We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy location, great pool bar and garden but needs work” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux

Save Saved
You added Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Almirante Alexandrino 660, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-260, Brazil (Santa Teresa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 210 hotels in Rio de Janeiro
London, UK
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Trendy location, great pool bar and garden but needs work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here for the first 3 nights of our 2 week stay in Brazil. We arrived quite late on our first night and was a bit sceptical about the area but had a walk down to the bars and restaurants on our second night and much preferred the area to Copacabana and Ipanema which feels a bit dated.

The pool was very nice and a popular hangout spot - the cocktails were really good too, but the most expensive we had in Brazil by far. The food was also very good around the pool, especially if you're after something other than typical Brazilian fare. The onion rings were the best I've ever had. We did also have dinner in the restaurant one night which was the best meal we had for our entire stay. Breakfast is also very good but not included and too expensive for what it is. Staff overall were friendly and helpful.

The rooms are quite basic comparing it to other hotels in the same price range (and less) that we have stayed in in other countries, but it seems that it's standard in Brazil. One negative is that our bathroom was really in a dire condition (room 23) and needs to refurbished - the water floods everywhere when you have a shower and has gone under the tiles so when you step on them they move with a squidgy sound of the water below. I would also never take a bath in the condition that the bath was in.

Finally, we stayed over a weekend and there was quite a lot of noise as the hotel is a popular spot for events, we had to use earplugs on our second night to try and drown out the music from a wedding which went on until the early hours. So if you're looking for a quiet stay maybe not the first choice.

Overall, it's difficult to give it a 4 out of 5 as I really do feel it's very overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    343
    116
    43
    24
    12
See reviews for
46
326
34
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Only stayed here for 24 hours but I was highly impressed with the Hotel Santa Teresa. A cool classy boutique hotel that sits unassumingly atop of the hill in Santa Teresa. Very fitting with the more bohemian feel to this part of town than say Ipanema it is a much calmer experience than staying at the also good but slightly too flashy Fasano. 

Perusing the boutiques and kicking back at a Santa Teresa bar/restaurant listening to live music is a great experience on a Saturday afternoon as the streets come alive with locals. It is then only a short taxi ride down the hill to Lapa for the evening's entertainment.

It's about a 30 minute drive to the famous beaches of the city and for a first visit I would still recommend staying initially in the Ipanema/Leblon area. But if you've already done this and have a spare weekend then the Hotel Santa Teresa is a very cool alternative. 

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSTGM, Gerente geral at Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable review of our Relais & Châteaux Santa Teresa Hotel. We are glad you chose Hotel Santa Teresa for your stay.
Indeed Santa Teresa is a beautiful and unique neighbourhood that`s one of the reason why this Hotel is so special.

We hope to welcome you back at our Hotel Santa Teresa soon.

Kindest Regards,

Monica Paixão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

As is the case with those facilities in this chain that we've seen they are wonderful but very expensive. We enjoyed out 3 days. The staff was wonderful and helpful in many way. The rooms were a lot smaller than I would have guessed for the price and location. The hotel is on a hillside quite a ways from anything else and cabs aren't terribly easy to come by. If I went back, I'd look for something downtown or on one of the beaches, but one could never go wrong at Santa Teresa.

Room Tip: Ask for a a room with a veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSTGM, Gerente geral at Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your delightful review of the Relais & Châteaux Santa Teresa Hotel. Your feedback will make it easier to give a first impression of the Hotel to travelers all around the world.

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay that much and hopefully, looking forward to welcoming you back one day.

Best wishes,

Monica Paixão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We've just stayed at this hotel for one night, trying to escape from Copacabana and Ipanema's hassle. The neighborhood is really interesting and worth strolling around.
We arrived in the hotel at 1:30 pm and were told our room would be ready in about 20 mins. We were asked to wait by the pool, just showing us in which direction it was. That was all the visit we got of the hotel. We had to wait for one hour and a half, during which we received no apologies nor invitation to have a drink or some appetizer to make our wait less boring. Nt even they offred us water. All we were said was check-in time was 3 pm and we had to wait.
Once our room was ready, we were shown into it. The room is really nice, and has that colonial look you would expect from a hotel like this one. However, the amenities were incomplete, and we had to ask for slippers and for bath foam, which should have been there as the bell-man, said, but were not. Bath amenities are very limited for what you expect at a 5 star hotel. Also, the bath towels are not of the quality you would expect.
One of the big problems with the hotel is the noise. When we went to sleep at night, the volume of the music in the hotel bar was so high, we couldn't sleep, and after a while had to all reception to complain. They did turn it down, but you cold still listen the music from the room. Then, at 6 am planes start taking-off from the close by airport, every 5 minutes or so, awaking you. The noise is horrible. In addition, there are no shutters, only blinds that do not close properly, o there's a lot of light coming in. If you want to sleep, this is not the hotel for you. At least not until they install double glazing and shutters in the windows.
Breakfast is really good, with not a wide variety of products, but all of them really good, and home-made bakery within the best I've ever tasted. Free wi-fi is also a good detail.
In summary, this can become a wonderful hotel, but still many details to improve. By the way, they could start asking the man guarding the front door at night to greet customers when they arrive. He doesn't even reply when you greet him.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSTGM, General Manager at Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback of Relais & Chateaux Hotel Santa Teresa. Readers of tripadvisor will appreciate it.
We deeply apologize for the inconveniences you experienced at your arrival. The normal check-in time is 15.00 o´clock. But it should have been advised to you in the right way. And normally we always offer a welcome drink. Probably there was a misunderstanding in the communication. We are really sorry.

