We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok food, Rude waiter” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bazzar

Bazzar
Rua Barao da Torre, 538, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (Lagoa)
+55 21 3202 2884
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #199 of 9,038 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bistro, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Late Night Food, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Lagoa
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Ok food, Rude waiter”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

The food was only ok. Had the ceviche and the pear salad which I think lacked flavor. The drinks were ok too. However our writer was very rude and wanted to force us to order main course while we wanted to stick to appetizers and drinks. Would definitely not go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    114
    19
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Atmospheric; lots of duck on the menu!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My second time here and on both occasions very enjoyable. Atmospheric attractive restaurant in a nice area behind Ipanema. The duck planti was very nice and I loved the crispy bananas. The pumpkin coated meat balls were also delicious.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great atmosphere, nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The bazzar restaurant is located inside the Travessa bookshop in Ipanema, with a really nice atmosphere and decent food.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Some good dishes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

While some dishes were exceptional others were average. The service could also improve... in my case, I had a dessert with port wine, which if I hadn't solicited after I ate my dinner, I would have been without. The ambient is very conforting.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Superb service, extensive menu and wines with craft beers.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This restaurant was within walking distance of our apartment so we gave it a try. Service was excellent and prompt. Our food was tasty and well prepared.....Bazaar has a very nice wine list with reasonable selections from around Brazil, S. America, etc. but what surprised me was they had an adequate selection of local Brazilian craft beers.....I tried several - an IPA and a red ale....all very good. All in all, we both enjoyed our experience at Bazaar.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bazzar also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Bazzar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bazzar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.