We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Excelsior - Excellence & Value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Excelsior Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Excelsior Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 1800 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lisle, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Excelsior - Excellence & Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

The Excelsior is wonderful vaue for the price. Location is superb facing the beach. This is a convenient, clean, comfortable hotel. The included breakfast is excellent in terms of quality & selection for Americans & Europeans. The rooftop is great. The pool is a bit small but fine. The bar is excellent & the view is phenomenal. Hard to beat relaxing with a drink in the evening, watching the ocean to the front & Corcovado looking back to the right. Lots of good restaurants nearby, The Trattoria & Maxim's are right across the street & are excellent. The best part of the hotel is the staff. We had a lot of trouble with our booking agency (Tourico - beware of them!) who failed to make our reservation among other things. The hotel gave us a good room & dealt with our booking agent problem which took all week to resolve. I can't think of a single negative thing to say about our 7 day stay. Will stay there again for sure. Shopping of all sorts is one block away with several banks with 24/7 ATMs although on Saturday & Sunday we could only get Mastercard to work but M-F Visa & Amex worked fine. Lots of police presence & we felt totally safe throughout our stay. Great hotel - you'll love it.

  • Liked — Staff & facilty
  • Disliked — No negatives - really
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    352
    123
    32
    16
See reviews for
147
244
51
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

This hotel is a great hotel right on Copacabana beach, we booked a superior room and were not dissapointed when we arrived, our room had great views of the beach etc.

Roop top pool was great, food and drink very cheap compared to the UK, service was great and the breakfast was especially good, we loved the pancakes and the coffee was excellent, what you'de expect from SA. The staff were very helpful and friendly, spoke perfect English too, all in all we would stay at this hotel again. Rio was brilliant................ we had a dream holiday. Loved the city!

  • Liked — Roof top pool
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2008

Couldn't ask for a better location, the beach was a matter of metres away, looking out from our room across the main road straight onto the beach.
A lovely 4 star, extremely well kept and clean. Helpful staff and tourists receive the complimentary token of Rio from the H.Stern Jewellers, a nice little surprise.
And the icing on the cake were the chocolates and sweet dreams notes left on your pillow each night.
A real treat at the end of a month long tour of South America. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Fantastic Location, opposite the sea, but if you wanted privacy there was a rooftop pool.
  • Disliked — Leaving!!!
  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

As part of an Archers South American tour we stayed at this hotel for 2 days. It lives up to its 5 star billing, excellent location and a truly magnificent restaurant.

  • Liked — QUALITY RESTAURANT
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

Good overall value and excellent location for this rather pretty Copacabana hotel. Rooms are rather comfortable, business service above average, breakfast more than ok, lovely roof-top terrace, etc. Yet, the hotel comes with some obvious problems, some of which are noise if you are given a low-rise room, constantly busy breakfast room (many large groups), rather impersonal service, and a general lack of tourist information. As I travel to Brazil rather often, I don't think I would go back to the Excelsior, though I would not necessarily mind doing so....

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

Everything about this hotel is just great: location, breakfast (!), friendly staff, clearness, free beach chairs. The best rates that I found were offered by Expedia. If you plan to use internet, it can be costly – either $32 per day or 20 cents per minute. One warning: by no means use tours or other activities recommended by the hotel – you will end up paying about 20% more than you should.

The following has nothing to do with the hotel but I will mention it since I am writing about Rio experience. Fodor’s recommends Gray Line as an excellent tour service. Do not go for it – it is just terrible. I know nothing about other tour companies but I am sure that I will not use Gray Line ever again. We booked 8 hour ($115 per person) tour. We practically did not hear any useful information about the city (just some common knowledge generalities). Most of the time, the bus was running back and forth picking up and dropping off participants. The whole tour should have taken not more than 4 hours.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No free internet
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

We stayed in Four hotels in Rio during our visit and this by far was the best. The rooms are nothing special, but were extremely clean and great location. The hotel provided complimentary beach chairs, umberellas and towels. This area of Copacobana is one of the safer areas. The staff were fairly nice and the price was not bad either.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Slow internet service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Excelsior Hotel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 1800 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#18 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#34 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Excelsior Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Windsor Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Excelsior
Windsor Excelsior Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Excelsior Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.