We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach is quiet and beautiful, Town seems mostly abandonded.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dois Rios Village

Dois Rios Village
Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 45 attractions in Ilha Grande
Type: Historic Sites, Beaches
Attraction Details
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beach is quiet and beautiful, Town seems mostly abandonded.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The village of Dois Rios is a bit scrappy, with quite a few abandoned old houses and not much going on (Saturday afternoon in March). The day we were there is was cloudy and the beach was empty. It looked like a scene from prehistory....untouched and quietly very beautiful. We were looking for lunch and stopped in front of a sign that looked like an ad for a restaurant and a young man lead us several blocks away to the back yard of what was probably his mother's house. She cooked a very nice lunch of fish and rice for us in her outdoor kitchen. There is a museum at the old prison, but unfortunately it was closed during our visit.
The walk to Dois Rios is on a dirt service road, so the path is wide and you can't miss it. We heard howler monkeys on our way over and back, but never saw them. There are no boats from this beach unless you can get a fishman to give you a ride. We felt in general the town was worth a visit, especially if you want to spend time on a beach where there won't be many others and enjoy a nice simple local lunch.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    63
    21
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ulster county, ny
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“It is the beach not the village which is excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

A beautiful beach worth hiking to. There are lots of shortcuts so your hike doesn't have to be as long as it is listed - be sure to ask for them.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Paradise on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Waves embraces us in carry us gently towards the shore. Sounds poetic huh? IT IS!! U can't catch this beautiful place in pics. Be ready to walk for 2:30, use sneakers and get there really early and enjoy it for the whole day. Grab water and some sandwiches. It worth more than words. I went to right most side of the beach and u can see a beautiful river its come from the mountains and widing its way toward the shore. MOST BEAUTIFUL BEACH IN ILHA GRANDE. A lot of people don't know this beach because is hard to get there only the braves and adventurous people can say that. HIGHLY RECCOMMEND!!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The beach is worth the walk...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

There's little to do in Dios Rios Village - a few small restaurants and bars - but the beach is well worth the walk.
To get to the village/beach it's a 2-hour walk both ways (4 hours in all). It's a challenging walk in places and certainly one I wouldn't recommend if you're unfit. Make sure you wear training shoes too.
An early departure from Abraão means it'll be a cool walk across the island and, REALLY, the beach is well worth it at the other side. Make sure you stock up on beer before you enter the village - no need to carry it over the hills.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stunning beach and an interesting piece of Brazilian history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We hiked over to Dois Rios from Abraao village. The hike itself was very manageable - it took us about 3 1/2 hours, but we took a ton of photos along the way. The trail is fairly wide for most of the journey, so it's pretty easy. The village itself isn't really much of a village - there looked to be a couple of cafes (that weren't open at the time), a research facility and the ruins of the jail. The jail itself was demolished a number of years ago, but the history behind it is really interesting - there is a small vistors center where you can read about the facility (in Portuguese, but there are cards in English, too). Then the beach - WOW. This was actually our favorite beach on Ilha Grande. The sand is perfectly white and the waves just roll in perfectly. We grabbed ham, cheese and bread from the bakery in Abraao (as there is really almost nothing in the way of food here. That was the perfect lunch after the long hike. But, we can't say enough good things about the beach at Dois Rios - it is just incredibly beautiful. Just be careful, as there doesn't seem to be a boat back, so you have to make sure to leave enough time to hike back.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dois Rios Village also viewed

 

Been to Dois Rios Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dois Rios Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dois Rios Village to your Saves list