We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Excelsior Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Excelsior Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 1800 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is across the street from Copacabana beach. The view from the rooftop pool and bar is outstanding both during the day and the night. My room had two beds which felt a bit crowded. The breakfast was excellent and the staff was very friendly. My only complaint is the internet. It is expensive and I had a very hard time logging on and staying on. It is not worth the purchase. There are many restaurants and shops within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    352
    123
    32
    16
See reviews for
147
244
51
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campinas, São Paulo, Brazil
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Good price for a hotel in Copacabana, in front of the beach. However, my room had really bad cigarette smell (and it was non-smoking!). I had 2 beds in the room, soooooooo small I almost didn´t fit.
Really good breakfast, good variety.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is located on Copacabana beach, nextdoor to Copacabana Palace.
The quality of the hotel, service, room is very good. There is a small pool on the roof with a view over Copacabana in front, corcovado in the back and Pão de Açucar on the left...very nice.
The breakfast is just perfect with a large choice of fresh fruits, pastry, cooked meals... I didn't try the restaurant in the hotel as the choice of restaurants around is quite large. I enjoyed my stay there very much

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I spent several nights at this hotel while on business however the location was great! It is right on the Atlantica Avenue overlooking Copacabana beach. They have an area on the beach just for their guests and all the kiosks on the beach were within reach with great service. The morning breakfast had great variety and great service. The rooms were a bit small and the windows don't have the best views but why look out the window when you can just go up to the rooftop pool and enjoy the breathtaking view.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Old Smelly furniture.
Do not respect customer.
Expensive
Poor quality breakfast

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Had 24 hours in Rio before returning home and ended up in the Windsor Excelsior.

The Hotel is positioned perfectly, in my opinion, to sample the best of Rio.
Its right on the Atlantica Avenue overlooking Copacabana, the Main Entrance is on a side Street but this means the Breakfast / Resteraunt ovelooks the glorious Beach.
I had a Corner Room on the Top Floor which overlooked the entire Beach where you can watch the Football Games, Volleyball, Surfing, and what ever else is going on down there.
Nearby are Markets and behind is a decent Shopping Avenue with some meduim sized Malls.
At night there are plenty of Bars, Clubs, & Resteruants to keep you occupied.

The Hotel amenities (Lobby, Gym, Pool, etc) are small but clean and tastefully finished and the Staff are very attentative and speak very good English.
The Pool on the roof has even more spectacular view where you can get an almost 360deg view with the Christ Statue overlooking the City behind.

My Room was of decent size and clean, only downside was not complimentary Water or WiFi.
The Breakfast was the best in Rio bar none (not just the view), and the Avocado Smoothie was Amazing!!

If i go back to Rio for business or pleasure i'd have no hesitation stayng back at the Windsor.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room for the view as high as possible to keep the traffic noise down
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spend one night at the Windsor Excelsior after a conference in another hotel south of the city. Location is good, and I liked the room and general environment. One night thing is the rooftop pool area which has a bar and a little food service, and turned out to be a quiet oasis from the bustling urban beach scene. One thing left a bad taste at the end. I had check my bags for a bit and when I was leaving the bellhop tried to get me to take a car he wanted me to take to the airport rather than a cab. He told me it was the same price, but it was actually almost twice as expensive as a cabfare (confirmed since I took the cab instead). I know this is a common ruse, but sort of spoiled the last of my stay. dishonest, outright.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Excelsior Hotel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 1800 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#18 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#34 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Excelsior Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Windsor Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Excelsior
Windsor Excelsior Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Excelsior Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.