We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Voila Bistrot

Voila Bistrot
Estrada Paraty - Cunha km 4 - Ponte Branca | Caixa Postal 74660, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970000, Brazil
+55 24 3371-6548
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 835 Restaurants in Paraty
Price range: $33 - $49
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Bistrot-casa, no meio da Mata Atlantica, com apenas 7 mesas e atendimento amigavel feito pelos proprios donos. Ambiente romantico, com jantar a luz de velas e musica francesa. O som das aguas do rio que corre ao lado complementa a atmosfera. Cardapio autoral, executado por chef auto-didata cozinheiro desde os 12 anos de idade. Destaque para as carnes de caca, foie gras, cogumelos frescos e trufas. Peixes frescos e frutos do mar tambem estao no cardapio.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I'm not one to write reviews, generally, unless the experience is truly exceptional (for better or for worse) but a dinner at Voila Bistro, in Paraty, unfortunately fell into this latter category. The setting is lovely and the place has had a number of good reviews, so myself and a group of friends chose this as a place to have a particularly nice dinner to cap a great visit to Paraty.
The dinner was a real let-down: pricey, which I expected, but not of a quality that matched. The food was bland, and the service sub-par. The owner, in particular, was arrogant and rude when we asked questions about the dishes, or requested accomodations.
Bottom line: There are a number of other great restaurants in Paraty, where the quality of the food and the treatment of guests does rise to the price paid. Give these other folks a try.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Proprietário at Voila Bistrot, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Google Translation
Prezada Juliana B,

Acreditamos que a senhora esteja equivocada, bem como todos os seus 3 amigos que nos avaliaram como 'péssimos' no TripAdvisor, site que nos laureou recentemente como o 9º restaurante do mundo. Não fosse isso, seus depoimentos - tão semelhantes entre si - teriam conteúdo completamente diferente. Quem nos conhece certamente não nos reconheceria por detrás destas palavras tão hostis. Somos pessoas gentis, amáveis, acolhedoras. Ao menos é esta nossa reputação, aqui mesmo neste site. Portanto, estamos certos de que, se os senhores não estão cometendo um grave engano, estão cometendo uma grave injustiça. Pedimos, mais uma vez, que revejam seus comentários.

Cordialmente,

Adriana & Christophe Legond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    78
    10
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“horrivel, evite ao qualquer custo”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

My friends and I went to this restaurant in a charming place full of expectations for a good meal with decent service. What we got was an arrogant, indifferent owner who scoffed at a patron as she fell on the floor from having had too much to drink. Then he proceeded to insult the tastes of members of our group and on top of the insanely high prices, had the courage to lord his haughtiness over the plates as if he had created something truly spectacular. The food was palatable, but lacked any kind of flavor and when parmesan and salt were asked for, he belched something along the lines of " oh, I knew you were going to ask for that", as if we were a gang of uncouth ruffians. Truly, in years of being disappointed and overcharged at Brazilian restaurants, this was the worst experience I have ever had. I do not know what the other hundreds of postive reviewers had to eat, but surely the overblown Frenchman that prepared our food that night was not in the kitchen. I have rarely paid more for less, nor been treated so poorly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Proprietário at Voila Bistrot, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Google Translation
Sr. Pluribus,

Por que? Por que este ataque tão aguerrido e abertamente declarado a pessoas decentes, honestas, com reputação ilibada, construída a custo de muito trabalho e dedicação? Que é isso? Que prazer é este em tentar destruir nossa imagem? Não acreditamos que nenhum lugar do mundo, o pior restaurante, pudesse provocar essa ira desmensurada em alguém, mesmo que quisesse. Gentileza por a mão na cabeça, não somos as pessoas que vocês pintam aqui. Se estiveram em nossa casa em algum momento, fizeram a fotografia equivocada do lugar. Basta ver os quase 300 bons comentários que recebemos em 5 anos de perfil no TripAdvisor. Ainda bem que a maioria das pessoas que vem nos visitar é dotada de razão suficiente para fazer sua própria leitura dos fatos.

