We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must go in Rio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aconchego Carioca

Aconchego Carioca
Rua Barao de Iguatemi, 379 | Praça da Bandeira, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
(0055) (21) 2273-1035
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #195 of 8,679 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Cuisines: Brazilian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Juiz de Fora, Brazil
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must go in Rio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

If you want to try authentic Carioca food in authentic Carioca environment, you must visit Aconchego Carioca in Tijuca. Try the bolinho de feijoada (feijoada dumpling) and the pork ribs with guava sauce. It's the best in Rio.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    119
    23
    7
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Unpretentious and proper Brazilian kitchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Nice little find this. They do basic but interesting things with Brazilian staples, especially feijao, have great pastel de camerao and interesting beer menu and 5 star caipirinhas. It's located in the centre in a little exciting area, but was worth the trek. Much better than the average tourist traps that purport to serve Brazilian food in the zona sul. (But beaten by Mocoto in Sao Paulo)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Almost a good restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

For years I have been heard about this place, but only now had the opportunity to be there. It became famous because of the "bolinho feijoada" , which is good , but I wonder if the fame of the restaurant is justified by their cause . There are other delicious snacks such as "bolinho de arroz vermelho" and a priceless " jiló no balsamico". We order "baião de dois com carne-de-sol" and "bobó de camarão". Both were delicious, despite the fact that the beans in the "baião" was not the traditionl "feijão-de-corda". The "carne-de-sol" was perfect. The site carries good beers, including good domestic beers. We also had desserts, which were great, especially the tapioca pudding with "cachaça" sauce and a delicious "almofadinha de tapioca". The waiters were friendly, but could be better prepared to assist the client in their choices. Therefore, the place has almost everything to be a nice restaurant, if it wasn't the lack of education of the manager. We were a large group so we had to wait about an hour for a table. First, this manager told us to look for another restaurant, even pointing to the one in front. We were in a hallway that leads to the restaurant. In spite of the scorching 13h-sun outside, the manager insisted with us to wait outside, because we were disrupting the passage. Strange was the fact that there is a nice area with several tables and chairs, that could have been made available so that customers could wait for a table comfortably. Several times the manager talked to us with an unpleasant manners. He did not seem to be a good businessman who depends on clients to succeed. He treated us like a group of people who were repeatedly subjecting him to an embarrassing situation ... It was incredible! Unfortunately, as he was the manager himself, there was no one else to complain ...

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Vaery good restaurant/great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

You will have great food, fantastic environment but go with time to spend... Urgency is not the mood and you wait to be served. Expensive. But tasteful and different menu. Try "camarão na moranga" that is shrimp in a pumpkin. Several different and expensive beers available. Close to Maracana Stadium.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Not recomend to anyone !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

To expensive, unfrendly and arrogant servisse. My opinion is not changed about this place, I work in turism and one of my clientes have being there after I say that I dont like, he coming back very upset and told me he agree and undesrtood why I did not recomend. The other reviews I read recently give me the inpression that they do not worry about clientes, am less you are some TV actor or celebrity. No worries, the city has so much better places, better located with better food and with nice service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aconchego Carioca also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Aconchego Carioca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aconchego Carioca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.