We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Casa da Feijoada

Casa da Feijoada
Rua Prudente de Moraes 10 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420040, Brazil
021/2523-4994
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #760 of 9,756 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Went in with the intention of trying the Feijoada. Decor was lovely and rustic. However I don't feel like the food here was authentic. Instead we just settled on their drinks. Before eating here, you really have to evaluate your hunger status because they feed you a lot.

For the $$$ they charge, service and decor wins here.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    104
    47
    18
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queens, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best place for trying Feijoada”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Casa de Feijoada is probably one of the best places to have Feijoada(National Dish of Brazil) when in Rio. Unfortunately the price is much higher then originally noted. It has a set price of 79BRL, based on today's exchange rate, approximately $39.00USD, which is more then any place you would find in NYC. But then again, this is the true home of Feijoada. All true fans of Feijoada should visit Rio and eat here. The service if not slow, will start off with a very savory bean soup and linguica(sausages).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beans and pork”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

So this is a traditional Brazilian dish and I wanted to try some before I left Rio.

It is 78 BRL per person for a set menu. They only came to take our drink orders. The starter bean soup they had was very tasty and savory. I was looking forward to the feijoada. However, the meal itself was lackluster. It is good to try once for the experience but is not all that tasty to go again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wosrt meal of our Brazil trip”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We went to casa da feijoada during the first week of January. First there was no music. Then, the place was full of gringos (just like us). You can't split the feijoada. The feijoada is overpriced and not that tasty. They got my friend the wrong meal, which was more expensive than what she had ordered. Instead of giving her a discount, they brought the food back to the kitchen and charged us for their mistake. This place deserves its spot in kitchen nightmares' next season.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very tasty, but very expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I wanted to get the real feijoada experience, so I dragged my friend to this restaurant (she lives in Rio, nearby, and is married to a Brazilian and had never heard of this place). There was a TON of food, and apparently it's all you can eat, and it was mostly very tasty. But way overpriced. I would have been happy going somewhere I could buy one feijoada meal and split it with my friend (since it's all you can eat, the price is per person and not per meal), just so I could try it to see what it's like. Again, tasty, but super heavy. I was literally not hungry again the entire rest of the day.

Bottom line - the food seemed to be authentic, but the restaurant definitely felt like a tourist trap.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa da Feijoada also viewed

 

Been to Casa da Feijoada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa da Feijoada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.