We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful garden. Decent rooms. Just avoid the snorting.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada Cauca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada Cauca to your Saves list
Pousada Cauca
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Rua Getulio Vargas 300, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23900-960, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 81 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
mendoza
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden. Decent rooms. Just avoid the snorting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4nights. Except for a pyramid bed the room was nice, clean and has an excellent ensuite. The breakfast was excellent but we had to avoid the owner whenever he breakfasted as he would snort all his nasal Flem in a loud vile way almost constantly. I've spent time in India and China and this was up there with the Best! What a shame as it really bought the tone down and ruined the chilled vibes in the lovely pousada garden. If it's a tactic to stop guests eating so much at breakfast it certainly works!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    54
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
23
96
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

First the positives: good location, and quiet.
However, after staying 2 nights, we actually left and went to find another room for our last night on the island, mainly because the bed was literally LIKE A BOARD! We travel a lot, and have had our share of hard beds, but this was ridiculous. Also, the decor was rather hideous (Lavender walls!), the breakfast was swarming with insects, the air conditioning went out in the middle of the night and the internet didn't work (when asked about the wifi, they could only manage..."we have a problem...". altho to be fair, they did say they would fix the ac)
The staff could definitely be friendlier, and they made little attempt to speak any English.
There are tons of pousadas on the island, it wasn't difficult to find a much nicer one for our last night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

we`ve just spent three nights at pousada cauca on Ilha Grande and I can´t speak highly enough of the service we receieved. The rooms are spacious with both air-con and a fan. They are cleaned everyday with fresh linen. The garden area is pretty and with better weather woudl have been a nice area to sit in and relax. They have a selection of DVD´s available for those rainy days. The location is a short two to three minute stroll to the shops and beachfront.

I reserve the best for last as my girlfriend was ill during out stay. The owners went out of their way to make sure she was ok. They pointed us in the direction of the local clinic and wrote a portuguese translation of her symptons. Truly very kind hosts.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

Ilha Grande is superb - we stayed for 4 nights (could have easily stayed longer) and in that time stayed at two pousadas - this one, and also Manaca Inn. We had a good sized room with a very clean and modern bathroom, which was a plus. The large garden is a highlight and there are some quirky touches which add something special to this place. The breakfast was delicious. That said, we preferred Manaca (see separate review) - probably due to its beachfront location, staff, and more intimate experience. However, the staff at Cauca were also good and the location, while not beachfront, was very central in the Abraao village (but with the rooms nicely tucked away from street noise etc). I would happily recommend Cauca, as well as Manaca.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Hi, This is a lovely pousada with a quiet internal garden that is very relaxing. The pousada is nice and quiet while still located only a couple of minutes from the action.

The staff were lovely, certainly a place worth checking out.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada Cauca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Cauca

Address: Rua Getulio Vargas 300, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23900-960, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Cauca 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Pousada Cauca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Cauca Ilha Grande, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada Cauca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.