We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Aprazivel

Restaurante Aprazivel
Rua Aprazivel 62 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-270, Brazil
(+5521)2508.9174
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #122 of 8,660 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Price range: $0 - $60
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Located at the end of lots of winding cobbled roads, this restaurant is perched on the side of a hill, and has stunning views out across Rio and the bays. There are various sections to the restaurant spread out over the hillside and incorporated into the trees, which makes for an interesting ambience. We were there weekday lunchtime, so took advantage of the set menus, which were very good. If anything a bit pricey for what you get, but it's worth it for the location, and very relaxed atmosphere. The walk back upstairs to the road is a bit killing, but they are putting in a lift!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    651
    525
    184
    66
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Elegant and sophisticated ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is more of a high-end restaurant. The walk to the restaurant from central Santa Teresa was about a mile, and up a fairly steep hill (we got our hill work exercise). We recommend taking a taxi instead. We started with the Couvert appetizer which was a selection of breads with butter, ceviche, and oil. We had the galinha caipira as an entrée (chicken with sausage), and baiao de dois (a pudding with acai and tapioca) for desert. Both food and service were excellent. Some of the tables are in beautiful tree houses. Menu is in Portuguese and English. Reasonable prices on the fruit drinks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great ambience, good food, poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I went with my fiance and a couple of friends to enjoy a nice sunday lunch. The place is great, has a nice view over Rio, the food was very tasty but the service was very poor taking into account the price we paid.
We asked several times for drinks and some appetizers while we were waiting our table and it took forever to arrive. When we finally sit, the service was really slow...somehow disappointing!

The place is nice to take foreign clients, enjoy authentic food and appreciate the view.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very unusual property in a quiet location. Really cool.
Cocktails are very good.
Lovely food and good service (if a bit rushed).

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent, memorable dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was a fabulous restaurant in every sense. Located in Santa Teresa, you drive through cobbled streets lined with large trees to get there. The restaurant is situated on a hillside looking out over the city. There are outside and inside tables, but mostly all have great views of the city. You are reminded of a giant treehouse.

The service is flawless. We were seated immediately, and our waiter even spoke English. The wine steward was amazing -- a native of New Zealand, but he gave us an excellent tutoring on Brazilian wines. The wine we picked was a Brazilian merlot, with a very different character from the California varieties we were accustomed to.

The food was just fabulous. We had starters of terrine and scallops, followed by main dishes of chicken and sausage, with rice, plantain, and beans, and of young goat that was amazing -- so tender and delicious. Deserts and port were equally perfect.

It was expensive; four of us spent over 800 R$. But given the quality of the experience -- worth it

Put this restaurant on your list!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Aprazivel also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Restaurante Aprazivel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Aprazivel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.