We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sea food in Rio de Janeiro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Satyricon

Satyricon
Rua Barao da Torre,192 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22411-000, Brazil (Ipanema)
21 2521-0627
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #261 of 8,471 restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Ipanema
Rio de Janeiro
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best sea food in Rio de Janeiro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The service is very good. I would recomend the salad called Sea Symphony. Everytime I go there I ask it. It is marvellous. Good for couples, friends and businesss. One of the best restaurants in Rio de Janeiro and the best sea food, definitely.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    146
    93
    33
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Delightful Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My hotel in Copacabana suggested this restaurant when we requested a place that prepared good seafood. Satyricon had some of the freshest seafood that I've ever had. Service is excellent. We ordered the large seafood platter, and asked for the grilled vegetables, but they brought us the risotto instead. We figured they made an executive decision and provided us with something more interesting than grilled vegetables. We were able to have a leisurely late lunch/early dinner and take our time enjoying the food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Yes, they have fresh fish and the dishes are good; but not spectacular. It is an average and very overpriced restaurant. And the portions are TOO small. If you don't ask for appetizers before the entree, you will be hungry.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dinner in Rio”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Trendy restaurant in Ipanema with a great range of fish dishes. There is a limited choice of meat dishes which are good but remember fish is the speciality so if you dont like fish you may not find the meat alternatives at the same high standard; all a matter of personal choice. There is an odd take on spinach which is an acquired taste and maybe advisable to avoid. Staff are pleasant but the service can be a bit "hit and miss".

At the upper end of the price range and very popular with monied Brazilians and the occasional celebrity. Easy to get to when staying in Ipanema and in a safe area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is a quaint little restaurant with a big name in the F&B industry. Although communication was a bit difficult as they mostly don't speak English, the service was wonderful and the food exquisite. The mushroom with garlic and the tiramisu are must-tries!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Satyricon also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Satyricon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Satyricon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.