We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sagu Mini Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sagu Mini Resort to your Saves list
Sagu Mini Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Praia Brava, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23960-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence 2014
TN
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Paradise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Ilha Grande is simply a paradise. What a wonderful island. Sagu was a terrific place to spend 3 nights in this paradise.

My favorite things about Sagu were the beauty of the place - rooms in free standing colorful cottages scatterd through the jungle on a hillside. Several small beaches are on either side of the resort and there are lush plants and flowers everywhere. It is away from town, so you have lots of privacy, but it's only a very short and very fun walk along the beach to town. Maybe 10 minutes.

There was a very nice speedboat waiting to pick us up at the ferry dock when we arrived. That was a nice touch! Our room was clean and comfortable. Don't expect "luxury," but it was nice. We had a beautiful view of the ocean from the hammock on our private veranda.

The staff at Sagu is very helpful and most speak very good English. Breakfast is a self-serve buffet with tables set by the water. There is so much food it is ridiculous. The food is very good. They also served lunch but we never ate lunch there. We did have dinner at the restaurant, Toscanelli, and it was FANTASTIC.

The location was very convenient to town and to the hiking trails over to Lopes Mendes. The front desk staff were also very helpful in setting up an excursions we wanted to do. We wanted a private boat for a day to take us to some beaches, and they did all the work. A boat showed up at 9:30 at the Sagu dock and we had the best day imaginable.

The only reason I don't give Sagu a 5 is because the rooms are fairly of basic.

Highly recommend Sagu.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    71
    10
    7
    8
See reviews for
32
130
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Sagu for two weeks in December. We had the most amazing holiday due to staying at the best hotel on the island. The location is incredible, the staff were so helpful and kind, and the restaurant is the best on the island. Having stayed on Ilhe Grande for two weeks we sampled a number of restaurants but kept on returning to the hotel due to the food being soooo delicious. We described Sagu as being paradise and we would love to return there again. Thank you to all the staff for making our holiday so special and memorable x x x

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed for two nights at Sagu before moving into Abaroo town. The location of Sagu is pretty cool - you have to cross three beaches. Our room had a lovely terrace & spotlessly clean. However at £120 a night I wouldve expected a bit more luxury & attention.

Briefly checked in, we were not told more than the time of breakfast & left to it. If you wanted a map of the island it was R$5 and I couldn't see much info about boats/trips.

For the price, I thought there would be a pool, or at leat use of the advertised hot tub. However the hot tub had to be booked 2 hours in advance, you had it for one hour & it cost R$40 per person!! How spontaneous & romantic...

We didn't eat in the restaurant, in fact I didn't see anyone in it. It seemed a bit over priced & a little pretentious.

Overall, our room was lovely, but given the price, I was expecting a bit more from Sagu.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed here on our honeymoon and had a lovely time. It is well located at the end of a couple of beaches which makes it feel a bit more private and secluded. It is a short walk to town but certainly not taxing and they will lend you a torch for after dark.

Our room had a lovely terrace with a hammock and views out to sea - the perfect place to sip a beer and watch the sun go down. The bathroom was also very clean and spacious.

On the restaurant - the food is pretty good but it does take a very long time to get it. This was fine for us as we were happy to share some excellent wine from the list and nibble on the lovely bread but a few other couples got a little fed up.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Me and my gf spent a few days her and really enjoyed it. Ilha grande is truely paradise.

From the hotel a lot of trekking around the island accessing other beaches was accessible.

The rooms were absolutely lovely and in the environment around we had a lovely stay. Cleaning, no complaints.

The hotel personnel were very nice and helpful with every little thing. The atmosphere in the hotell was very pleasant. They assisted us with booking excursions etc.

The only negative thing I would mention is that the restaurant is overpriced and more or less lousy. They charge the food as if this was a gourmet restuarant while food is neither charming in the Brazilian way nor on an international level. Rather more a mix of things that don't fit to well together. The service was lousy, it seemed as most of the guys serving was doing this for the first time in their life.
We much more enjoyed taking a walk over to the beach towards town and eating a fried fish or other traditional dish with the feet in the sand overlooking the beach during the cosy night.

In total this was our absolutely best vacation. I would definitely recomend people to go there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Ilha Grande is a pretty unique destination in itself and without doubt Sagu adds to the experience.

Located about 10/15 mins walk (clamber) outside of town. Some sections are dark at night so take a torch - not as bad as it sounds.

When we were there (4 nights) the restaurant was closed Sun & Mon so town was the only option for dinner. A positive note, on the Sagu side of town there are a couple of restaurants which have tables on the beach and amazingly still had some free!

Breakfast in Sagu is good and the restaurant, when open, very good but expensive.
Free WiFi available in the reception area but not the rooms.

The rooms are large and mainly wood with fan and air con, not spotless but with fantastic views out over the bay towards the town. The grounds, like the rooms, could benefit with a little work, but with a location like this we could easily forgive any small imperfections.

There are beaches near and far - the further you go away from the town the quieter they become. One beach about 30 mins clamber away from town is hardly used but still has its own snack bar! Get on the path from town to Sagu and then just keep going...

Everyone recommends the boat trip to Lopes Mendes which is a beautiful beach but a word of warning for about 15/20 mins this small boat is exposed to the open sea.

Not without faults but the location more than compensates!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Our arrival was a let down, first there was no one to meet us at the pier, until we realised we were sharing the Asalem boat (the neighbouring mini resort). Our reception at the hotel was luke warm, and the room smelt really musty when entering. Also on arrival unfortunately the weather was drizzly, and the tide was in (making the walk into town pretty tricky) - although obviously these latter points are outside of Sagu's control, initially it certainly didn't feel like we'd arrived in paradise! Next day we'd aired the room, the sun was out and we did a great walk over the island to Lopez Mendes (the trail conveniently starts close to the hotel). We used the hot tub once during our three days, which cost 30R per person per hour, although lovely we thought this was quite pricey. The restaurant was a real treat, probably one of the best on the island. However as (I think) the most expensive place to stay on the island, it seemed from walking around that there were plenty of other nice places although they may be a bit smaller, but they would certainly be much cheaper. If you really must stay in a mini resort (although the only difference to pousada's seemed to be the restaurant and the hot tub) the Sagu is more accessible than neighbouring Asalem, where it would be a real scrabble to get into town without a boat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sagu Mini Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagu Mini Resort

Address: Praia Brava, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23960-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagu Mini Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sagu Mini Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagu Mini Hotel Ilha Grande
Sagu Mini Ilha Grande
Sagu Mini Resort Ilha Grande, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sagu Mini Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.