We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Custo Royal Pal, benefício Ibis Budget” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Transamerica Prime Barra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Transamerica Prime Barra to your Saves list
Transamerica Prime Barra
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Gastao Senges 395 | Barra da Tijuca, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22631280, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Custo Royal Pal, benefício Ibis Budget”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Tive 2 experiências nesse hotel, uma nos quartos maiores dos andares mais altos e outra no quarto comum do sexto andar com vista para as lixeiras. Em ambas, móveis, pinturas e áreas comuns já passam ideia de cansaço com o pesar do tempo; limpeza e esmero na arrumação do quarto e da área do restaurante e café entre as piores que já vi. Em relação ao serviço, um hábito do hotel para dar um exemplo: vão te cobrar uma taxa prévia no cartão de crédito com MEDO de que você consuma algo do frigobar e não pague no checkout (como assim??!). Patético. Absolutamente não vale em nada os 700 reais de diária (tarifa balcão). Há hotéis muito melhores na região até por menos. Fuja. ~.~.~.~.~.~. I had different 2 experiences in this hotel, the first in the larger rooms on the higher floors and another in the common room at the sixth floor (with a privileged view to the dumpsters). In both, furniture, paintings and common areas are already tired urgently needing an improvement, cleaning and care in Housekeeping and restaurant and coffee among the worst I've ever seen. Regarding the service, a habit from the hotel to give you an example: will charge you a fee in advance with credit FEARING that you consume something from the fridge and maybe doesn't pay for it at checkout (really?!). Pathetic. Absolutely not worth anything in the $700 daily (rack rate). There are much better hotels in the region up for less.

Room Tip: Run away. Corram. Há hotéis melhores na região. Sexto andar tem vista privilegiada para as lixeiras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Google Translation
Prezado Sr. Heverton,
Agradecemos seu comentário, com observações que certamente contribuem para o nosso desenvolvimento.
Estamos passando por processo de retrofit, a fim de melhorias nos ambientes comuns e apartamentos, para oferecer mais comodidade a nossos clientes. Ressaltamos que reorientaremos nossa equipe de atendimento referente a qualidade prezada por nossa marca e a necessidade do cumprimento de todos os procedimentos de arrumação e limpeza dos apartamentos.
Esclarecemos que as tarifas praticadas são condizentes com hotéis de mesma categoria da região e que o procedimento citado quanto ao cartão é padrão, não só em toda a rede Transamérica, mas em diversos empreendimentos no país.
Gostaríamos de ter correspondido as expectativas de sua estada e esperamos ter a oportunidade de recebê-lo novamente, pois pretendemos recuperar sua impressão.

Relacionamento - Transamérica Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    155
    76
    33
    19
See reviews for
42
48
15
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed here for a week during a conference. it's about a 15 minute taxi ride to the city centre. The staff was nice, lunch and dinner were decent, the complimentary breakfast left a lot to be desired. The rooms were clean a little dated in some areas. The bathroom is tiny tiny tiny. It's not near the night life or "fun stuff" to do, but there is a mall near by and a quick taxi ride to other popular areas. I wouldn't stay here again just because the location is in a neighborhood not a lot of stuff to do, the staff will tell you the beach is right down the street but in reality it's across the canal and a 15 minute walk and a fairy ride away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

It is a pleasure to have had you with us and we appreciate your comments. Our apartments are being renovated, aiming at the quality of our facilities. We emphasize that we do offer the convenience of easy access to the busiest parts of the city and would love to welcome you again when you return to Rio de Janeiro.

Relationship - Transamerica Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronchi dei Legionari, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

I've been in Transamerica several times during different periods of the year.Hotel is located in the best area of entire RJ,Barra da Tijuca a very classy, clean and safe zone.
Personnel in hotel is really nice,and fully available to fulfill your needs,rooms are kept tidy and clean and restaurant serves really good stuff.Actually is a business hotel rather than a hotel where to spend vacation with your family,anyhow I really reccomend it!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Corrado,
Thank you for your comments. It is very good to know you have been with us several times and that you recommend our hotel in Rio de Janeiro.
We are happy for your compliments, especially for the quality of our service and infrastructure. We hope to see you on future opportunities and come back soon!

