We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy street” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
Imperial Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Catete, 186 | Catete, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (Botafogo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Macaé, Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Noisy street”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

If you want a crowded street, full of small shops and lots of people walking until late at night, that's the best option in Rio. I stayed there twice. During my first visit, I've got a room far away from the crowded Catete street, but in the second one I've got a room with a nice view of this historical street in Rio. I've had a hard time trying to sleep.

As for the location, it just couldn't be better. It's right in front of a subway station and there are many options of shopping within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    76
    50
    7
    3
See reviews for
36
28
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Clean, calm and near all this hotel could help you if you want to stay right in downtown, near bus and subway in Rio de Janeiro. The rooms are simple but comfortable, and the pool area with sauna is nice. Breakfast included... could be a little more cheap but is ok!

Room Tip: Call in advance and have everithing confirmed by mail and phone
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed at the Imperial for a week over Carnival 2011. Watch out, prices double over the four nights of carnival, though I expect that they do everywhere. The hotel was pleasant, though the room was small. It was supposed to be a 'superior' room, but it was clear from peeking into other rooms on the same corridor as our own that it was the smallest of the bunch. I asked to see a standard room to compare the two and it was identical. The explanation was that standard rooms are on the ground floor and all upstairs rooms are superior rooms. A bit of a con I thought. Ask to see a selection of rooms before you take one, if possible.

The hotel was clean and has clearly been updated since some of the previous reviews were written. They were painting communal areas while we were there. The sheets were nice, crisp and white. Air con worked OK, but once or twice for some reason, someone on the staff switched off all the units at the master switch and we had to go and ask for it to be turned back on again.

There was a swimming pool & multi-gym. The pool was small but it was nice to cool off occasionally.

Breakfast was a good buffet with bread, fabulous fresh fruit, jam, eggs, meats & cheese. Three juices, tea & coffee made up the spread. More than adequate. Vegetarians beware, some of the mini pastries had either jam or sausage in them and it was impossible to tell unless you broke one open. This changed from day to day and it was a nasty shock to get some awful processed meat in a pastry one morning when I was expecting it to be sweet!

The staff spoke adequate English so I didn't feel so bad speaking no Portuguese at all. They certainly appreciated our attempts to at least ask for our key in Portuguese.

Very close to the metro & a ten minute walk from Flamengo beach, but don't try & swim here, the beach is lovely & clean, but the water is filthy with rubbish. It was easy to reach Centro, Copacabana & Ipanema on the metro & there was a square just a few minutes walk away where lots of buses ran to other places such as the Botanical Gardens. There is also plenty of supermarkets, pharmacies & restaurants nearby. The area is well populated, so we didn't feel worried going out at night, there was always plenty of people around.

Overall, a good base to see Rio and a fairly reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
199 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
517 helpful votes 517 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

If you want to not stay in Zona Sul, Catete is a good option. Hotel Imperial is directly across the street from the Catete Palace (formerly the Presidential residence and now one of Brazil's best museums) and the Folklore Museum (also one of the country's finest). The Metro is steps away, so you can get anywhere in town in minutes. A nice, pedestrian-friendly neighborhood with many good restaurant choices. There are two type of rooms in the Imperial: first floor in the back are small cell-like spaces. Upstairs in the main building they are much nicer, spacious and with large bathrooms. The lobby is decorated in a staid conservative style, and exudes a bit of traditional elegance. The Imperial is popular with Brazilians visiting to Rio, yet is too expensive for the low-budget foreigners who prefer the cheap, antiquated no frills little hotels and pousadas in this part of town. A good breakfast served in a mid-sized rooom that's full and boisterous in the morning with tourists, many of them families. A good ambience here. Free internet included.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

We stayed during the 2010 carnival.

I would have preferred a hotel nearer to the main beaches but when I booked 5 months in advance all the hotels with decent reviews were fully booked and those with space had poor reviews and ridiculous prices. The location worked out better than I expected. The surroundings feel very safe but are still lively with plenty of block parties a short walk away. Ipanema and Copacabana are easily accessible by the underground (there is a station right by the hotel) and its a pleasant stroll up to Santa Teresa.

I don't think our room had been redecorated since the 1970s with an ancient tv and the window was frosted to hide the view of the alley that the room looked onto. It felt quite claustrophobic. However the room was blissfully quiet and the air conditioning worked.

The small swimming pool looked much better than I'd expected but I didn't have time to use it. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, if a little disorganised, and spoke good english. The breakfast is fairly basic but there is a plentiful supply of fresh rolls and tea/coffee.

If you are planning to spend a lot of time in your room or around the hotel then I would not recommend this hotel but if you are going to Rio to party and just want somewhere to sleep then this hotel does the job at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

I stayed at the hotel for just over two weeks in June. Although initially a business trip this turned out to be a very interesting exploration into the life of Rio's city dwellers.
I met kind and considerate folk right here in this neighborhood and adjacent Flamengo.
I had a really great time both in the hotel and in the neighborhood. Very conviniently situated virtually opposite the subway entrance to Catete station. within literally a few minutes you are anywhere in Rio from Urca to downtown.
The subway is really clean and very safe. Quite comparable to that of Copenhagen and London. Had great breakfast, lots of fresh fruit, cereals and savouries. Friendly staff.
I was recommended to use this hotel by friends in Rio that stayed there while I was there as well. I had no problem with the room, bed/linen or bathroom and I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brazil
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2008

The location (Catete) is not popular among tourist, although Hotel Regina (a block away) made its fame over there. Catete/Flamengo does not have beaches (it's improper for swimming), so people prefer Copacabana or Ipanema, two favorite spots (for double prices).
Budget travellers and locals will prefer a more peaceful place like Catete. Imperial Palace is an excellent choice: minutes from city centre, one block to subway, close to markets, shops and restaurants. It offers good breakfast, rooms were clean enough, with fridge, ac... staff was friendly and helpful.
The property says it has a pool, I didn't take a look.
The best was probably the price: 135 reais for a double room in high season.

  • Liked — price, staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: Rua do Catete, 186 | Catete, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Imperial Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.