We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa da Carmen e do Fernando

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa da Carmen e do Fernando to your Saves list
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
Rua Hermenegildo de Barros, 172 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-040, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 250 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Carmen and Fernando B&B March 2013.

Just a few notes for the American / USA travelers:

Front desk is staffed Monday - Saturday 8 AM to 10 PM. Virginia works the first half of the day and Ana works the second half of the day. Both Virginia and Ana speak fluent English (as well as Portuguese and Spanish). No staff on Sunday, so if you need to request anything, make sure you do it on Saturday. Carmen and Fernando speak limited English and as owners do not have set hours.

Breakfast is served at 8 AM 7 days a week. Breakfast drinks include coffee, tea, and fresh fruit juice. Breakfast food selections include bread, pastries, fresh cut fruit, sliced ham, and cheese. Overall an EXCELLENT breakfast.

Our room was just the right size, and we especially loved the shower because the hot water came on almost instantaneously and sprayed copious amounts of water.

We paid R$40 to have them wash a load of our laundry. Can take up to 2 days to get your laundry back depending on weather. Clothes are line dried.

Most American / USA visitors stay at the beach, so there are not many USA travelers at this B&B. We thoroughly enjoyed getting to know the other guests at this B&B and we were lucky that we met other English speakers to converse with. Breakfast conversation language will vary depending on the other residents.

Great location as we were able to walk to Centro, Lapa and tour Santa Teresa from this B&B. This B&B is on a cobblestone road on a somewhat steep road. If you are taking public transportation, be prepared to walk 1/2 mile uphill from the Gloria transit station or bus stop to this B&B.

Getting to and from the Rio (GIG) airport: When we arrived at the Rio airport, we went to a counter where you tell an agent where you want to go and then they write a "ticket" with your destination and the amount of money you will pay to the taxi driver. We got our "taxi ticket" and went outside the airport, stood in a taxi line for about 5 minutes and got a taxi. It was less than R$50 for the trip to the B&B. This B&B will arrange transport from the airport for you for R$85. This is because their taxi driver lives in Santa Teresa and is really making a round trip journey for you and also is waiting at the airport for you. On the way back to the airport, Ana called their taxi driver for us. He showed up in 5 minutes and took us to the airport for less than R$50.

If you are not looking for a beach vacation and are looking for a quaint small town quite feel that is close to Centro and Lapa, this is the place to stay. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Casa da Carmen e do Fernando, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear guest, we highly appreciate your comment about our House, gratitude!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    28
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
55
39
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I found the place to be just beautiful, the house itself has been beautifully decorated and you can see the pride the owners have with what they have done. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, well located and I was well looked after by all. The house is well located in Santa Teresa close to Gloria, Lapa and Santa Teresa bars etc which is a beautiful part of Rio. Ana and Virginia were also very helpful....

A great place to stay, thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Casa da Carmen e do Fernando, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We feel rewarded with your comments, thanks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We found Casa da Carmem e do Fernando comfortable for a family of 5 and conveniently located, 15 minutes uphill walk from Gloria and 10 minute walk up to Sta. Teresa. The decor is eclectic and fun, the view marvelous, breakfast more than adequate, the owners charming.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Casa da Carmen e do Fernando, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for your friendly words, best wishes!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

It was a marvellous stay. Just magic. The poussada is perfctly located in Santa teresa. It has clean, beautiful rooms, a fantastic terrace with an amazing view of Rio and a great living room all decorated with great taste. The owner Fernando, who is an artist, can tell you stories about Rio and introdcue you to both the city and its art world. During our visit he kindly took us to Niteroi to see the Oscar Neimeyer museum and invited us to visit his workshop/house in teh area and also took us to the beach there. It was a very nice experience and trip.
One thing is sure, they'll take care of you there...

Room Tip: take the two rooms next to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Casa da Carmen e do Fernando, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!! Gratitude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Near to Gloria and Santa Theresa you find this little gems in the hills and montains of Rio. Beautyful house with a gorgeous view over Rio, super personal style, bohemian, laid back. Best breakfast and sweet personnel. GO THERE if you are looking for a unique stay in Rio.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Casa da Carmen e do Fernando, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, gratitude!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

It was really a pleasure to stay at such a beautiful place in Santa Tereza. It was so familar and everbody was very friendly. Especially for in arts interested people it´s the perfect place to stay. It´s colorful, full of paintings and other arts. Each room is individual. Nice music is playing the whole day and an inspiring smell is in the air. You look out of the window and you definately feel like beeing in holidays!
If you wake up in the morning you can smell fresh coffee. Breakfast is so delicious. Everything you need: exotic fruits, cheese, toast, cereals...
This B&B is well located. It´s close to a lot of bars and clubs where you feel brazilian life.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a very nice B&B in Santa Theresa. I was in the small room on top (3rd floor?) which has its own balcony with a great view over Rio de Janeiro. The stairs were pretty tight but the room was good. There is a private bathroom at the bottom of the stairs. The breakfast was delicious and the hosts very helpful. The place is situated on a hill which is not super convenient but quite walkable. There are also busses and of course cabs for the last stretch from the subway station. All in all highly recommended!

Room Tip: The room at the top is great but don't chose it if you are a heavy person or have lots of luggag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa da Carmen e do Fernando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa da Carmen e do Fernando

Address: Rua Hermenegildo de Barros, 172 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-040, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a bed & breakfast with a privileged location in Santa Teresa. Access is very easy by Metro Glory. Are only 10 minutes from walking out of the station . Or by coming Lapa and up the Taylor Street. Near the Cristo Redentor and Sugar Loaf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa da Carmen e do Fernando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Da Carmen e Do Fernando Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa Da Carmen e Do Fernando Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa da Carmen e do Fernando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.