Regarding the noise of the bar. Probably it was a Friday or a Saturday you were staying with us and occasionally we have special events there but we are currently working on installing an insulation at the Bar dos Descasados. So we can satisfy all our guests.

But we still hope you enjoyed the Hotel Santa Teresa because it offers peace-of-mind and safety to all guests with tropical gardens, panoramic pools, complete Natura SPA, a lounge bar classified as the most romantic in Rio de Janeiro and Térèze Restaurant with Franco-Brazilian gastronomy by Chef Damien Montecer. And indeed at whole Hotel Santa Teresa you are able to connect to wireless internet.

Once again thank you so much for your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel Santa Teresa soon.

Kindest Regards,
Monica Paixão
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed here on various occasions when I was on business in Rio de Janeiro. The hotel is really excelent and its location is very convenient if you have meetings in Rio business centre as you avoid traffic from the other business hotels located in Copacabana or Leblon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSTGM, General Manager at Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your valuable review of Relais & Châteaux Santa Teresa Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Truly Santa Teresa is close to the center of Rio de Janeiro where all the business centers are located. At the same time Santa Teresa is a getaway from the city, which offers beautiful panoramic views and peacefulness.
Once again thank you for your positive feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon at Hotel Santa Teresa.

Kindest regards,
Monica Paixão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great hotel Relais & Chateau speaks for itself. The frontdesk attendants are very helpful and they gave us very good tips about where to go and to see.
The breakky - despite there no was much variety, the quality is very good. The pool's bartender deserves a special regards.
Large and very comfy room

Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSTGM, General Manager at Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear guest,

We thank you for leaving on tripadvisor such a delightful and valuable review of our Relais & Chateaux Santa Teresa Hotel. Our staff and management is known for dedication to outstanding gastronomy and hospitality service of the highest standards. We are glad you enjoyed it. Especially our pool bartender will be very happy about your kind words.

Indeed our rooms are quite spacious and comfortable which was our intention when they were created.
We really hope to welcome you back at the Hotel Santa Teresa soon.

Kindest Regards,

Monica Paixão
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Rio is more than beaches and for a truly unique and amazing eerience, stay or at least eat here! Downside, no elevators and not much retail in the area. Upside, beautiful rooms, 15 minutes to downtown or Copacabana or Ipanema. Great pool, amazing spa, transformative and authentic!

Room Tip: The patios in the lower floor have hammocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSTGM, General Manager at Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your valuable review of the Relais & Chateaux Santa Teresa Hotel. Travelers on tripadvisor will appreciate your feedback.

Hotel Santa Teresa is a Boutique Design Hotel which tries to be different to other Hotels so the guest will receive an unique and individual experience.
The Hotel does not offer elevators because we want to keep the charm of the authentic house ambience. But we apologize for any inconvenience you had at your stay.
And we looking forward to welcoming you back at your next stay in Hotel Santa Teresa.

Kindest Regards,
Monica Paixão
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux

Address: Rua Almirante Alexandrino 660, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-260, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#4 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#19 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Teresa, new 5 star boutique hotel spa and the only Relais & Chateaux of the city, is a former colonial ranch located in the heart of the historic district of Rio de Janeiro. The Hotel features the best views of the city, the harbor and the famous bay of Rio. Decoration tropical ethic design was inspired by the African Indigenous roots of the North and East of Brazil, by the great times of coffee and sugarcane. The burnt cement, the lime stones, the golden slates, the tropical woods and the banana tree fibers are being mixed with the contemporary design of artists Sergio Rodrigues, Zemog or Oficina de Agosto. In the hotel's tropical gardens, the 25-meter long polish green slate swimming pool offers unique panoramic views over Rio de Janeiro. With a natural yet luxurious and unique environment, the Spa features beauty and corporal relaxation treatments of the Amazonian brand of Natura. For the gastronomes, the restaurant Térèze, with an industrial wood, linen and steel design is frequented by the high society of Cariocas and offers the best of French cuisine with a Brazilian flair, created by our Chef Damien Montecer. Hotel is close to all attractions such as Christ redeemer Corcovado, Lapa Nightlife, Sugar Loaf, historic center, museums and famous beach of Copacabana. Not to be missed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais And Chateaux
Santa Teresa Hotel
Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Teresa - Relais & Chateaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.