We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chill Inn Paraty Hostel & Pousada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chill Inn Paraty Hostel & Pousada to your Saves list
Chill Inn Paraty Hostel & Pousada
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Rua Orlando Carpinelli, 3. | Praia do Pontal, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 74829, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Paraty
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Right on the beach (however not one to swim in since the water is polluted), good breakfast, clean and relaxing. It is not the most social atmostphere nor are there enough bathrooms (1 per dorm of 9 people). Staff are amazing and quite helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    44
    35
    6
    15
See reviews for
11
22
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Staying ina 6 person dorm at this room - we actually upgraded from another hostel to get some AC - The rooms themselves are fine 3 bunks (6 beds) and a private bathroom with luke warm water.

The wifi was sparodic and the kitchen area is adequately equipped. It would be fine for 30-40 rials per night aside from the bed bugs.

However the room (first dorm on the right past reception called Australia is infested with bed bugs. Not a little bit literally hundreds.The staff knew this as upon my arrival a friend via facebook told us (too later unfortunatly) she had had exactly the same experience 6 months ago. Nothing has been done since then and they act like its news. You cant miss it there are hundreds crawling around.

The room was unsleepable and there was no where else to stay so we even would stay in the hammocks - aside from they refused to get the hammocks out for us to sleep in!!!

This resulted in sleeping on a concrete floor and a bench respectively.

No refund. No apoligies. Nothing. Forget it. Try Geko Hostel next door.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the 6 bed dorm. Or there at all really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Chill Inn Paraty Hostel & Pousada, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Paul,

If I were in your shoes, I’d feel just as you do. I’m sorry for the frustration you have experienced.

On behalf of our Hostel, please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay. Upon reflection, we realize that some things should’ve been handled differently. Please know, this is not the experience neither the hostel nor I want to deliver to our guests. We are very concerned and we want to assure you that we take this matters very seriously.

This missed opportunity to give you an enjoyable experience with us is something that we could never abide by. To ensure that this will never happen again, we are working hard improving our internal organization in order to offer the best travelers experience we can.

We appreciate your message regarding the deficiencies in care during those dates and any inconvenience . We had some difficulties that season with bugs in the whole City. But the service will be returning to normal and we will continue working according to our policy of continuous improvement and customer satisfaction.

We know that there were gaps and we have them identified. We are trying to develop new training methods for all employees, so that this problem is avoided to the maximum. We are also working on regulations and procedures for improvement in our services for Travelers.

Sorry to have caused you this inconvenience. If there is any possibility, we would offer the opportunity to return on another occasion.

If you want to accept the proposed offer for you and your companions a compensation of R$ 200 (Brazilian Reais) will be discounted from your next stay at the Misti Chill Hostel.

Please count on our cooperation and understanding, and please accept our sincere apologies. We are taking the necessary steps to ensure that all guests remain 100% satisfied with the services provided.

Once again, apologizing for what happened in the provision and continuing.

Sincerely, Sofía.
Manager – Misti Chill Paraty Hostel & Pousada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a few nights in a private room.
Pros:
Right across the road from beach
Breakfast on the beach
Staff were friendly

Cons:
Kicthen facilities are terrible
Room wasn't cleaned in the 3 days we were there
Overpriced rooms
Didn't stay in a dorm but saw the rooms - 3 tiers of bunk beds, you wouldn't want to be on top!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Loved the location, breakfasting right on the beach. 5 mins. walk into Paraty township
Good boat rides. Rooms were fine, The 'Oceanview' advertising for the rooms is a bit misleading.
Only the actual front room has this. But the balcony is nice and the beach right there.
Not too noisy at night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

I made the mistake of booking a room with Misti Chill on their website without seeing the mixed reviews on trip advisor. The room we booked was advertised as a luxury double suite with ocean view.

We arrived at the bus station thinking we would get a free pick up, as I had emailed details of my bus beforehand. When I phoned the hotel, they just told us to get a taxi ourselves, and only when we queried the free pick up service, did they offer to reimburse us for the cost.

Once we got there, our room was not ready (at 3pm in the afternoon) and the room had no windows or ocean view, and wasn't luxurious in any way. When we confronted the staff about this, she started saying that if we left, her salary would be docked. We had to get the hotel manager so we could talk sense. Apparently ocean view meant from the shared balcony area in front of the top floor rooms.

The manager tried to appease us with free Boat trips, we waited 2 hours for them to clean the room but we finally decided to go after getting fed up with the situation.

Our deposit wasn't refunded as apparently it was through hostelworld, though this wasn't clear on the website. We found a much better hostel with views and a private balcony at Pousada do Imperador down the road for about the same price.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GekoHostel P, Guest Relations Manager at Chill Inn Paraty Hostel & Pousada, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear "heygepetto",

Let me tell you that if I were in your shoes, I’d feel just as you do. I’m sorry for the frustration you have experienced.

