We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emil” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Girl from Ipanema

Hostel Girl from Ipanema
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rio de Janeiro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostel Girl from Ipanema
Save
You added Hostel Girl from Ipanema to your Saves list
Rua Barao da Torre 175 | House 3 Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (Lagoa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #190 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Malmö, Skåne Län, Sweden
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Emil”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

First impression, this place smells very much like pee.
2nd impression, this place smells like pee and poo.
There was hardly any cleaning done in our room for the whole week we stayed there.
The hostess claimed there would be breakfast but she screwed us over.
The rooms were VERY cramped and there were almost no surfaces to put stuff (except on the beds) so we had to keep all of our stuff in our bags the entire stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    9
    8
    21
See reviews for
1
16
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

great info provided on the walls at reception, but the lady there was very rude on occasion and looked at me with 2 heads when i asked for a change of sheets, even though it says on the wall that it is no problem

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

worst place i have ever stayed to be honest and i do have a photo somewhere to back me up but i have hidden it somewhere so as not to remind me of the hellish experience!!! i must add that i stayed in 2008 but still get nitemares so wanted let other people know! my friend and mines room was about 6ft x 6ft with 4 bunkbeds,no paint or decorations on the wall only light fittings and wires hanging out all over the place.to think we paid for this is slighlty baffling and we would have gone elsewhere only it was just for one night and it was late when we booked in.also what seemed quite baffling was that the owners nephew was english and he appeared to be manning the situation.how he ever thought what he gave us was acceptable is unbelievable and i would just like to warn people to make sure you check your accomodation prior to agreement.that is all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Stayed for carnival 2011. Pros are the location, sure walk to ipanema beach. The courtyard is home to other hostels, so it's communal and safe feeling and very sociable. Cons it's a "drop your back"hole to be frank. Don't know how it is now, but it was very poor back then. Breakfast was jail tackle,Toilets not working, lack of toilet roll, extremely strong smell of urine. Only stayed here because it was bundled in cheaply with BIG DUDE TOUR through sta travel. It's honestly a shame, because it's unnecessary. Top of courtyard there's a kiosk with beer, cigs sweets etc which is good.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Myself and 3 friends had a lovely weekend stay here - very happy with the location and cleanliness!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

- Smelled of mold

- Unprepared staff

- No breakfast!!!!!!!!! (web site: Fresh toasted option of sandwiches with different fillings. Fresh fruit salads, omelettes, pancakes, fresh healthy cake, juice, tea, coffee & milk -> THEY ARE LYING!!!! -> Just coffee and tea!!!!!) When we asked about it, they said that when they offer "complete" breakfast all prices are increased... I said that they must change it on the website... and they don't mind about what i was talking...

- Check out: you have to take bed and bath linen at the reception (probably because they think that would be stolen)

- I stayed for 3 days in a twin private ensuite for 2 persons: when we arrived the bathroom was already dirty.... and our bathroom trash was not collected any day!!!

- They have just one good point: good location (because it does not depend on the work of the staff)

DO NOT CHOOSE THIS HOSTEL!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazoria, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

friendly people, very clean, top location, would bokk the hostel again.

Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Girl from Ipanema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Girl from Ipanema

Address: Rua Barao da Torre 175 | House 3 Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Lagoa
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 227
Also Known As:
Hostel Girl From Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Hostel Girl From Ipanema Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Girl from Ipanema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.