We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting food and horrible service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kebab Lounge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kebab Lounge
Rua Santana, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 32 Restaurants in Ilha Grande
Cuisines: Eclectic
Restaurant details
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Disgusting food and horrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The service in this place was terrible and the food even worse: Me and my brother got sick for three days after it. Don't be fooled by the cosy look of it and STAY AWAY from this hellhole.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    24
    9
    5
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Funky bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Had a great time watching the world cup with people from all over the world....friendly staff and food tasty and plenty of it.....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San francisco
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrible service. Rude people”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Horrible experience. Horrible service. Rude waiter. When we complained they said, "come back tommorrow maybe it will be better."

So many other great places to eat in Ilha Grande, don't waste your time here

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very poor service, food ok”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I agree with my previous reviewers. It looks very nice from outside and like good atmosphere. Be aware though that there is no warm kitchen before 19:30.
Some of the waitresses were extremely unfriendly and not attentive at all. We waited for about an hour for the kebab (which was good). We even tried a second time to go there, but it wasn't any better - actually it was worse. My friend got her food while I had to wait 25min more. Thus, we didn't dine together.

Not good value for money. I really wouldn't go if I were you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Worst dining experience of our entire trip. serviço terrível!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

From the outside this looks like quite a nice, chilled restaurant but it is not. We waited for 3 hours for 2 kebabs to be cooked, asking every 15 minutes or so after the first hour and a half. We know life on Ilha Grande is chilled and that's why we loved it but this was something else. We were told, yeah 2 minutes no problem. Our 2 dining companions both had finished their dinner and had gone to bed, and in the end we were so fed up we just left.

I have no problem with you forgetting an order, it happens, no worries but there is no need to constantly lie about it for 3 hours and then be pretty rude when we have to keep asking you where our food is.

At 11pm after we left, we walked down the road to a cafe and within 5 minutes had 2 platefuls of delicious food in front of us.

There is no excuse for this kind of service. Awful.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kebab Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Kebab Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kebab Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.