We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place, poor food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Aprazivel

Restaurante Aprazivel
Rua Aprazivel 62 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-270, Brazil
(+5521)2508.9174
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #191 of 9,038 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $60
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic place, poor food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Very trendy place. Georgeous restaurant in the trees... but food was disappointing and expensive. Don't forget to book.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    766
    651
    253
    86
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overcharged mediocre food + terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

What a bummer! Several of our friends and our travel agent recommended this place and it just didn't live up to the hype. When we arrived, they couldn't seat us right away and were initially very attentive, apologizing profusely and procuring us a drink while we waited. After that, it was all downhill. We got the beef and cheese empanadas to start. Just ok. We actually had better at the little cafe at Sugarloaf. From there, it took us over an hour to get our food during which no one checked on us or refreshed our drinks. When our meal finally did come, it was borderline mediocre to downright not tasty. I had the steak with creamed spinach and a block of cheese potatoes. Just about every chain steakhouse in the US does it better. My husband had the Rio Rice, which wasn't bad but certainly was not worth $50!! It was literally just rice, shrimp and a few veggies in a saffron sauce. When we went to leave, they wanted us to use their car service and charge double what our hotel quoted. It would have been a 5 minute walk but the hotel didn't recommend it because it could be dangerous. So we basically were stuck using it. Only redeeming quality: the view/uniqueness of setting.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“What an experience high above overlooking the lights of Rio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Last night we dined at a truly extraordinary restaurant in Rio, high above the city in the Santa Teresa section of town. Aprazivel was recommended to us by our concierge at the Copacabana Palace and our guide as well. Some cabs were reluctant to go there as it can be tricky to find on the steep cobblestoned winding streets in the neighborhood. It is all worth the effort by far. We dined al fresco overlooking the light of the city under a unique thatched roof with a unique but authentic atmosphere. Unlike dinner the night before, the food was not overly salted and just to our taste. The food was amazing, starting with hearts of palm literally cut from the heart of the palm frond table side. My free-range chicken with risotto was outstanding as was my wife's tropical fish with plantain. We loved our desserts of a mango dish for me and tapioca ice cream topped by acao sauce. We also loved our Brazilian Chardonnay recommended by our very attentive waiter. We also truly enjoyed our conversation with the sommelier from New Zealand married to a Brazilian whom he met in London. Altogether this evening was the highlight of our 3-day stay in Rio. If we were not leaving tonight,we would surely be returning there for a second night in a row!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Living across the world!
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This is a must-see in your Rio Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I'd say this restaurant is a must-see during your stay in Rio, if you have enough days. I certainly have recommended it to all the people that have come to visit me whilst living here and always will - for it is so unique!

Aprazivel is on the hill-side amidst the nature. It is a beautiful, paradisiac, fairy-talish setting. Those who love nature will absolutely adore it! There are tables on tree houses and all is intertwined between the tree branches! The pathways are winding between the jungle, it is so beautiful!

The food is excellent and creative - great starters and fish dishes and yummy mixtures with coconuts and banana and mixing sweet and sour and fruits! Yummy! Very high quality cuisine and service.

Aprazivel is located above the quaint and bohemian Santa Teresa, the area of Rio on the hillside beneath the Cristo Redentor, famous for its little yellow tram-way (now temporarily suspended) and cobbled roads.

Note. The restaurant is quite isolated up the hill, and you should get a taxi to go there. If you walk around Santa Teresa by yourself make sure you know what you're doing and where you're going because there are still episodes of street criminality in certain areas bordering the favelas, so I advise not to leave the beaten track too much.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Wonderful restaurant with amazing food. You must try the backed hart of palm. It is stunning. Additionally, the service is second to none!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Aprazivel also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Restaurante Aprazivel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Aprazivel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.