We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual perspective of Rio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Almirante Alexandrino 660, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-260, Brazil (Santa Teresa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #5 of 212 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unusual perspective of Rio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The hotel is located in the hillside Santa Teresa district which is a charming and authentic neighbourhood, known for its bohemian spirit, very different from the other famous spots in Rio.
I’ve enjoyed the peculiarity of the district very much since it shows a completely diverse and unknown side of the city.

At the same time, the narrow, steep and winding streets of Santa Teresa make it very difficult to reach the hotel if travelling in your own car. We got lost several times following both the GPS and street signs. Fortunately the hotel features its own parking therefore once we arrived we managed to leave our car there for our whole stay in Rio.
Taxis are also an issue since drivers are reluctant to take you up Santa Teresa’s streets both for the short, cheap ride (it happened to us when we were in the Lapa district for example) and for the rough street maintenance. However, the hotel offers its own car service which we used several times and was directly charged in our room.

A part from the transportation issues, I believe the hotel is a nice alternative to the other boutique hotels located on the beaches. Compared to these, I think Santa Teresa is more particular from a decorative point of view, presenting a definitely french taste and african-like reminiscences and design.
Me and my boyfriend stayed for two nights in a master suite at the first floor. Our room was quite spacious, had a nice view, comfortable bed. I personally didn’t like the taste of the bathroom, found it a little bit cold. Loved the present on top of our bed at our arrival with two pairs of Ipanema flip-flops inside!

The outside pool and bar overlook the city and offer an incredible panorama, especially by night. In the morning we enjoyed our breakfasts sitting on an adorable table surrounded by orchids and placed in front of a big window looking out on Rio’s mountains and landscape.

Definitely recommend to anyone looking for a different taste of Rio.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantaTeresa, Gerente geral at Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Chiara,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We are very happy to know that you had an unforgettable time in our hotel and you liked the decor of our rooms.
Everything was chosen with great care for our guests.
We hope to see you soon for another unforgettable experience.

Best regards,

Mônica Paixão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    122
    46
    24
    13
See reviews for
47
342
37
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were so looking forward to this hotel in its "chic" location. Our room had a view- of another room so close we had to keep nasty metal shutters closed- not even a privacy curtain provided. First time we left hotel we were soon back to take off our watches and leave wallets behind..felt very uncomfortable...service by pool was terrible, especially as the hotel seemed empty...pool lounges so uncomfortable and difficult to get in and out of...the supposed great on site restaurant was OK, would never male a special trip to go there. Breakfast was lovely but super expensive...we were so happy we only had two nights there.

Room Tip: ask for one where you can actually open the shutters and not be looking directly at another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantaTeresa, Gerente geral at Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Matt,

Sorry for your experience was not as pleasant.
We never had problems in the Santa Teresa neighborhood and I think you got the wrong impression.
The Relais & Chateaux Hotel Santa Teresa has always good occupation and the fact that you feel it is empty only assures us that we keep our promises to our customers, tranquility.
We hope you come back to our hotel to enjoy and have a new and amazing experience.

Best regards,

Mônica Paixão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Santa Teresa in Rio de Janeiro for 4 nights, at the beginning of May 2014. The district is among the most authentic of the city, rich in carioca history and colors. The hotel is wonderful, elegant, decorated with a unique style. Our room, located at the first floor, was impeccable, with a delicious view over the city. The Tereze restaurant, where we had dinner, serves unique dishes, both for their refinement and quality. We highly recommend the delicious steak. The pool is a little oasis of peace. It has been a dream... Congratulations to the management. We will come back, one day ...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantaTeresa, Gerente geral at Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Mr. Paolo,

Thank you so much for share your experience.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed and relaxed in our hotel.
At the restaurant Térèze we served the best flavors from Brazil.

We hope to see you soon at Relais & Chateaux Santa Teresa Hotel.

