We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel at home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Um Meia Tres

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rio de Janeiro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Um Meia Tres
Save
You added Um Meia Tres to your Saves list
Rua Aprazivel 163 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241, Brazil (Santa Teresa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 250 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Feel at home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Bill and Sue are incredibly gracious and hospitable, they were fantastic at making us feel at home here. Get a cab there as you do not want to be hauling luggage up the hill, but be sure to take a map with the B&B pointed out. When we first arrived, Bill invited us to sit down for a cool beer and ran through all of the local tips on the sights, what to see and how to get there. Something guide books are not always up to date with! Our room was lovely, very spacious and modern and we wanted for nothing, including a brilliant view. The breakfasts were great and it was high entertainment watching the local monkey family being fed next to us (or occasionally offering them a bit of banana ourselves). There is a forest directly above and we struggled to see anywhere that could have a better view. Santa Teresa is so beautiful, safe and this place is only a short (very steep and cobbly) walk up from the buses that take you to Lapa and Central - not easy if someone has a disability or not moderately fit. A 10 minute walk to Bar Gomez which is a great mix of people, then only another 5 minutes to a decent dozen restaurants (or go to Aprazivel which is 20m from the B&B, super quality local fare but with a price tag to match - recommend the palm heart with pesto, and the goat for a main, delicious). We also stayed on Copacabana but on coming back to Rio, I would thoroughly recommend staying in Santa Teresa and staying with Bill and Sue above anything else we have seen or heard about.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
128
22
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I stayed here last November and had a wonderful experience. I felt as if I was staying with my long lost British Aunt and Uncle. I was traveling alone, so it was great to meet the other travelers at the B&B. The owners were always helpful and offering recommendations for things to see and do. The breakfast was delicious - fresh fruit, bread, and a constant stream of coffee (very important for me). The room itself was nice, but not luxurious. The bed was very firm.

I was in Rio for work, so there were a few flaws that wouldn't have bothered me if I was traveling on holiday. The Santa Teresa neighborhood is incredibly charming, but it's a bit out of the way when commuting to downtown. Also, the wifi was spotty in my room, so I often had to work in the lobby. Next time I travel to Rio for business I'd probably stay in a more standard hotel closer to downtown. All of this said, I had a lovely experience and would recommend it to anyone traveling for holiday or an adventurous business travel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Um Meia Tres can be warmly recommended. It's location is super, perched at the top of Santa Teresa with sweeping views of downtown Rio. Very comfortable room, and fantastically friendly service from the owners, including advice on where to go, how to get there and when to go. I would love to return!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012 via mobile

What a fantastic start to our trip in south America. The place is hard to find as off beaten track so ensure you get directions from bill before you arrive, but once you do...
Bill and Sue can't do enough for you. So helpful and friendly.
Our room was incredible. Great views, loads of space, very clean.
The pool is awesome, clean and overlooking the city and a welcome respite from the heat.
The breakfast was lovely, taken on the terrace in the sunshine.
The area of Santa Teresa is gorgeous. Hilly, cobbled streets that are quiet and tranquil. You have to take a taxi or walk anywhere at the moment as due to a fatal crash a couple of months ago the trams have been suspended.
Great location to visit Lapa (try to go on a Saturday night...local samba nights are very special) and elsewhere in the city.
Overall we would definitely go back and suggest anyone visiting rio gives this place a go...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

If you want to stay away from the crazy crowd of Rio, this is a nice choice. You can have breakfast with monkeys :) Bill is a great host. Still miss his coffee. But don't miss Rio at all.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

My partner Robert and I stayed at Bill and Sue's lovely B&B on our recent trip to Rio and could not have been more happy with our choice. The house is lovely, the views are amazing and we truly adored the pool overlooking the city. Santa Teresa is a charming area away from the hustle and typical touristy clutter. I suppose some may think the hike up the hill daunting, but we enjoyed it and walked almost exclusively day and night.
Sadly the trolley was no longer operating due to a fatal accident some months ago. But even Lapa is still an easily walkable distance.
I was happy that I had the opportunity to see the little monkeys too. Apparently they are less likely to visit in late summer as there is plenty of food available for them in the rainforest. But Bill was kind enough to supply me with their favorite overripe bananas, that tempted them to visit us.
Thank you Bill and Sue for your kind hospitality. Your home is lovely and we hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We arrived late at night as flight was delayed to warm welcome from Bill. Big relief and the hospitality only got better. Room spaciuos light and cool with wonderful views of Rio. Lots of running hot water and all spotlessly clean. Swimming pool in tropical garden and delicious breakfastson the patio. Highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Um Meia Tres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Um Meia Tres

Address: Rua Aprazivel 163 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located high in Santa Teresa, Um Meia Tres is small and friendly with all the facilities of a modern hotel. Beautifully appointed en suite rooms, all with A/C, ceiling fans, free Wi-Fi, international cable TV, and in-room safe. A large salon with bar, flat screen TV and outdoor dining area and pool forms the central focus of the hotel where refreshments can be enjoyed 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Um Meia Tres Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Um Meia Tres Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Um Meia Tres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.