We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Cup Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo Rio Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bamboo Rio Hostel to your Saves list
Bamboo Rio Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   45 Rua Lacerda Countinho, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 0, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Muelheim an der Ruhr, Germany
1 review
“World Cup Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The hostel is good. Especially the staff I liked a lot. The attention was the best. I eminently like to thank pretty Paloma in the bar; Cecilia, Hernand and Matias in the reception; Nicolas in the kitchen and Adenilza for the breakfast. Also thank you to the ladies of the cleaning; you did a hard job very well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BambooRioH, Bookings manager at Bamboo Rio Hostel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your comments Tom. Hope we could host you again, we try to improve from day to day to satisfy our guests and make them enjoy their stay with us. It was a plesaure hosting you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    62
    29
    19
    15
See reviews for
7
29
54
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed in this hostel for 7 days during the start of the world cup with 2 friends (21). Really enjoyed our stay because of the great location , great people and great bar!!

-Really fast WIFI all over the whole property
- GOOD showers with fast pressure and toilets with constant cleaning
- Organised staff who are warm and welcoming with great information about what to do , where to party ect.
- Rooms are clean and comfortable with good air conditioning.
- CECILIA AND PALOMA ARE LINDAS

This was my favourite hostel throughout my whole South America travels it is absolutely amazing and can't wait to go back next year :)

Room Tip: Upstairs 6 bedroom dorm!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernants, Front Office Manager at Bamboo Rio Hostel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Travelmako we are glad you loved our hostel. We work hard for that, and to make you all wish to come back. So come back, we will be waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Good location near Copacabana beach and not too far from Ipanema. The food is great and the beers are priced good compared to the area but hostel needs improvement on their bathrooms. They only turn on the AC at night so the days are pretty hot in the rooms. The staff is pretty cool especially Paloma and Cecilia.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We were just looking for a place to sleep and maybe to eat something, we were already planing our return when we find this beautiful place. It was something really impressive, at first when we meet all the people Marlon, Alejo, Hernan, Carla, Siley, Bahiana, Cecilia, Marcela and Paloma with her advices for taking such a nice Caipirinhas, it was one of the few moments on the trip when I felt at home, with friends, I believe it's something you just can't put a price on. I recommend it strongly.

Room Tip: Let the workers advice you :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

best hostel in Rio!
We stayed with 20 people from with an University Trip and the staff was always nice, friendly and helpful, the hostel is clean, cheap and cosy. The position is great, in 10 minutes you are on Copacabana beach and Ipanema is just around the corner with bus or taxi.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Actually, we accidentally bumped into Bamboo Rio Hostel after we left our former hostel, which was too dirty (no names!). It turned out to be the best choice we could have made! For 10 days, we inhabited Bamboo Rio Hostel with a group of 20 students from Holland and enjoyed it to the max. It's location in the Copacabana area, near all the beaches and the Avenida Nossa Senhora de Copacabana shopping street is perfect, and the metro station nearby makes it easy to reach any part of Rio you want. The hostel itself has a variety of rooms for up to 12 people, nice (separate) showers and bathrooms, a tv-room and kitchen and a nice bar, where we spent most of our time. Breakfast is served each day with some fresh fruits and the amazing (mostly Argentinian) hostel staff is happy to help you with anything you need: be it finding your way to some tourist attraction, accompanying you to a football match in Maracana stadium or finding a good party to go to. If you are lucky, they might even join you to this party... :)
So, no hesitation. Bamboo is a place you really should be staying at!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellevoetsluis, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Good and clean hostel. Facilities are good. Nice accommodation to relax or cook. Furthermore the staff speaks well english, not very common in hostels over here. Down point is the breakfast (not so good) and the rooms are small given the number of people in it. But in the end a very good hostel worth the price.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bamboo Rio Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Rio Hostel

Address: 45 Rua Lacerda Countinho, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 0, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 468 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bamboo Rio Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O Bamboo Rio Hostel, com 7 anos de estrada, podemos dizer que conhecemos cada vez melhor os nossos hospedes e nao mediremos esforcos para tornar sua estadia conosco simplesmente inesquecivel! Nossa equipe e o nosso diferencial: muito cordial e amigavel, esta sempre as ordens para ajuda-lo no que for preciso. Nossa localizacao nao podia ser melhor. Em Copacabana, a apenas 3 quadras da praia mais famosa da cidade e cercado por bares e areas de interesse dos mochileiros. Nossa casa fica no pe de uma montanha, numa rua tranquila e com seguranca 24h por dia. Desta forma, unimos toda a comodidade e agitacao de uma grande metropole, a tranquilidade e seguranca de nossa casa, com uma incrivel vista para a floresta. Oferecemos tudo que voce pode esperar de um albergue de primeira classe. Todos os nossos quartos sao bem cuidados e tem ar-condicionado, alem de possuirmos uma grande oferta de quartos de casal. Tambem contamos com piscina, cozinha totalmente equipada, churrasqueira, o nosso autentico Boom Bar e ainda o imperdivel Mountain Lounge, colado a floresta que cerca nossa casa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bamboo Rio Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Rio Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo Rio Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.