On behalf of our Hostel, please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay. Upon reflection, we realize that some things should’ve been handled differently. Please know, this is not the experience neither the hostel nor I want to deliver to our guests. We are very concerned and we want to assure you that we take this matters very seriously.

This missed opportunity to give you an enjoyable experience with us is something that we could never abide by. To ensure that this will never happen again, we are working hard improving our internal organization in order to offer the best travelers experience we can.

We appreciate your message regarding the deficiencies in care during your stay and any inconvenience. Was a sales-reception misleading from our people.

We know that there were gaps and we have them identified. We are trying to develop new training methods for all employees, so that this problem is avoided to the maximum. We are also working on regulations and procedures for improvement in our services for Travelers.

Sorry to have caused you this inconvenience. If there is any possibility, we would offer the opportunity to return on another occasion.

If you want to accept the proposed offer for you and your companions a compensation of R$ 200 (Brazilian Reais) will be discounted from your next stay at the Misti Chill Hostel.

Please count on our cooperation and understanding, and please accept our sincere apologies. We are taking the necessary steps to ensure that all guests remain 100% satisfied with the services provided.

Once again, apologizing for what happened in the provision and continuing.

Sincerely, Sofía.
Manager – Misti Chill Paraty Hostel & Pousada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hostel itself may seem like every other to somebody from outside, but when you meet the people who work there, you soon realize that they love the place - and that they want you to fall in love with it, too. They help you to plan your program in Paraty, answer all your stupid questions all over again, ask you how you enjoyed your trip in the evening... and when you see them preparing very nice breakfast in the morning or absolutely excellent dinner in the evening - you fall in love with the place, too. The bar where you have those meals is on the beach, and honestly, I had no idea how nice it is to have breakfast on a beach before I experienced it.
I found this place to be a great spot for chill-out holydays. Actually, I spend in Brasil a month and a bit, and I went to this place twice - just to relax in a bit of paradise again, before I left for home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Chose to stay here after meeting a girl in Ilha grande recommended it. We paid 15 reals for the first night as a promotion and then it was 29 reals a night for a dorm bed. The four of us ended up having the 6 bed dorm to ourselves.
The hostel is located right on one of the beaches. Admittedly not a great beach compared to some of the amazingly stunning beaches in trindade. But still a nice setting to have breakfast in the morning, which is held right on the sand by a beachside hut/bar. The dinners they offer there were buffets and well worth the money if you have a big appetite.
They have computers for internet and wifi. The dorm room itself was pretty average, not disgusting but not that clean either.
The staff were very helpful in telling you where to go and arranging onward travel.
Paraty is a very pretty place and I loved Trindade, this hostel was really a cheap place to stay rather than adding anything to my experience.
Though having breakfast on the beach is pretty special...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chill Inn Paraty Hostel & Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chill Inn Paraty Hostel & Pousada

Address: Rua Orlando Carpinelli, 3. | Praia do Pontal, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 74829, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chill Inn Paraty Hostel & Pousada 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a unique BEACHFRONT location and we are also RIGHT IN TOWN, just five minutes walking from the Historic Centre, the restaurants and pubs. All rooms with ENSUITE bathrooms. Breakfast on the beach and FREE PICK-UP from the bus station are included. Visit us and enjoy the Colonial Paradise of Paraty!Misti Chill Hostel Paraty & GEKO CHILL BEACH BAR makes this Hostel Paraty’s best Beach & Breakfast!• The Bar is located in Praia do Pontal, right in front of the Hostel.• Breakfast on the beach so you can start you day sipping a cup of strong coffee with you feet on the sand.• OPEN ALL DAY• Daily lunches, dinners and barbecues.• Icy cold beers and beverages. Our barmen make the best caipirinhas on Pontal beach! Misti Chill Paraty Hostel FACILITIES & SERVICES• Dorms and Private Rooms. All bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms.• Private Rooms with A/C, Cable TV, Fridge.• Beach Bar.• Free Brazilian Breakfast on the beach.• Communal Kitchen.• Chill-Out area.• Internet Café.• Free Wi-Fi.• Book Exchange.• Snack Bar.• Currency Exchange.• International Phone-Calls.• Lockers free.• Tour information & bookings.• Free Breakfast: Coffee, tea and milk / Fresh fruit juices / Selection of cereals / Bread / Ham & Cheese / Flan / Home-made cakes / Fresh fruits / Butter, jam and caramel milk.• Common areas: Reading lounge / TV Room / Bar / Roaster.• Reception Languages: Italian / English / French / Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Chill Inn Paraty Hostel & Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chill Inn Paraty Hostel & Pousada Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chill Inn Paraty Hostel & Pousada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.