Best regards,

Mônica Paixão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Just came back from World Cup in Rio.
I must say that even if the atmosphere in Rio was great my second stay at this Relais & Chateaux was "superbe"!
What was a good stay last year turned into a great one this July!
Perhaps the city and its "cariocas" helped a lot in this particular time but the staff and the service were superlative!
The Térèze Chef changed from a french to a argentinian (!) but the cuisine followed and improved!
My great obstacle to a perfect stay was the mess in the streets surrounding the hotel as the city mayor is struggling to leave Santa Teresa as a bad destination! Shame on you Mr Mayor, the Hotel Santa Teresa deserves better!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantaTeresa, Gerente geral at Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Mr. Danny,

Thank you for choose stay at Hotel Santa Teresa again.
Was an honor for us welcome you during the World Cup.
We were very happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations.

We hope to see you in your next trip to Rio de Janeiro.

Best regards,

Mônica Paixão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We went to hotel santa teressa on the last 3 nights of our trip in Brasil Salvador/iguacu/rio. We were amazed by the presidential suite offered to us.
This suite really amazed us we are use to five stars but the presidential suite was more like having your own apartment with a breathtaking view of rio.
We loved the craftsmanship they had in the suite for decoration from minha gerais.
The breakfast was delicious with a beautiful view of Rio.
The pool was just perfect for a lazy aftenoon.
The staff was very friendly especially Akio who looked after us during our all stay.

We will comeback soon : )

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantaTeresa, Gerente geral at Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience.
We are very happy to know that you liked the upgrade we gave you as a surprise and took our presidential suite.
We always do the best for our guests and our team was very happy to receive you.
We hope to see you soon in the Relais & Chateaux Santa Teresa.

Best regards,

Mônica Paixão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We heard how good the food was at this hotels restaurant so thought we would try it out whilst staying close by for the Football World cup. We where not disappointed. In fact, we returned the next day for breakfast. The ambiance and location are very special.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantaTeresa, Gerente geral at Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Mr. Gateway,

Thank you so much for your feedback.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our restaurant.

We hope to see you again at our Hotel and restaurant.

Best regards,

Mônica Paixão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILANO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

A great hotel, located in the charming and fashionable top-hill district of Santa Teresa.
The view from the outdoor dinner terrace is absolutely superb.
Can't think of any other places to stay in Rio...

Room Tip: The best room of all is the penthouse suite, listed among the best 100 suites in the world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantaTeresa, Gerente geral at Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
For us it was a great pleasure to welcome you and we are very happy to know that enjoyed your time at our hotel and santa teresa.

We hope to see you in your next coming to Rio de Janeiro.

Best regards,

Mônica Paixão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux

Address: Rua Almirante Alexandrino 660, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-260, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#4 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#24 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Teresa, new 5 star boutique hotel spa and the only Relais & Chateaux of the city, is a former colonial ranch located in the heart of the historic district of Rio de Janeiro. The Hotel features the best views of the city, the harbor and the famous bay of Rio. Decoration tropical ethic design was inspired by the African Indigenous roots of the North and East of Brazil, by the great times of coffee and sugarcane. The burnt cement, the lime stones, the golden slates, the tropical woods and the banana tree fibers are being mixed with the contemporary design of artists Sergio Rodrigues, Zemog or Oficina de Agosto. In the hotel's tropical gardens, the 25-meter long polish green slate swimming pool offers unique panoramic views over Rio de Janeiro. With a natural yet luxurious and unique environment, the Spa features beauty and corporal relaxation treatments of the Amazonian brand of Natura. For the gastronomes, the restaurant Térèze, with an industrial wood, linen and steel design is frequented by the high society of Cariocas and offers the best of French cuisine with a Brazilian flair, created by our Chef Damien Montecer. Hotel is close to all attractions such as Christ redeemer Corcovado, Lapa Nightlife, Sugar Loaf, historic center, museums and famous beach of Copacabana. Not to be missed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais And Chateaux
Santa Teresa Hotel
Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.