Relationship - Transamerica Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Rooms are not clean and they are incredibly noisy. When you give feedback you are told that the reason the converter was not working was because you dropped the converter. If all you want is a place to put your stuff this is a place for you. If you are looking for cleanliness and comfort go elsewhere. Also the food in restaurant is expensive and not good. There are many good restaurants in Barra. This is not one of them. Customer service is extremely lacking. They let other guests bud in front of you. Brazilians do not care about others and will not think twice about cutting the cue and the front desk allows it. After not be able to sleep for several days I checked out and went elsewhere. Last time I stayed I had a room with a carpet. The rooms with the carpets smell very very bad.

Room Tip: If you must stay....stay away from the fourth floor and avoid any room without a carpet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Ms. Marina
Thank you for your comments, which contribute to our development and improvements.
Sorry we have not met your expectations during the time time you were with us and we emphasize that we will evaluate each issue mentioned, to review processes and improve your opinion.
We're undergoing a retrofit process so as to improve our infrastructure and upgrade.
We would like to have the opportunity to receive you again and surprise you positively.

Relationship - Transamerica Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottbus
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have arrived after midnight in the hotel, being a couple and not the announced single guest. No fuss was being made, we were simply upgraded into a room with a king sized bed (having a balcony with a great view to the beach). Nice thing, we only paid for the single room we have booked.
The shower was great, a lot of water pressure.
We did not order breakfast, but had lunch in the Hotel. It was great! Buffet style with a lot of choice (I especially loved the dessert buffet - amazing).
The staff was very friendly, they organized (and re-organized when we changed our plans) day trips and gave us lots of information. I can also highly recommend the day tour with the company the hotel has a collaboration with.
If you want to take a walk to the beach, you'll have to cross a little canal. There is a ferry which you can take free of charge as hotel guest.

There were also two draw backs. We could not figure out how to lock the balcony door. We weren't too concerned as we were so high up in the building and had a good safe in the room. The other draw back was that the toilet flush did not work properly every time. One had to try two or three times to get a satisfactory result.

We did not try out the pool. It looked great, but the weather was not inviting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We were happy to receive you and to meet your needs and expectations during your stay.
Though you were here for a short period, it is good to know you came to visit our city of Rio de Janeiro and enjoyed it!
We hope to receive you again in future opportunities.
Welcome and return soon!

Relationship - Transamerica Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

This is my second review of Transamerica on trip advisor. I changed my review by the way. The main two reasons are the fact the internet is faster on my mobile than in the room, to open my email takes 10 minutes, and this has been like this for a while already but I've never cared. The second reason for the bad review is the fact once you leave the Hotel they will not care about you at all. I have been staying in Transamerica for more than five years and threir agreement with reward cards pretty much do not work. Transamerica gives you points only, and not always, if you call and send them a lot of emails.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Sir,
Your opinion is very important to help us personalize processes and procedures in order to improve continuously. We analyze each case individually to minimize issues arising in each stay. We are sorry we haven’t been able to live up to your expectations during your stay with us and we would like to clarify that the free Wifi is offered only in the common areas in the hotel. On the score for the Multiplus card, it is only sent on specific dates, since we accumulate scores from other customers for the bonus to be run together.
We wish we could have met your needs and we hope to see you on future opportunities.

Relationship - Transamerica Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed at the Transamerica for 6 days while on a business trip. The hotel itself is nice but it suffers from being in a less than ideal location. It is inconvenient to get around in Barra at the best of times but the Transamerica is not in a place that makes it any easier if you are wanting to do any site seeing or spend time at the beach.
The hotel itself was very good. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the food was all very good, and as a person who does not speak the language I did appreciate the fact that all the staff spoke English.

Room Tip: Avoid staying in the flats
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comments highlighting our infrastructure. We are happy to know we were able to provide you a pleasant stay.
Feel free to count on us and return soon to enjoy the city even more.

Relationship - Transamerica Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Transamerica Prime Barra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transamerica Prime Barra

Address: Avenida Gastao Senges 395 | Barra da Tijuca, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22631280, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Transamerica Prime Barra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Transamerica Prime Barra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transamerica Flat Barra Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Transamerica Prime Barra Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Transamerica Prime Barra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.