We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious vegetarian options.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tempeh

Tempeh
Rua Primeiro de Marco 24 | Centro, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
(21) 2232 8007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,439 of 8,676 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Delicious vegetarian options.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

What delicious vegetarian options here. My wife is coeliac so she had to choose carefully her dishes from the buffet. But there seemed to be plenty of options for gluten free although there are no labels.

This place is hard to find so watch out for a small entrance with a number 24 on the top and stairs leading up.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
world
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best vegan food in Rio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

My wife and I are vegetarians and after 3 days in Rio, we were getting tired of our limited food options. Luckily, I read a review for Tempeh from a fodors trip review and decided to go there when we toured Praca XV. So at noon, we headed to find Tempeh. It is important to note that it is located at the upper level and small narrow stairs leads you to the restaurant. So get the address correct and find the stairs. it is totally worth it. The vegan spread is incredible and you pay by weight. The choices are amazing and the food is delicious. I was so starved and the food so tasty that I literally had a pound worth of food. The owner spoke good english and I had a delightful chat with him. He is a very nice man. At the end, he offered us some very nice tea as an aperitif. Plainly, the best meal I had in Rio as a vegetarian.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty vegan lunch in Rio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We went to this place around 1 pm for a price-by-weight lunch. They didn't offer an unlimited buffet option during my visit. We had a filling amount of vegan food for about $13 each. Best options were the faux meatballs and moqueca! Kinda silly that the soup cost extra; I wouldn't get that again (a corn chowder-type soup). The guy who owns this place is awesome and speaks English. His uncle opened the first vegetarian place in South America in 1971, and good veg food apparently runs in their blood. :) This is one of the better vegan spots in Rio, in my opinion, and it's a quick walk from the Carioca or Cinelandia metros.

Pros: Low price, Good faux meats, All vegan
Cons: Price by weight, Not open for dinner

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Vegan Oasis in Rio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great and cheap vegan food in the center of Rio de Janeiro. A veggie oasis in the heart of "meat-land". It works as the brazilian "kilo" system: you put all you want to eat in your plate and pay the weight of it, despite what is on it.
They also have great natural juices.
Highly recomended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Vegan heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Wonderful place!!!!!!!


Great location - downtown, among great historical architecture, near Paço Imperial, Praça XV de Novembro, within walking distance from subway station Carioca. At the entrance you'll see only a sign above a simple door that leads to a high staircase which gives access to the restaurant on the superior floor.
Nice staff and comfortable ambiance - friendly people serving the costumers, great atmosphere, perfectly clean area, cozy space.
Amazingly delicious food - and, most important, completely vegan! Great quality and tasty! I was there on a Saturday, there was a wide variety of options such as sushi, yakissoba, pasta, seitan, different types of salads, rice, grilled vegetables, Brazilian dishes such as Bobó de Palmito e Shitaki (my favourite!!!), Strogonoff, pastel, empada, bolinhos and more... All of it unbelievably delicious and perfectly cooked! Made mostly with organic ingredients. Flawless seasoning!

I truly recommend this place! Some say that vegan food is not satisfying enough, or that you get hungry too soon after eating it, and generally it's not true, but in this case it's even less true (lol) - the food there is extremely nourishing and fulfilling.

The downside is definitively the cost. You can choose between all-in eating (buffet) or paying by weight. This second option is extremely expensive, almost the double you usually pay in a "normal" restaurant, so I don't recommend it. Just choose the buffet option, which is within the range of price of a regular buffet (R$25), and eat as much as you want. The price will be certainly worth it, since the food is strikingly delicious - and organic ingredients tend to cost more anyway.
I ate so much I couldn't try the desserts, but they looked incredibly tasteful too.

Open throughout lunchtime from Monday to Saturday. Closed on Sundays.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tempeh also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Tempeh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tempeh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.