We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Walk On The Beach Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Walk On The Beach Hostel to your Saves list
Walk On The Beach Hostel
Rua Dias da Rocha 85 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22051-020, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
US
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

The staff are friendly.Thanks a lot for letting my friends sleep in the corner room in the morning before we check in, as they flew the red-eye flight. The tours organized every night and travel tips on the kitchen board are great. The breakfast included is simple and good. There is only one fan in the 3-person rooms downstairs, so the room can feel hot sometimes. Shared bathroom has space and is clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    36
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
9
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed here for Carnaval and was really disappointed. For the price that was paid I didn't think a very good service was provided. The rooms are tiny with three tier bunk beds, some of the staff are really rude and unhelpful, the night watchman chases couples round the hostel at night telling them they're not allowed be together cause they're not married. There are not enough toilets/showers for the amount of beds, just 5 but at one stage 2 were out of order. Also the communcal area is just a couple of leather couches in front of reception and the bar just has a few uncomrfotable picnic chairs.

Room Tip: Don't go for the small 6 bed dorm, it's the equivalent of a broom closet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bo j, Owner at Walk On The Beach Hostel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Anon787,

Thank you for leaving a review, Regarding the price for Carnival it is higher than normal because of offer and demand, it's quite simple. We offer hostel services, which in short means comfy beds, clean environment and 50% of our hostel is dedicated to common areas, which apparently you failed to notice? The rooms are standard rooms for the price you paid, the staff as opposed to your review is considered friendly and helpful by the majority. The night watch doesn't chase couples that are not married around the hostel, but it is frowned upon having sex in common areas, so maybe that is the problem you had to face while staying here.

Best regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

We loved our time here. What makes this hostel so special is the absolutely incredible staff- they really go out of their way to make sure that the guests are getting the experience they want out of Rio de Janeiro. We felt very well taken care of. We will be back!

Walk On The Beach is a small hostel in a quieter neighborhood of Copacabana. It is a great location, very central to the beaches, bars, restaurants, and juice bars that Rio is famous for. Yet it is in enough of a residential area that there is a good grocery store only a few blocks away. We cooked all our meals and saved a lot this way. The hostel kitchen is attached to the bar, but they allow guests to use it whenever you wish.

Don't expect a mansion. The facility is small, as most urban buildings in this area are. They've done a great job of maximizing space, but you'll be aware of density of the hostel. The ground floor has two small common rooms with comfortable couches. The dorms have bunks stacked three high-- I was surprised that this was not as bad as I had imagined it would be. The real problem in the rooms was not the bunks, but the lack of storage space. Hopefully some larger wall lockers or at least some shelving can be added.

Walk On The Beach is worth a stay. We made some great friends, were well informed about the city and sites by the caring staff, and felt really comfortable during our stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Only stayed here for one night before catching an early morning flight. From what I saw it was a very good hostel. Staff were helpful and the rooms were clean. The room was quite cramped with bunk beds three high. The room was well ventilated though. There was a nice kitchen, bar and common area.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Location is brilliant. so close to everything! the walk to copacabana is about 5 mins! staff are so helpful also. breakfast is excellent. lovely coffee!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed here for one week and absolutely loved it! Comfortable and clean with great staff.

Positives:
The staff- probably the most helpful staff I have seen in any hostel. They can advise on anything and are always around to answer any queries.
Decent breakfast of bread, ham, cheese, tea etc and fresh homebaked cake every morning.
Kitchen has all the facilities needed.
5 min walk from Copacabana beach.
There is a bar but you are also allowed bring in your alcohol which is cool.

Negatives:
The hostel had bedbugs. Both in the 12 bed and 9 bed dorm. We told the owner but apparently it wasn't the season for it even though we saw 3 crawling on bed! Then some more people saw the biedbugs in the 9 bed dorm too.
The dorms are quite small especially the 6 bed downstairs which is to be avoided because when there are more than 3 people in there you cant move.
TV area is very small but has all the channels. It is also right next to the smoking area which means the living area always smells a bit.

Bedbugs aside I would recommend this place but clearly there is a big issue with bedbugs here so on this basis I think you have to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid the 6 bed dorm downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Stayed here for three nights. First we stayed in the downstairs 6-bed dorm - I would avoid this room as it is very cramped and no fresh air. The upstairs dorms are much better. The staff here all speak excellent english (as well as danish, german and portugese) and are friendly. They don't arrange for transport from the airport though so it cost us 90R in a taxi which is quite steep but we arrived at night so opted for easy ride. There is a nice breakfast included and also a bar which is good place to spend the evening to chat to other travellers. The place is clean and in a good location for copacabana beach and feels like a safe neighbourhood.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Walk On The Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walk On The Beach Hostel

Address: Rua Dias da Rocha 85 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22051-020, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 494 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the best Rio de Janeiro hostel? You just found it! Great atmosphere, best location near the beach the best international and local staff.With us your stay in Rio will be an amazing experience. We are located in a quiet and safe area hidden inside Rio de Janeiro's most exciting spot: Copacabana. Here you will be just a few steps away from shops, restaurants, cafés, buses, metro and the fantastic Copacabana Beach. With us you will find a friendly staff getting you the best info on what's happening in Rio, low-priced rooms and the facilities you need, all in a nice and cozy environment where you can relax at the lounge or party at the bar. Walk on the Beach Hostel Rio de Janeiro offers you comfort, facilities and safety a hostel should provide. You should pick us because:•We are located in the most sensational neighborhood in the country: Copacabana. •Here you will really get a taste of what life in Rio de Janeiro feels like. •We are close to the best and most spectacular beach in the world.•There is transportation to anywhere in the city just a few steps away.•We provide you with everything you need to know.•We offer a clean and fun hostel•We will make this a great experience And not least because we treat you like a friend.Plus we offer you:Bar - Enjoy a cool drink before checking out the nightlife.TV Lounge - 100 channels for you not to miss out on any big events...Patio - For those needing to take a silent break our patio is the place to be.Living Room - We have plenty of comfortable couches and chairs for your convenience. Reception - We'll provide any information or help you might need!Bathrooms - Our bathrooms are brand new and clean. And most importantly, they stay clean. Internet Lounge - Stay in touch with the world at our ADSL internet stations. Guest Kitchen - Clean and spacious kitchen open 24 hours. Café - Enjoy your meals, have a game of foosball or just sit back and relax. As backpackers we know what you are looking for. Walk on the Beach Hostel Rio de Janeiro is the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Walk On The Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walk On The Beach Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Walk On The Beach Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walk On The Beach Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.