We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small musty rooms, dirty bathroom.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Paraty Hostel Adventure Casa do Rio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Paraty Hostel Adventure Casa do Rio to your Saves list
Paraty Hostel Adventure Casa do Rio
Rua Antonio de Oliveira Vidal, 120 | Chácara, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Paraty
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small musty rooms, dirty bathroom.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked in here as we hadn't arranged accom in Paraty beforehand and took the easy option of listening to a guy at the bus stop because it was cheap and close. Bad call! Most of our double room was taken up by the musty smelling bed. They had the same cheesy music DVD on repeat the whole time were where there and was lots of noise in the common areas until early hours of the morning. The deck is nice in the sunshine but thats about it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    28
    16
    4
    8
See reviews for
4
15
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We took a Private Double room which meant we would get a couple's bed. At least we thought we were. We got our bed, but we also get a double bed, which took all the space left in the room. There was no space to walk, or to leave our bags.
If that was the only problem, it would've been good. Well, it wasn't. The staff offered me a couple of towels, which we've accepted. Worst decision of my travel. The towels were smelly, and had a brown stink (which we thought it was faeces). We took them back to the owner, and we bought new ones from a local shop not far from the hostel.
Adding to the list of problems, there were the smelly sheets. We asked for the staff to change them. They did, but the smell stayed. The problem was the mattress, which we couldn't have it changed.
Besides all those problems, the hostel was averagely good. The breakfast was OK, the same food everyday.
I guess the best was the Argentinean freelance cook, which cook delicious dinners almost everyday with the best price in town.
The host is well located. It's close to the historical center, bus station, markets and such.
I would definitely NOT recommend it to my friends and relatives.
If you keep searching, you will find better hotels or hostels, with the same price, or a little bit higher.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The hostel is very well located, between the bus terminal and just outside of the old city.
It has very nice deck over a small river. There was a pleasant courtyard with small pool, bar and some seating area. The kitchen was big enough, was well equipped and also had few computers in it.
I stayed in two different dorms during my stay. Both were clean but a bit small for the number of beds. The beds were comfortable and had inexpensive but clean linen. The communal and the one private bathroom I have seen were not very clean and had mildew on wall tiles and the shower curtain, and spider nets. Both rooms I was in had very musty smell. In addition to that, my second six-bed dorm had a bad odor of either very recent fumigation or paint. You didn’t want to stay in the rooms longer than you really had to. Private rooms on the second floor will be your best option.
Wi-Fi was good and reached the dorms. Breakfast was good as well and certainly above average. Both were included in the room rate. Most of the staff was very nice, hospitable and helpful. The only exception was one of the night guys who was unconsidered. The hostel offers boat trips to nearby islands that were a good value.
I would not recommend staying in the dorms on main floor I was in, but hopefully the humidity problem is better in summer… Private rooms on second floor especially the one facing river should be nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

Clean rooms but very small. Nice staff, ok breakfast. Great boat ride for $30. Good location. No common room

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We took a Private Double room with a bathroom and it meant we had lots of space, if you can get room 9 so that you're upstairs with a balcony looking out over the river.
It's close to the bus station which is great as you'll need to return there often to take advantage of all the beaches that surround beautiful paraty.
The staff are lovely and really helpful organising trips, it's good value for money and the most important thing has a great atmosphere.
One of the best things is having a lethally strong caiprinha with the gorgeous bar lady Patricia. If you're going to paraty try and stay here.

Room Tip: Room 9 has three balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Lol I love some of the reviews people leave on these sites, beware people have very different oppinions that´s what makes the world a great place. I liked this little spot, I´ve been backpacking around South America for 8 months and this is one of the better places I´ve stayed in. The dorm I stayed in was spotless and actually felt homely with drawers and cuboards where you could put your clothes for a couple of days rather than living out of a bag on the floor. The bed was really comfy and there was a good kitchen. There is a nice outside space with a beautiful deck over the river. Yes the outside space isn´t massive but get with it people it´s a hostel! The breakfast is as good as you get in most hostels and the overall vibe is cool and the staff are friendly. Not sure it´s a party hostel but it´s a good in between I´d say. Also Paraty is a wicked little town, really beautiful with amazing beaches nearby. Make sure you do the boat trip, great value! I would stay here again and wished I could have stayed longer. Enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011 via mobile

Staff were helpful, double private with ensuite was adequate though around the common area so could get noisy in busy season. Breakfast was fantastic and lots of options for day trips on notice board. They have a boat that goes out to the nearby islands everyday for R$30 per person that I'd highly recommend. Stayed 4 nights and loved it! Especially breakfast on the deck. Any small things that some people have problems with can be overlooked as Paraty is a very cool little town. Only recommendation - don't get a cab from the bus station. It cost us R$15 and ended up being only 7 minute walk from bus station.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paraty Hostel Adventure Casa do Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paraty Hostel Adventure Casa do Rio

Address: Rua Antonio de Oliveira Vidal, 120 | Chácara, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paraty Hostel and Hostel is a cheerful and cozy corner, and the city of Paraty is beautiful just watching. Come dance, laugh, and have fun with us, we enjoy nature, even within the Hostel on our deck gives to enjoy a beautiful sunset in the mountains, or see our stars, with his new friends or maybe even with a new passion ... Beware, all good can happen in a place of high spirits. We were between the sea and the mountains and the stars, the city is a cute, looks like a crib and we are surrounded by all kinds of natural beauty, come check ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Paraty Hostel Adventure Casa do Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paraty Hostel Adventure Casa Do Rio Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paraty Hostel Adventure Casa do Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.