We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whats the buzz all about?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bar do Mineiro

Bar do Mineiro
Rua Pascoal Carlos Magno 99 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (Santa Teresa)
021/2221-9227
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 8,451 restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Santa Teresa
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Whats the buzz all about?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Nice and busy local vibe but food is really really nothing special.. I personally think its overrated.
If you are looking for a cosy and amazing dinner this is the wrong place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    149
    139
    26
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maia, Portugal
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Feijoada from Brazil”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Experience the real brazilain food- feijoada, on saturdays.
Great food, teasty and really well done.
price is pretty cheap, and environment is great (people singing all around).
Nice place to start or finish your saturday...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“+ vintage ambiance, - awful service, foreigners don’t seem to be welcome!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Though Bar do Minero has a remarkable interior being put together from collectibles all over the world I had the strong feeling that foreigners are not welcome.
It was suspicious that everyone except our table had a white paper tablecloth and received cutlery with their food. Furthermore we had the impression that they didn’t want us to pay since we were completely ignored when we tried to ask for the check. Moreover we were sent to the bar to pay with our credit card although the credit card machines were portable and were brought to other tables.

Anyways, the service was awful and this really surprised me because we were served by the owner himself. The food was average and I highly recommend to spend your money elsewhere, e. g. and the Cafecito next door who has friendly waiters and owners and fabulous food.

Just because Bar do Minero recently popped up in several trend guides it doesn’t mean that you are spending a great time there.

+ vintage ambiance,
- awful service, foreigners don’t seem to be welcome!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The kind of place you're glad you went because it has no shortage of authenticity and local charm, without too much hokey tourism. We the amazing feijoada, and a single portion was more than enough to split between two moderately hungry people. Long on the "alt" crowd (couchsurfer burning man types) so you have to be into that. There was drumming jam session outside the restaurant for most of our meal which was mostly cool, and only slightly annoying at times.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“What a great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Fantastic snacks, great drink selection, cool vibe, nice servers. Had some pastels one day and was surprised that they made a mean feijoada the next. Ate here 3 days in a row while in Santa Teresa. The server was so nice and grabbed us a taxi knowing that we were late for the opera. Wish that we had even one establishment like this in my native Toronto. 5 out of 5

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar do Mineiro also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Bar do Mineiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar do Mineiro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.