We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very environmental friendly place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada Recanto das Flores

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilha Grande
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pousada Recanto das Flores
Save
You added Pousada Recanto das Flores to your Saves list
Rua Dona Romana, 25 | Abraao, Ilha Grande, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 78 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A very environmental friendly place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

My classmates and I traveled to Ilha Grande to do an sustainability research project: Ilha Grande Green Mapping. We didn't stay at this pousada, but we interviewed the owner of this Pousada, who was extremely kind and friendly.

As we interviewed several other hotels on this island, Recanto das Flores seemed to be one of the nicest places we've seen. It was very clean, quiet, and the setting of the courtyard was just unbelievably beautiful. There were fruit trees growing in the courtyard such as banana and coconut, they also serve their guests with organic fruits and provided sustainable features.

In addition, our group was interviewing other sites that had sustainable practices and we have made a web page for travelers convenience! check it out ! it is a geat way to know which places to go to!

http://ilhagrandemap.org/site/

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

I traveled to Ilha Grande to perform a research project on Ilha Grande's sustainability. I went around several businesses and Pousada RECANTO DAS FLORES is one of the best on the island.

To start off, the service is just amazing. The lady who helped me was extremely nicely. She did not rush through the survey and even offered me some bananas off a banana tree that was inside her courtyard.

She explained to me that the pousada utilizes sensors for the lightening in order to prevent the unnecessary use of electricity. Also, the electronic devices like the television are electricity saving.

They also only wash the towels if they requested to as per the "left on the floor is to be washed" if left hanging is to be washed some other day.

Not to forget that they classify their waste by its materials. Classified by plastic, glass and paper. These bins are in the courtyard.

I would extremely recommend this place not only because is sustainable but because it is clean and has a nice staff.

If you want to know more about the project please visit:

http://ilhagrandemap.org

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaxjo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Spent 3 nights here, and loved it. Small but quiet place, and fantastic staff.
Beautiful garden which has lime, monkeys and nice flowers and plants. Great breakfast- well worth the money!
Has Wifi which was why we chose it- well worth it if you need access to internet on Ilha Grande.
English speaking staff!

Room Tip: Make sure to book well in advance- it may fill up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

I stayed for 4 nights in this cozy pousada and it was the best choice we could have made to stay in Ilha Grande. It’s conveniently located about 5 min walking form Vila de Abraao dock, and near restaurants and supermarkets. The pousada has 5 apartments with their own terrace and spotlessly clean, some have kitchen, the decoration is basic but creates a charming atmosphere, beds were comfortable, air conditioned is included.

One of the best points of these pousada is the staff, the two ladies that manage this guesthouse were extremely helpful, giving advice about the excursions available and the best timing and options, they cared for us at all times and really made us felt at home. One of the ladies is an experienced guide that can even hike to Pico do Papagaio.

Another thing that we enjoyed a lot about this pousada was the garden, full of tropical plants and orchids, we could even see hummingbirds, blue butterflies and monkeys while having breakfast in the terrace; there was also a small pond with red and blue fishes. The breakfast was plentiful and of good quality, it included bread, toasts, butter, jelly, honey, cakes, juice and a variety of fresh fruits.

Although the booking process wasn’t the easiest being in Europe(I had to call directly), the staff help me through it and the Pousada went beyond my expectations. I definitely recommend it, it was the best value for money and the staff and the place were so great that they made our vacation unforgettable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada Recanto das Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Recanto das Flores

Address: Rua Dona Romana, 25 | Abraao, Ilha Grande, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Pousada Recanto Das Flores Ilha Grande, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada Recanto das Flores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.