We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value Italian restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fratelli

Fratelli
Av. Sernambetiba 2916 - Barra da Tijuca, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22620-172, Brazil (Barra da Tijuca)
(21) 2494-6644
Improve this listing
Ranked #350 of 9,756 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Barra da Tijuca
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good value Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Nice Italian restaurant at Barra beach although we went there only because we were staying in the vicinity. The staff was friendly, the antipasti was excellent and the wine and steak was very good too. Would recommend the place for business dinners.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    120
    28
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good restaurant at a right price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you're looking for an italian reaturant at a fair price this is the place. Nice place, very attentive staff and good wine list. Try the vitelas´s osso buco or ravioli di Zuca. They´re my favorite. I´m referring to Leblon´s house. There is another Fratelli at Barra da Tijuca but i`ve never been there. Probably it is good as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Excellent selection of pastas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is one of our favorite options when do not feel like cooking nor going out - a nice bottle of red and a couple of the pasta options from Fratelli delivered home is one of the best eat in options we have experienced in Rio

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good Italian cooking in Barra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

After a drive from hell thanks to Lady Gaga (5 km took 90 minutes) this place hit the spot for s very late lunch.
Good bread selection, pâté, carpaccio and olives got us going. Fresh grilled prawns were served with really creamy authentic rice and a rich tomato sauce.
Another dish of fish with prawns and green beans was ordered with a huge fresh salad.
I didn't see the final bill, but it seems expensive rather than extortionate. The decor is somewhat contrived to look "Italian" but I have seen much worse.
Service was fine as the staff were all trying to eat too. I would go again as this is as good Italian as I have had in Italy.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Honest and tasty food, but a bit overpriced...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I went to the leblon location with my wife. The couvert is so-so but the carpaccio is devine. We ordered to pasta dishes since we wanted italian food. Mine was a veil filled ravioli with cream fresh and porcini sauce which was delicious. My wife had a white and green pasta in a creamy sauce, chopped tenderloin and bacon, slightly browned. She loved it. And for dessert we shared a tiramisu. All in all the meal was very nice. The only downpoint was the price, which in my opinion was a bit expensive. We spent close to 100 dollars.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fratelli also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Fratelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fratelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.