We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLEASURABLE STAY, AGAIN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Excelsior Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Excelsior Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 1800 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Albany, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“PLEASURABLE STAY, AGAIN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

A most pleasurable stay once again. Having stayed here before we knew the service would be excellent,- the breakfast and dinner buffet are beautifully presented and delicious. Try the amazing breakfast fruit drinks, - everything fresh, foods carefully prepared and attentively replenished. Rooms are welcoming, simple and classic. (Nice towels, granite shower, very clean) The rooftop offers a great view of Copacabana Beach, Christ statue, and a sweet space to enjoy either the pool, or cocktails. Also a wonderful spot to see the sunset. Location to beach -very convenient, and great to have a beach chair, umbrella and towel available in a safer beach area. We will return again as it feels very comfortable, safe and welcoming.

Room Tip: If they are very busy and offer you a small room, be patient and ask to wait for a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    355
    123
    32
    16
See reviews for
148
245
51
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, RS
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

First of all, great location, not more than 15 minutes from city airport Santos Dumont, in front of Copacabana beach, just 300 meters from famous 5 star Hotel Copacabana Palace. If doing business in central Rio, this Hotel is a good alternative. Friendly front desk staff, clean room, very good wireless Internet and a splendid breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed 5 nights at the Windsor Excelsior in Rio and couldn't fault the hotel. Room was aedequte standard room. The service were good - despite the usual problem of most staff not speaking any English (which we don't mind - it just adds to the fun!).
The view from the roof terrace is amazing - Christ statue and the beach. Pool on roof very small but not a problem - just go to the beach! It was lovely to sit on the roof terrace at night sipping drinks.
There is always a staff member on duty in an area of the fabulous Copacabana Beach just across from the hotel - they provide parasols, sunbeds and towels.
Overall the hotel was great value - amazing location.
THE BREAKFASTS ARE THE VERY BEST WE HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED!! WOW!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Due to an unasked upgrade, given by the front desk, I spent a night in the De Luxe Room, in which you have the best in-room view of the Atlantica avenue, since you have frontal AND lateral view of the beach. It’s the second time It happened to me in Windsor hotels, so I guress they choose guests randomly when rooms are available. In the room, a lot of space, dated furniture, a gorgeous bed, coffee maker, etc.; in the outdated bathroom, jacuzzi, bathrobe, a full set of twelve different amenities. The breakfast was superb: six different tropical fresh fruits, a full variety of breads, soup, nuggets, chocolate wafer, etc. In the rooftop, you also have a nice view of the beach and of the Christ the Redeemer, with a small pool and bar. The hotel also has concierge and allows you to use a beach kit including a parasol and towels.
Staff very courteous and friendly (but they charge for it: watch out for a partially-hidden 10% “service fee”).You have everything you need walking a couple of blocks, from supermarkets to restaurants to a subway station. The hotel offers a free transfer service to the airport (but not from the airport).
Not a perfect place to stay (way too expensive, some noise, gloomy hallways, bad lighting in the bathroom, pricey internet, etc.), but you can't look to this hotel in a bad mood - not after receiving a upgrade to THAT room, after THAT breakfast and THAT carioca smile.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Copacabana does not have the same elegance of bygone times apart from the beach itself but the hotels are still very expensive. If you wish to be located there and have a good bank balance then the Windsor Excelsior is a good choice. Located almost beside the prestigious Copacabana Palace the hotel is well designed and the rooms are small but well appointed and clean. It has a newly decorated feel and the breakfast buffet is excellent. The rooftop pool and bar has a magnificent view over all of Copacabana. They also have a free shuttle to the airport which is convenient. In summary, excellent value in an area where value is hard to find.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

While the location and facilities in this hotel are good and the breakfast selection is great, I had money stolen from the in-room safe during my stay.

Unfortunately I was at my hotel in Iguazu Falls before I realised the money was missing and although I have sent an e-mail to the hotel asking for them to investigate the theft I have not received a response.

Overall a disappointing stay and memory of Rio.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I think this hotel met my expectations which were somewhere that was well located on Copacabana and was clean and comfortable. Somewhere very much a base for exploring rather than spending time in.

The rooms - facing the side - were very dark but apart from that (and misjudging the rather fierce air conditioning) were absolutely fine. I think that another time I would try and get a sea view room at the front.

The roof top swimming pool area is nice although we didn't swim as it was rather cold in the evening when we returned but do go up there for the views and an early evening drink. You can see the whole of Copacabana and across to both Sugar Loaf and Christ the Redeemer - fantastic.

The only food we had was breakfast which was very good. Lots of choice and plentiful.

So all up would recommend this hotel for a base.

Room Tip: Go for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Excelsior Hotel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 1800 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#18 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#24 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#34 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Excelsior Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Windsor Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Excelsior
Windsor Excelsior Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Excelsior Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.