We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada dos Contos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pousada dos Contos to your Saves list
Pousada dos Contos
Rua Marechal Deodoro, 1, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Paraty
London
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A slice of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

Paraty is one of the most charming places in Brazil and the region around it is, quite literally, a tropical paradise. Pousada Dos Contos offers a great alternative to those travelling on a budget - the region is generally quite upmarket. The rooms are comfortable, clean and the location near the historic centre is very handy. It also offers parking space to those who come by car. Fees also include breakfast. The owner is a well travelled German-Brazilian lady who speaks fluent English and German (besides Portuguese, of course) and is always happy to give guests tips on how to best enjoy their stay. Sweet.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    48
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
43
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
hambrug
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at this friendly and quiet hotel, breakfast was excellent and included in the price,very clean king size beds and ensuite bathrooms, private safe in our room, was all we needed after a stressfull and sweaty stay in Rio.
The owner speaks english & german and had heaps of usefull traveling information, we had a great stay and would recomend for fellow travelers.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

Ok so I dont know if they were beds bugs or miniscule ants or some other little bug but they were everywhere! So many in the bed and when I showed them to the staff they swapped the sheets - but it didnt solve the problem so the theory is that there had to be something breeding in the mattress. Other than that, the bathrooms were ok, hot water was tepid only. Breakfast was ok. 10% increase in price if you use the air con which we had never come across before and were quite surprised at. The location of the hotel is very good - close to the historical centre and shops/restaurants. The laundry here is expensive and they dont take credit cards or have Wifi. There are safe boxes in the room. Its not bad, but the beds (a king bed is actually two singles pushed together) in our room were just teeming with these disgusting bugs.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Pros: I stayed there for 3 nights. Everyone there is very friendly with good trip advices. Simple breakfast but delicious with fruits, whole bread, etc. Great location: just 2 or 3 blocks from the historical center. Good price.

Cons: The parking lot is very small and difficult to get in and out. No wireless internet. Dont stay in the room on the back (ground floor). It had bad smell and stains on the walls. I had to move to another room which was fine. They charge 10% more if you use the airconditioner (nobody told me this when I made the reservation). No credit card. (Trip advisor should include Credit cards accepted in the description so we dont have to carry too much money)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2008

While visiting the lovely colonial town of Paraty we stayed at this small and nice posada, the rooms were clean, fresh and tidy , had air conditioning and private safe... most of all , it was so refreshing to have english speaking staff that knew the region well giving us valuable tips that made our time in Paraty and surroundings unforgetable.

  • Liked — large king size beds and safe box in room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pousada dos Contos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada dos Contos

Address: Rua Marechal Deodoro, 1, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pousada dos Contos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Dos Contos Paraty, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada dos Contos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.