Sem saudações,

Adriana & Christophe Legond

P.S: resposta em português dado o idioma do avaliador.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Among the worst dining experiences of my life as well”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I am not one to take to the web to comment on negative restaurant experiences, but upon reading this restaurant's reaction to a review of a dinner I actually partook, I feel it is my duty to set the record straight.
Using TripAdvisor as a guide, a group of friends and I chose to dine at Voila Bistrot while visiting Paraty. Our experience there would be almost comical had it not been so aggressively unpleasant.
To begin with, the food was expensive and bland at best. I understand other people have had better experiences at this restaurant, but the food was definitely was one of the low points of the evening.
The meal itself, however, paled in comparison to the behavior of chef/owner Christophe Legond. Upon finding out that a couple of the people in our party spoke French, Mr. Legond refused to speak anything other than French to the table even when prompted repeatedly in Portuguese.
Shortly after our arrival--we had a late reservation--a guest of the hotel who had just finished dining with her partner, fainted as she was exiting the premises. Mr. Legond watched as her companion and members of my party rushed to her aide and finally made a comment about the lady not being able to handle her liquor after the couple exited. When the gentleman returned to request a bottle of mineral water for his sick partner, Mr. Legond responded, without a hint of compassion, that water was available in the minibar in their room, even though it was obviously readily available at arm's length.
Shortly after that Mr. Legond turned his attentions to our table, a party of 6. When one of the ladies in our group said she would only be having an appetizer, he asked her if she was on a diet. When a second guest said she would only be having wine due to an upset stomach, Mr. Legond replied curtly, "This is not a hospital".
Lastly, when my sister in law asked if she could have Parmesan cheese to ad to a truly drab mushroom risotto (I tried it) billed at R$135 (US$60), Monsieur Legond, scoffed and said "I knew it", openly implying that the guests at our table knew nothing about fine cuisine.
I wish our experience at Voila Bitrot was a more positive one. Unfortunately, I cannot recommend this establishment.
I am in no way connected to the Paraty hospitality industry, or any hospitality industry, for that matter, and, to the best of my knowledge, am of sound mind, contrary to what Mrs. Legond implied of my fellow reviewer.
Perhaps if this restaurant dedicated more time to fine tuning it's chef's etiquette as it does aggressively attacking its negative reviewers, experiences such as the ones I had at Voila Bistrot won't be repeated.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Proprietário at Voila Bistrot, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Google Translation
Prezado Marcelo Lessa,

Acredito que o senhor seja brasileiro, portanto acho que podemos respondê-lo em português, idioma da maioria de nossos clientes e avaliadores.

De fato não estamos entendendo do que se tratam as duas primeiras avaliações ruins que acabamos de receber em 5 anos, quando passamos a figurar no TripAdvisor. No entanto, percebemos um fato: o avaliador é um só e está empenhado em desconstruir a imagem que conquistamos ao longo de quase 7 anos de existência. Somos pessoas sérias, bem intencionadas, que tinham (e tem!) um sonho: receber e agradar pessoas, mimando-as e fazendo-as se sentirem únicas, como acreditamos que sejamos todos. Não temos funcionários, cuidamos nós mesmos do início ao fim de cada cliente que recebemos, justamente para garantir a qualidade dos serviços que nos propomos a oferecer. E isso é como doar um pouco de nossas almas, já que mesmo gostando do que fazemos, o ato de receber exige generosas doses de abnegação e esforço. Portanto, jamais poderíamos ter recebido um grupo e tê-lo contrariado tanto. Nenhum dos fatos descritos aqui poderiam acontecer da forma como foram relatados. Por isso, ratificamos mais uma vez que estamos sendo vítimas de um grande equívoco. Esperamos contar com sua ajuda para a exclusão desta crítica.

Saudações,

Adriana & Christophe Legond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Among the worst dining experiences of my life.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

There is simply nothing positive to be said about this pathetic excuse for a restaurant, run by the most pompous, arrogant, ill-mannered and singularly untalented Frenchman I have ever seen (I am French-American). In addition to wildly overpriced even by Brazilian standards, the food is bland to the point of utter tastelessness. But given the service, which took hours and included a litany of insults by the chef/restaurateur himself, the insipid food was actually the highlight of this hellacious experience. The details of the ordeal were too elaborate to warrant going into, but in short the restaurateur scoffed at a customer who passed out cold on the floor right next to our table, called one of the diners in my party anorexic because she didn't order enough to please him and openly mocked my sister as "classless" for having had the audacity to request Parmesan cheese to mask the fact that the 150USD white rice he served in guise of risotto tasted like cardboard.

Just having to suffer through the insufferable restaurateur's blatant contempt was punishment enough - having to swallow his tasteless food and then pay more than top dollar for it simply added insult to injury. Avoid at all costs

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Proprietário at Voila Bistrot, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear J Barchfield,

We believe that your review only can be a serious misunderstanding. First because we do not recognize any of the facts reported here. Second, because we had conquered our current position on TripAdvisor (9th best restaurant of the world) just by offering good food, nice ambience and especially the gentle and respectful we treat every customer that comes to visit us. Therefore, we believe that it would be almost impossible to give someone so bad experience, as described in the title of this review with such passion. Thus, we kindly ask you to request this site deleting your wrong comment, which both hurts and stain our honor and dignity.

Regards,

Adriana & Christophe Legond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamorlaye, France
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“very good french restaurant near Parati Brazil”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

if you want to eat good french food go to Voilà Bistrot Restaurant : the chef is a french guy who cooks very well, with his brazilian wife , they do a very good cooking, french tastes, with good wines too, inside the pousada, the restaurant is small, friendly, close to the river, good AC, ask details to understand the menu and choose unusual things for brazilian people... meat or fish , difficult to choose ... fish Bar was very good ... white branco wine from Chile ... ( please Chef try white branco Brazil wine ... )

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Proprietário at Voila Bistrot, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Olivier,
We enjoy having people in our home. Then, the minimum attentions to our visitors, are part of the art of welcoming. We are happy you enjoyed our place. If you ever have another chance, come visit us again and you will be always welcome.
Best regards,
Adriana & Christophe Legond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Voila Bistrot also viewed

 

Been to Voila Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Voila Bistrot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.