We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Um Meia Tres

Save Saved
You added Um Meia Tres to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Um Meia Tres
Rua Aprazivel 163 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241, Brazil (Santa Teresa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 235 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Devon UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I always think it's a safer bet to stay in one of the big chain hotels like Hilton, Best Western or Holiday Inn - at least you know what you are getting. Whilst we have stayed in good smaller accommodation we have also stayed at premises that have been far from satisfactory. No such worries with Um Meia Tres though - this is certainly one of the best accommodations, big ior small, we have ever stayed in.

Bill and Sue really are the 'hosts with the most' and nothing is too much trouble for them. Besides being only too happy to share their knowledge of Rio with you, they really do treat you like you are a close friend or one of the family and we felt really at home there.

Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean with a comfy bed complete with crisp clean linen. The terrace outside the room gave wonderful views over Rio and we were joined on the terrace one morning by a family of tufted marmosets which was really wonderful.
The room has both an adjustable overhead fan and air conditioning so it is possible to regulate the temperature to exactly how you want it. The bathroom has a power shower which can really blast you if you turn the power right up - quite superb.

The swimming pool is situated on an upper terrace which again commands lovely views over Rio and not only is the pool itself very pleasant but it's also a nice place to sit and relax.

There really are no negatives to say about Um Meia Tres and if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Rio then you need look no further.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
128
22
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We arrived early on the red eye, directions emailed to us we're great, taxi got us right there and we don't speak Portuguese!

The Santa Teresa district is hilly and is tough getting up to the property from Santa Teresa centre, wear good shoes and be reasonably fit if you wish to walk.

The property is really quaint and has a pool and terrace to relax on if you don't want to go out. But you will have too for food, the nearest restaurant is expensive and pretentious, wouldn't go there unless you have a lot of cash to spend.

The beaches are far, this location is great for exploring rio Centro. we moved to Ipanema after 3 days. To enjoy the coast.

The breakfast is fantastic! Really good fresh fruit, the hosts are very accommodating and friendly, the rooms are super clean and have great views over rio.

My only critisism is that the property was a little basically furnished and could do with a little more style and flair, apart from that we had a great stay

Room Tip: Room 2 is biggest in the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

It took me some time to review, but even now, almost 4 months after we left Rio, we still remember Um Meia Tres as the best place we stayed at, in a month long trip to Argentina, Chille and Rio. Other than the view, of course, we loved the feeling that Bill and Sue gave the guests. As if we were staying at friends house. They did everything they can to give us recommendations that will fit exactly to our needs. Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at this very pleasant B&B for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Don't stay here if you want all the conveniences of a hotel as it is not for you.

If you want to experience life in the heart & soul of Rio then do yourself a favour and stay here. It is in a very atmospheric area of Rio - Santa Teresa - and is clean, comfortable and friendly.

Close enough to all the sights of Rio by taxi, yet far enough away from the touristy areas that you can see in any big city.

Very sorry to leave after 3 days - which went all too quickly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is wonderful place to stay away from the usual tourists spots. The other reviews' ratings are very accurate. Of course, the room was lovely, and the view spectacular. The breakfasts are very nice. Santa Theresa is a cool neighborhood--lively enough, well located, and a pleasant retreat from the bustling city. But it was Bill and Sue who made my experience so great. They made me feel like a real guest, not a customer. It was their friendly openness that made my stay so outstanding. I am counting the days until I get to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Arriving in Rio late at night from UK and with no Portuguese language skills, it was really helpful to have such well informed hosts as Bill and Sue. They helped us with our planning both before and after our stay in November 2012, and went well beyond the call of duty in helping us out of a hole when we got lost on the roads leading out of Rio. The location in Santa Teresa is wonderful with a view from high above the city and both food and accommodation were excellent. Thanks you Bill and Sue - your No 1 rating on Trip Advisor is well deserved.
Micky and Jane

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Can't really add to anything everyone has already said. Bill & Sue were wonderful hosts, very helpful. If we're back in Rio, we won't even look for anywhere else. As soon as we'd booked we received an e-mail offering any advice / assistance needed, & also instructions in English & Portuguese how to get to the hotel from the airport - very useful for the taxi driver!!
Large rooms, tremendous view & an excellent breakfast. Best of all - a help yourself, 24 hour bar done on trust.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Um Meia Tres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Um Meia Tres

Address: Rua Aprazivel 163 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located high in Santa Teresa, Um Meia Tres is small and friendly with all the facilities of a modern hotel. Beautifully appointed en suite rooms, all with A/C, ceiling fans, free Wi-Fi, international cable TV, and in-room safe. A large salon with bar, flat screen TV and outdoor dining area and pool forms the central focus of the hotel where refreshments can be enjoyed 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Um Meia Tres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Um Meia Tres Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Um Meia Tres Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Um Meia Tres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.