao 85, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041-060, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 494 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jucati Season Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jucati Season Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Jucati Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Jucati Season Apartments Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jucati Season Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.