We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Um Meia Tres -- One of the best places I have ever stayed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Um Meia Tres

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rio de Janeiro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Um Meia Tres
Save
You added Um Meia Tres to your Saves list
Rua Aprazivel 163 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241, Brazil (Santa Teresa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 250 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Claremont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Um Meia Tres -- One of the best places I have ever stayed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is wonderful place to stay away from the usual tourists spots. The other reviews' ratings are very accurate. Of course, the room was lovely, and the view spectacular. The breakfasts are very nice. Santa Theresa is a cool neighborhood--lively enough, well located, and a pleasant retreat from the bustling city. But it was Bill and Sue who made my experience so great. They made me feel like a real guest, not a customer. It was their friendly openness that made my stay so outstanding. I am counting the days until I get to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
128
22
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Arriving in Rio late at night from UK and with no Portuguese language skills, it was really helpful to have such well informed hosts as Bill and Sue. They helped us with our planning both before and after our stay in November 2012, and went well beyond the call of duty in helping us out of a hole when we got lost on the roads leading out of Rio. The location in Santa Teresa is wonderful with a view from high above the city and both food and accommodation were excellent. Thanks you Bill and Sue - your No 1 rating on Trip Advisor is well deserved.
Micky and Jane

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Can't really add to anything everyone has already said. Bill & Sue were wonderful hosts, very helpful. If we're back in Rio, we won't even look for anywhere else. As soon as we'd booked we received an e-mail offering any advice / assistance needed, & also instructions in English & Portuguese how to get to the hotel from the airport - very useful for the taxi driver!!
Large rooms, tremendous view & an excellent breakfast. Best of all - a help yourself, 24 hour bar done on trust.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I cannot say enough about this B&B. The locations is great, up on a high hill with panoramic views. Breakfast was great, fresh fruit and anything else you might want. The hosts very helpful for recommendations of where to go, where to eat, etc. Rio is a stunning city although a bit pricey but it has lots to offer!!!

Room Tip: There are a lot of stairs but try to get a room with a terrace looking out over the city, they are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were guests of Um Meia Tres for one week in July 2012. Our hosts, Bill and Sue Moore were gracious, friendly, and accommodating. It was our first visit to Rio, and they provided us with an excellent introduction to this exciting and storied city. A few highlights of our stay:

The neighbourhood -- Um Meia Tres is situated in Santa Teresa, which provides a great view of much of the city, as well as wonderful restaurants, shops and winding, hilly, cobblestone streets. We were in Rio for a conference, which was located in a hotel on Copacabana. The conference site was easily accessible on a daily basis from Um Meia Tres, at half the price of the conference hotel.

Our hosts -- Bill and Sue are originally from London, relocating to Rio about 5 years ago. They provided us with a friendly introduction to the city, as well as a really good breakfast on the terrace -- complete with fresh baking delivered every morning. It was such a nice atmosphere. We met other guests from around the world, chatted, and fed the marmosets, who greatly enjoyed the bananas that Bill and Sue had set aside for them.

The accommodations -- Our room had a generous terrace, a very comfortable bed, a large bathroom with a shower and plenty of hot water. We were very impressed by this combination of good company, and having a nice private space to unwind after the conference.

The bottom line: Um Meia Tres is a great place to stay in a wonderful city!
Terry and Rillah Carson

Room Tip: The hotel is situated on a hillside -- all of the rooms have great views over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at Um Meia Tres for nine days. We read about it here on Trip Advisor and in other places and felt like we knew the place before we even got there. Bill and Sue were excellent hosts, with lots of tips for places and things that were not to be missed. Their pousada felt like home after the first day. In fact, by being located in Santa Teresa and staying here, we felt were able to experience Rio in a way that we wouldn't by staying at a mainstream hotel. We got a real feel for the place and its people, and its flora and fauna! Being located adjacent to the rain forest, there were daily visits by a family of marmosets and all kinds of interesting birds. Breakfasts were a tasty mix of very fresh tropical fruits and baked goods. Everything was laid back and relaxed.

We would certainly recommend Um Meia Tres to our friends, and will likely stay there again if we are lucky enough to travel to Rio in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlon, Belgique
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at the Um Meia Tres with our children and can only confirm all those positive reviews and give an excellent voting to this outstanding B&B and their owners.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Um Meia Tres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Um Meia Tres

Address: Rua Aprazivel 163 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located high in Santa Teresa, Um Meia Tres is small and friendly with all the facilities of a modern hotel. Beautifully appointed en suite rooms, all with A/C, ceiling fans, free Wi-Fi, international cable TV, and in-room safe. A large salon with bar, flat screen TV and outdoor dining area and pool forms the central focus of the hotel where refreshments can be enjoyed 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Um Meia Tres Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Um Meia Tres Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Um Meia Tres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.