We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio 1800 Suites & Cuisine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rio 1800 Suites & Cuisine to your Saves list
Rio 1800 Suites & Cuisine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Dr. Julio Otoni, 254, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-400, Brazil (Formerly Rio 180º Boutique Hotel) (Botafogo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
jeddah Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

The staff, view, and friendly services. the location although required transportation to the nearest shops, the hotel provide a food delivery, but for water, and other drinks it is available in site, the staff are wonderful and helpful, the view is out of this world especially for upper level rooms.


  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    61
    39
    18
    21
See reviews for
10
122
13
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mendoza
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I picked this hotel for its views. That's the only thing that clings in my mind.
The boy that ¿attends? the desk at night is helpless. Plus there were cocrouchis in our room, no hot water during our stay, neither restaurant service at night (although staff advised us otherwise) so our dinners were based on the things we could fetch from the mini bar... dissapointing experience. We would not come back again

Room Tip: Please pick another hotel, and go to lunch at midday to take a picture from the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived a bit late in the afternoon after a stressing drive through Rio by car and it was quite hart to find the Hotel as no signs are outside. nowhere. But we made it and luckily got a room as we did not book ahead. And this is what we experienced....

Our room - the Master Suite - was great, good in size, bed very comfortable and from the bed you have a beautiful view in the morning.

On our !!! terrace we had a whirlpool (amazing) from where you could see the Pao de Acucar, from almost all over the hotel you can see both, the Sugar Mountain and Christus the redeemer. Cannot imagine any place with better views than this.

Breakfast in the main house is served on the patio on highest floor, at first it looks like a bit a small variety, but you can order from an extra menu and to tell you the truth: This was the best omelette we had on our whole trip to Brazil.

Staff is very friendly all over, very very good in english especially as to me english is not widely spoken in Brazil and Rio at all. Plus we got phenomenal restaurants and going out recommendations from staff at reception. Just perfect for our taste.

Nothing, really nothing would prevent us from going back to this boutique hotel! Top pick in Rio, it made our stay!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

If you want to stay in this area of Rio (Santa Teresa/Laranjeiras) or want an authentic and relaxing Rio experience; then look no further. The views are incredible from the very large balconies and are the real highlight. But the whole place is great and has a feel of a rural retreat in the city. The rooms are spacious and the furnishings good; the amenities are excellent, swimming pool quite big and the WIFI better than most large hotels. The breakfast is fine although not huge and the staff very friendly.

It is not near anything as such and you cant really walk anywhere from here and I arrived late at night, which is not ideal as the first cab driver wouldnt take me.

However, that is not a drawback and, having stayed at many so called 5 star hotels in Rio before, this is by far and away the best hotel in the city I have experienced. Wish I could have stayed for longer!!!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was really the perfect place for me to spend in my three nights in Rio! I had just spent a week in Sao Paulo and it was my first time in Rio, travelling alone and not speaking Portuguese, so was naturally a little nervous about where to stay that would be safe in Rio. I didn't need to stay close to the Rio beaches as I live at the beach in Sydney - so this gorgeous little hotel in the hills of Rio was perfect ! And yes the views are A.M.A.Z.I.N.G! My room was Santa Theresa with a balcony and it was beautiful! I loved it! There was a little noise from the reception area, and the planes overhead coming in to turn over the water below the city to land (quite awesome to watch from the balcony at night), but absolutely fine! The staff were all fantastic and so helpful! The guys at the front desk spoke English and really helped me out in many ways - I can't thank them enough! Big thanks to Wellington and Tomas especially! :) The manager even made the chef cook dinner for me one night, although the restaurant had closed early and he was about to go home! Being high in the hills in a residential area, you need to cab it everywhere, so be prepared. There aren't any shops close by so get your supplies like bottled water, food/snacks from the city. Also at the time I stayed, the restaurant was closed suddenly one night without notice, and the other night was booked out for a private function, so make sure you have alternate dinner plans! Overall, I loved it - including the pool area - and would recommend it and stay there again for sure!

Room Tip: Santa Theresa or any room with a balcony, overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Be ready to taxi in and out vs walking, tubing or busing, but once you're in this hi-end French owned hotel it's a little piece of Carioca heaven round the clock.,
The chefs will cater to all your culinary needs from cafe da manha through dinner, and he guys at the reception will help you out of their way to make your stay pleasant and trouble-free ,

Room Tip: The Lapa room rocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015 via mobile

Our stay was nearly perfect in all respects. The hotel has the most wonderful view, stylish, comfortable and clean rooms, and staff who really try their utmost to make your stay the most memorable imaginable. We have travelled all over the world and cannot think of another hotel that offered as good a value as Rio 180 did. We would suggest this hotel to anyone travelling to Rio!

  • Stayed March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rio 1800 Suites & Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio 1800 Suites & Cuisine

Address: Rua Dr. Julio Otoni, 254, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-400, Brazil (Formerly Rio 180º Boutique Hotel)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo , Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#38 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio 1800 Suites & Cuisine 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Rio, in the historic and bohemian town of Santa Teresa, Rio 180° is an 11-room boutique hotel with a hilltop position and a million dollar view! From the hotels main terrace, guests can take in the sweeping vista over the Guanabara Bay and the green hills of Santa Teresa, while enjoying the view of world famous art deco statue Christ the Redeemer and Sugarloaf Mountain. The hotel is only 15 minutes away from the beaches of Copacabana and Ipanema, the samba clubs of Lapa and the Sambodromo stadium. Described by those in the know as the South American Montmartre and one of Rio's hidden gems, Santa Teresa is packed with local artists, galleries, cafes and some of Rio's best small restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rio 1800 Suites & Cuisine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio 180
Rio 1800 Suites & Cuisine Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio 1800 Suites & Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.