We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casablanca Imperial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casablanca Imperial to your Saves list
Hotel Casablanca Imperial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Imperatriz 286, Petropolis, State of Rio de Janeiro 25610320, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Petropolis
Yorkshire UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for approx 4 months this year on and off and found this place to be very comfortable and clean. The staff are very helpful and most speak some English. I stayed in a room by the pool which as everything you need.
The room is cleaned everyday.
Breakfast is more than adequate, breads, ham, cheese, coffee etc.
No complaints from me!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    153
    57
    11
    1
See reviews for
64
163
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

A beautiful building, helpful staff, great location at the side of the imperial museum. The standard room under the roof was basically clean and simple. The breakfast was disappointing (bad selection of bread and fruit).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for two nights after Carnaval in Rio. We wanted a quiet place to relax. Petropolis was perfect, and Hotel Casablanca Imperial is situated perfectly, on a quiet street on the canal, a couple of blocks away from the busy main street, but close to several key sights (Imperial Museum, Cathedral). Very helpful, friendly staff, a couple of whom spoke excellent English (and the others tried very hard to meet us halfway). Nice getaway town; nice getaway hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back, next to the pool -- very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful building with a spotless room. The receptionist was friendly and helpful. Great location and fantastic breakfast. A little pricey but considering it was carnival it was great value. The pool is nice too.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

I had a rear building room by the pool. The room was outdated by 30 or so years. Some of the wiring seemed sketchy and the TV wasn't great. Bathroom was huge but needed updating. It's an alright room if your're visiting for the weekend. But I was staying a month and moved to another hotel. The rooms in the front building looked very nice, spacious and updated. My experience may have been better if I had stayed in one of those. Breakfast was pretty good though.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We spent only one night at the hotel as we stopped at Petropolis on our way to Arraial do Cabo. It's a lovely hotel, charming, very well located, next to the 'museu imperial' and a couple of blocks to the 'Catedral Sao Pedro de Alcantara'. We stayed at room 11 wich is enourmous, but was the last one available. The floor is kinda old and makes some noise when you step on it, but it's ok. Breakfast is very nice, lots of fruits, cakes and breads. The pool was out of service, but since we were on a fast stay it didn't matter to us. Staff friendly and helpfull. Ask for a voucher to visit the Bohemia Brewery, fantastic!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

After a long trip and a flat tire (do not take RJ 493 through Magé!) we initially found a very cold and unfriendly reception at Casablanca Imperial. Fortunately, management intervened and honored the room rate we were given through tripadvisor.com. We were offered a choice of rooms and picked one away from the street featuring a huge bathroom. Nothing fancy, some of the furniture needs TLC, but extremely clean. This is true about the entire hotel, it is very clean , including windows, curtains, floors and bed clothes.

Breakfast, in a lovely room with fresh flowers on each table, was adequate with fruit, bread, ham, cheese, eggs and some pastries. Decor is colonial, very charming but in need of updating and the location is close to shopping and museums.

Room Tip: The street is noisy and rooms in the annex , as opposed to the main house, are not as charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casablanca Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casablanca Imperial

Address: Rua da Imperatriz 286, Petropolis, State of Rio de Janeiro 25610320, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Petropolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Petropolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casablanca Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casablanca Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casablanca Imperial Petropolis, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casablanca Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.