We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy Little Bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belmonte

Belmonte
Praia do Flamengo 300 | Flamengo, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (Botafogo)
(21) 2552 3349
Improve this listing
Ranked #199 of 8,450 restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Botafogo
New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Busy Little Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Packed little bar just 5-10 mins walk from the tube. Great atmostphere, tables all taken and lots of people stood at the bar, outside and on the street. Felt like a popular local spot. We were the only tourists. Can get a full on meal or bar snacks and very resonably priced.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    64
    84
    22
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“For drinks and funs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Would like you like to go to a funny place so go to Cervantes where everybody is happy and fun and the place is full of energy!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Belmonte?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you want to drink expensive chopp (draught beer) on the street by all means do so, but there are far better places. Personally I walk past this place at least once a day and never stop for a beer, the place you stand and drink is actually a public footpath, though most customers think otherwise! That's because they are ignorant, hence they drink at Belmonte. The beer isn't actually that good or indeed cold. Handy for the British Consulate though, it's right next door!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Popular happy hour spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Choppe is always cold and continuously offered during my visits to this popular boteco. Pastels are hot and always tasty. My favorites are cheese and shrimp.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We went to the one in Urca on Sunday night and it was packed, although there are several around the city. Most entrees can feed 2-3 people so order conservatively because the meals come out family style. The waiters are friendly and overall the vibe is pretty no nonsense. The food is very good. We had seafood stew which was incredibly rich and fresh. Our friends had grilled chicken, which was probably the best chicken I have ever had and shrimp risotto.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belmonte also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Belmonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmonte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.