We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food, lovely ambiance!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Caminho Do Ouro

Restaurante Caminho Do Ouro
Rua Dr. Samuel Costa, 236 | Centro Histórico, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
24 3371 1689
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 832 Restaurants in Paraty
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, lovely ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Great food, with a modern touch - good option to the otherwise quite repetitive food in the region. The filet mignon with jaboticaba (a local fruit) is highly recommended!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    39
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
473 reviews 473 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
“Delicious food, pleasant ambience and very good service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

At last a really first class meal in Brazil cooked by a young lady chef with great skill across all the courses. We had read about this restaurant here on Tripadvisor and it was strongly recommended by staff in an adjacent shop selling Brazilian tribal artisanal work. The restaurant looks good with a pleasant eclectic arrangement of tables and differing chairs, each table set with attractively different glasses. The menu is in Portuguese with good clear English translation. And the attentive waiter also spoke sufficient good English to help us.
The chicken and corn soup was substantial and full of flavour. My palm heart salad sauté with pesto was tender and tasty. We both had a favourite of lobster tail served with a side dish of rice creamed as the most delicious risotto and with a sauté of fine mixed small vegetables that was perfectly cooked. I could eat no more though my partner went for the pineapple mille feuille which was crispy and delicious. Chef has a way with dessert. The total for all this, a coffee (also excellent creme espresso), two local beers and a caipirinha was Rs 290.
Throughout we had pleasant attentive helpful service. We loved it all. Best food after nearly three weeks in Brazil.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best meal in Paraty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

After a couple of disappointing and overpriced meals in Paraty it was nice to finally find a restaurant that cared about the food and knew how to prepare it. My wife, sister-in-law and I shared the hearts of palm appetizer that was perfect. I had the crusted fish that was cooked perfectly and they both had the filet mignon with the most wonderful fruit sauce reduction. The only only reason for not giving it and excellent score was the poor quality of the desserts. The air conditioning was a definite plus!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
“Place to splurge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is one of the best places in town if you want to have a fine dining experience. We shared as an appetizer the Risotto with Shrimps and asparagus (divine!). One meal was cod fish with potatoes and truffles (didn't taste too much truffle though...) wrapped in a leave and surrounded by tomato sauce. Very good. The other was Lobster with vegetables, highly recommended! And save some room for desert (coconut tartlet and chocolat tartlet).They have reasonable size portions
The furnitures is a collection of old chairs/tables/cushions and everything fits really well together. Classy.
Service is attentive. English spoken by the main waiter. The others seemed to be trainees but acting professionally. And the meals came quite rapidly. We didn't have to wait long.
Only two negatives:
1) Wine by the glass is almost inexistant. I had a barely decent Chilean Cabernet from a small bottle. I know that wine is expensive in Brazil and not common in restaurants but I has less classy venues offer more options
2) There is no ambiance per say. It's more of a romantic one on one restaurant. When we were there (friday night, arrived around 7:30-8PM) there was only one other couple and the whole restaurant felt really quiet. Don't remember any music or anything. For sure I wouldn't want to come here solo.
Definitely recommend for a special occasion or if you are tired of casual restaurants and want to feel like you're "going out"

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“THE restaurant in Paraty if you want a nice dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

You should go to this place if you want a nice dinner with great food and ambiance. If you are in Paraty during summer time note that this is one of very few restaurants in Paraty with air conditioning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Caminho Do Ouro also viewed

 

Been to Restaurante Caminho Do Ouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Caminho Do Ouro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.