We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced 9 sqmeter without wifi and a rude patronising staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas

Save Saved
You added Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas
Rua Dona Romana, 218, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Viking
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced 9 sqmeter without wifi and a rude patronising staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

If you want a room without a chair and a closet and were you can bee only
one person at a time chose a standardroom of 9 sqmeter (bathroom excludede)
If you book a room with WIFI you can forget it . Prostesting was wiewed away and
after contact with "booking.com" you were treated badly from the staff. Booking advised
a refund but that was ignored. As a remark you were urged to pay the bill at ceckintime (before you could see the room and understand the lack of WIFI. Warningbells-Warningbells
If you want to share the breakfastbuffet with flies you are on the right place. Uncovered and not
chilled- with ice - freshfood such as cheese, ham butter

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    36
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
12
97
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011 via mobile

I stayed four days in that inn, very comfortable, great location in nature. The people at reception is very freindly and speaks English. Rhena helped me a lot. The Inn is serving a very tasty breakfast and also a four-hour-clock coffee with snacks in the afternoon. The surrounding is quite, nevertheless there are only a few steps to the centre and some restorants.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galicia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

What we liked the most in this hotel was the way in which it blended in with the wonderful island in which it is located. Built with reliable wood, surrounded by a lush tropical garden, in the “outskirts” of the small village of Abraao (thus, even more quiet and peaceful than the rest of the village), this is the perfect place for people who want to enjoy nature and tranquility. The rooms are not too big, which can be a problem if you bring big suitcases, but they have all the necessary equipment, and the bathroom is nice and clean. The hammocks give the hotel an even more relaxed atmosphere. The breakfast is really good, especially the fresh fruit, and you can have some tea and biscuits in the afternoon, which is nice in a rainy day (we did have a couple of those). The women at the reception were always kind and helpful. The only problem guests may have is the fact that any noise in the neighboring rooms can easily be heard. Luckily for us, the neighbors both on top and in the next room were not noisy at all, and we could sleep with the only delightful noise of chirping birds in the morning. We really recommend this Pousada.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Very friendly welcome from the staff which you can't fault, they gave us cold drinks when we arrived (much needed) and gave us some information as to what to do/where to go. The room however was tiny and dark and the bed was old and very uncomfortable. The thin walls also mean you can practically hear the people next door breathing - nevermind anything else! Our "balcony" was actually the walk way infront of the room!
The location is lovely, thier photos aren't exaggerated it really does look like that! It is a bit further back than most places but the village is so small it really doesn't matter.
Breakfast was OK but nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

This Pousada was amazing. Right in the moment you walk in you are impressed of how nice and green it looks. It reminds you of the Jungle Book storyline. Actually, I didn't know anything about this location. I was in Ihla Grande for a Sustainability Research (Pace University project) and this Pousada ended up being one of the greenest that I got to rate.
The place was not only green (plants and decorations) but they used all eco-friendly materials. Their electronics "saved energy" and their lighting was based by sensors and they used Fluorescent bulbs.
Two Thumbs for this pousada.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

I stayed in this Pousada for 5 nights and had an incredible time! From the moment we arrived, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, much more than ANY place I've stayed before (and I've been travelling quite a lot). The rooms had their own balcony and hammock, a safe, nice bathroom and AC + ceiling fan. Tropical forest surrounded the pousada, setting the atmosphere for a "paradise island vacation" from the moment I woke up. Breakfast was very good as well, and the price fair for Ilha Grande. AMAZING!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

We made our reservation via the site called hotels-ilhagrande.com.
And it was beyond our expectations! The pousada is situated just a little out of the city centre. It is really quiet and you can enjoy the beautiful birds in the intensely green garden around your cosy room. We liked everything; the breakfast, the music, the bathroom, it is all really nicely taken care off by the staff!! We sure will be back one day!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas

Address: Rua Dona Romana, 218, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Specialty lodging in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A POUSADA RIACHO DOS CAMBUCÁS se destaca pelo seu estilo rústico em meio à natureza, combinando bom gosto com seu estilo simples e charmoso de ser.Situada num dos recantos mais tranquilos e preservados do Abraão à 300 metros da praia, a cerca de 5 minutos do cais de chegada da barca e da praça central. Servimos nosso café da manhã em sistema self service em salão envidraçado com natureza por todos os lados.Destaque ao nosso jardim de plantas nativas e diversas espécies de bromélias fica ainda mais especial com a visita constante dos inúmeros pássaros que nos visitam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Riacho Dos Cambucas Ilha Grande, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada Riacho dos Cambucas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.