We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position and excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Excelsior Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Excelsior Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 1800 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 236 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great position and excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Windsor Excelsior. The hotel is well situated on Copacabana Beach with a small rooftop swimming pool with lovely views. The service especially at Reception was excellent. The staff are knowledgeable and were very helpful and friendly. The buffet breakfast was superb with something for everyone. The only problem with the hotel is the wifi. It can be purchased on a daily basis but doesn't work very well and keeps cutting out

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very glad with your comments. They will certainly make our staff very happy.

We pool forward to host you in Rio again during your next visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    396
    130
    35
    18
See reviews for
173
268
54
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeport, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Booked this hotel a week before flying to Rio for the World Cup. Not sure what to expect, but couldn't have been any happier. Great staff, amazing views from rooftop pool. Food was ok but we weren't staying for the food. Had a room overlooking Fan Fest and beach. Room was clean and shower rocked. Beds were fine, could have been a little better, but what can you do. I'll def come back and stay here. Nice job Windsor, thanks!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the city, the world cup and our stay with us.

We look forward to host you again during your next visit to Rio.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The rooftop pool overlooking the beach makes this good hotel - fantastic. Stunning views. If you can afford it stay here. The room was comfortable but not alot more - we had a partial sea view. We didnt eat here (other than breakfast) but Brazil is not a food paradise anyway. The hotel is a good one in a fantastic location. I would return. Breakfast was not that great and the service was not great either.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Mr. Michael,

Thank you for your comments. We hope you stay with us again during your next visit to RIo.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I liked this hotel. I spent two nights here during the World Cup, before moving on to Winsor Atlantica. The Excelsior is less fancy than the Atlantica, but still a fine place to stay. The rooms are relatively large, well apponted if not super luxurious, the breakfast buffet is phenomenal, and the front desk staff were helpful throughout the crazy crowds. Yes, the room rate was extortionate during the World Cup, but it was hard to get around that.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for having stayed at the Windsor Excelsior. We appreciate your detailed comments and are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay.

We hope you stay again with us duriing your next visit to Rio.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel, fantastic location, delicious breakfast, friendly helpful staff. We had a room up high that had a view in one direction of the beach and in the other of the mountains, could even leave the window open at night and listen to the waves, fantastic. That is, until our flight was cancelled and we were required to catch an earlier one.....this involved getting up @ 3.45am, ready for a 4.30 breakfast and then off to the airport. Breakfast consisted of us being provided with some coffee (that we had to help ourselves to) a banana and a packet of dry crackers....appalling. The attitude of the staff member who had obviously "drawn the short straw" and had to get up early to "feed the monkeys" was terrible. This unfortunately put a dampener on our stay @ this hotel which we would have otherwise recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your comments and for having stayed at our hotel.
With regard to breakfast, please accept our apologies. While we regret to know that you were not satisfied, we would like to explain that breakfast begins to be served after 06 a.m. Therefore, we served you breakfast so early in the morning - albeit it was a restricted breakfast - with the purpose of demonstrating that we care about our guests. At such an early hour in the morning, bread is usually not available and other items served at breakfast are still being prepared.
In any event, we thank you again for your preference and hope to have another opportunity to host you at our hotel.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We just stayed at this hotel for 3 nights booked through FIFA accommodation for 4 nights during the 2014 World cup. Staying at other hotels booked through FIFA both in 2010 and now 2014 World Cups, we thought it would be a good choice though quite pricier than others but it is in Rio afterall, We had reserved 3 single beds for 3 persons through FIFA with each person name shown on the reservation but the hotel still charged us 25% more for an extra person. We did not get any reasonable response from the hotel and have to follow up with FIFA. Also it seems this hotel is stuck in the 1960s or earlier era. It feels old but not "old style" with many equipment showing their age. the hotel badly needs an upgrade.
Pros: location is great next to Rue Atlántico near all the Copacabana beach activities
Hotel restaurant has great breakfast with friendly and professional staff
Front desk staff and door bell, etc speak fluent English
Cons: Our Superior room had a bare view off the ocean if you really wanted to lean by the window. Standard rooms with no view may be better, cheaper, with less street noise.
Internet is quite slow and spotty, worse they charge per device...it adds up quickly if you are using different devices
Hotel taxis cost almost twice the regular yellow taxis.
The room we stayed was quite plain, very basic, and old looking to our surprise. Certainly not a 5 star hotel.
The bed mattress was not comfortable as it seemed too old. We asked for replacement beds but the quality did not seem much of the improvements.
It seems the staff try to charge you as much as they can with a min. of good service
The hotel did not meet our the least expectation and decided to check out one day early. Will not return to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you have to stay at this hotel, ask for a room at the back for much less street noise No laundry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Sir:
Thank you for your comments and for your preference.
While I understand that you are not satisfied with the 25% charge for the third guest, I would like to explain that FIFA had no fixed rates for triple rooms and your voucher indicated that you had a reservation for a double room. Therefore, the hotel has correctly charged for the third guest.
Should you require any additional information, please let me know.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

amazing location right in centre of copacabana beach, great rooftop view and amazing breakfasts with very friendly waiters. rooms are okay, worth paying extra for partial seaview. shockingly bad wifi though, wouldnt use this hotel for work again but would for holidays

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again during your next visit to Rio.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#18 of 236 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 594 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#27 of 236 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#10 of 236 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Golden Tulip Regente
Golden Tulip Regente
#28 of 236 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 772 reviews
Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel
#34 of 236 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 725 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#4 of 236 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Excelsior Hotel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 1800 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#20 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#22 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#26 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Excelsior Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Windsor Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Excelsior
Windsor Excelsior Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Excelsior Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.